We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of single room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Comedie
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotels location is great. Bedroom is clean enough. No real storage, not a problem for 2 days.
The view is non existant. Quiet apart from a loud snorer that echoed round the enclosed space outside the lift shaft.

Worst thing was the bathroon. There was no door! I think that is disgusting. The smell of cleaning products in the room was sickening, and the bathroom was not very clean. The toilet was cracked and habing a shower was unpleasant.

If you stay here, don't choose a single room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabsJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

First off, Montpellier is truly a delightful place to visit, the Old City especially a stroller's paradise. My hotel choice couldn't have been better for a weekend stay: a short walk from rail station & on a quiet street just off the impressive, long rectangular Place de la Comédie - with Opera houses, one old, one new, at either end. And G-R-E-A-T value! OK, my single, back-of-building, odd-angled room was on the small side - and could have accomodated a corner clothes-tree & at least a stool, if not a chair - BUT it was clean w/ good lighting and storage area. A more than adequate continental breakfast with quality breads. Not a key-card establishment! Apparently, the owners are still in the process of some required upgrading to conform to latest norms & decorative details. Let's hope the present friendly charm doesn't go away, though, or that prices zoom way up. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aymeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Excellent position
friendly staff
Not expensive
Clean...perfect!
The tram stop is less then 2 mins from hotel and the station about 10 mins.
We (young couple) were there for a weekend and we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

There are no negatives for this hotel.
It's a bit boutique-y, all white and modern, although with a small French hotel atmosphere, very clean, good shower, friendly, free wifi, decent breakfast, good price. Trying to think of any negatives... maybe smallish rooms, but it's really close to the buzzing centre of Montpellier.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This delightful small hotel really is a find. A few metres away from the mesmerizing Place de la Comedie, its location is perfect. It is clean and comfortable and quiet, with friendly and always helpful staff, and the breakfast is first class. It is incredibly good value, as a matter of fact. Our double room lacked independent bedside lighting - but a separate lamp was quickly found so that our marital bliss was not threatened by my husband's bouts of wakefulness! The servicing of our room was faultless and generous, and the air con totally reliable. Advice and directions are readily given, particularly by the splendid Olivier, who is truly a fount of local (and indeed pretty well all) knowledge. Vive l'Hotel de la Comedie!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a small hotel refurbished in minimalistic, almost Nordic colourings - my kind of boutique hotel! Standard offering is €39 for a single room which is very good based upon the central location. Breakfast is additionally €7 and actually worth it.

My room was small with a single bed, aircon worked effortsly, Samsung flatscreen, small but clean bathroom with two towels...absolutely acceptable.

The location is nothing but brilliant - 10m to the central square of Montpellier, transportation, lots of restaurants and pedestian street. Excellent if you go out at night. Parking can be a problem, but there are parking houses nearby at €9 pr night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a nice, friendly, clean, small hotel. I had a single room, which was on the small side, but pleasant enough. It would have benefited from a fridge I think.

The bathroom was small, but all features there, and the room was cleaned everyday. Air con in room, which was brilliant. My room faced out to a courtyard so was quiet, although other guests did make a little noise on ocassion.

I would recommend, if you want a convenient location, as right near centre and train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Western Plus Comedie Saint Roch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Montpellier Centre - Antigone
0.4 mi away
Le Strasbourg
Le Strasbourg
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#48 of 93 in Montpellier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comedie

Address: 1 B rue Baudin, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Comedie 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De La Comedie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing