We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically wonderful but noisy at night”
Review of Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nova Hotel
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On arrival the Hotel Nova is like a Dr Who time warp. The location is fantastic, just behind the Opera House and Comedy Square but the rather unassuming exterior hides a wonderful historical interior. The whole ambience of the hotel and the room I occupied (first floor corner with balcony) was of old world charm with modern facilities. 10 out of 10 for this; but for those who have a room at the top, with heavy luggage, the spiral staircase may be a challenge but it is well worth it. Compared with others, Hotel Nova provides real value for money and service. The owners are always on hand. Every time I arrived back at the hotel I was greeted with a friendly welcome. An electronic pass card is provided for night time returns. My room had pleasant fitments and the bed was comfortable. The small bathroom also had a bidet. The free WiFi had a good connection. The downside was, being an old building which has to comply with historical requirements, my room had no A/C. Given the month of October, this was not any problem but even with the balcony windows closed at night the noise and disturbance outside, throughout the night, meant that a good night's sleep was impossible. This was extremely disappointing as the owners are really friendly and the hotel is a great place. Maybe the rooms higher up might be quieter but the night time noise would give Spain's Benidorm a run for the prize - it went on one night until 6am. Whilst not continuous its unpredictability meant one could never be assured of a tranquil period. It is just not something a tourist would expect in Montpellier city centre, is it?

Room Tip: Room on first floor has double balcony windows and is a beautiful room.....provided you can sleep th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaurauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour et Merci du temps que vous avez pris pour votre avis

L'établissement s'améliorant petit à petit, nous faisons installer des fenêtres double vitrage afin de réduire les problème de bruit. Il reste seulement 3 chambres simple vitrage.

Comme je l'indique souvent, nous ne pouvons pas installer d'air conditionner dans les chambres clients de notre établissement mais nous fournissons pour l'été des ventilateurs afin de palier a ce problème.

Nous sommes heureux que notre accueil vous ai plus.

J'espère a une prochaine fois.

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Nova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here in July - this place has no air con so it was nightmarishly hot - like an oven. The bathroom was very dirty, the shower curtain was atrocious (wear shoes in the shower), the bedding was so old we slept on top of it, there is no privacy as your neighbours can look right into your room if you are facing the street and the street noise in the evening/night time is very very loud. We did not try the breaksfast as we throught €7.50 a person for a continental breakfast was not worth the price. All in all, avoid this place if possible as it ruined our experience in this magical city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazylutin, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour

Je vous remercie pour votre avis et je suis désolé que votre séjour ne vous ai pas convenue.

Oui notre établissement ne possède pas de climatisation comme indiquer sur notre site internet, Site de réservation en ligne et brochure existante. Nous mettons dans les chambres des ventilateurs.

Vous indiquez que la salle de bain était très sale. Vous auriez du nous le signaler afin que nous puissions le constater et remedier au problème. Toute nos literie sont changer régulièrement et sont toute equiper de housse de protection.

Toutes nos chambres sont equiper de volet en bois plier a l'exterieur, ils faut les fermer afin que les voisins ne puissent pas regarder dans la chambre.

Comme beaucoup de gens ne voient pas les volets, nous avons rajouter des doubles rideau.

Vous n'avez pas prix le petit déjeuner continental à 7,50€ mais vous trouvez qu'il ne valais pas le prix.

Le petit déjeune se compose :

1 Boisson Chaude (Café, thé, chocolat)
1 Croissant
1 demi baguette de pain
1 yaourt ou une compote
Miel, confiture, beurre,
Jus d'orange
Céréale

Les croissant et le pain sont acheter chez un boulanger traditionnel.

Pour le bruit extérieur, nous n'avons aucune emprise sur la mauvaise éducation des gens dans la rue.

Pour votre remarque "pas le plus grand", nous n'avons absolument pas la prétention d'être le plus grand hôtel de Montpellier. Nous apportons une tarification pour un établissement 2 étoiles relativement bas, dans le centre historique, dans un batiment du XIII siecle. En effet les chambres vont de 48€ à 65€ la nuit pour 1 ou 2 personnes en 2013.

Merci encore pour votre avis et encore désolé que nous n'ayons pas subvenu a votre attente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed one night. Everything was very clean and our bathroom was brand new! We were treated like friends by the owner. We can't wait to visit again! Highly Recommended by all 5 of us. The owner gave me sugar cubes to bring back to the states and a pack of matches when my lighter failed. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour

Merci déjà d'avoir laisser un avis sur notre établissement.

Nous avons était heureux de vous recevoir et heureux que l'établissement familial vous plaisent.

Nous serons ravis de vous recevoir une nouvelle fois dans le futur.

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed there for one night, the location was perfect, the hotel is close to the city center. The room was ok, the bathroom a little bit old but ok, they even left us a fan for the heat. Really friendly staff and excellent price!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelover_aeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour

Merci pour le temps passer pour donner votre avis.

C'est exact que les salle de bain ne sont pas toute récente et nous nous efforçons petit à petit des les agrandir pour le confort des clients quand cela est possible ou bien de mettre des cabines pour supprimer les rideaux qui sont inconfortable.

Chaque année apporte sont lot de modification dans notre établissement et nous nous efforçons d'amélioré sans cesse notre Hôtel.

Merci encore et à très bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel Nova is an ideal hotel for both first time and seasoned international travelers. I shared a room with my son on the first floor, and my aunt had a room on the third floor. Both rooms suited our needs perfectly, and they were very comfortable and clean. The hotel owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Very reasonably priced. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know what you'd like. They are exceptionally accommodating.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour

Merci pour votre avis qui nous motive pour continuer et améliorer notre établissement

Nous sommes heureux que l'hôtel ai répondus a vos attente et que les tarifs que nous pratiquons ne vous semble pas prohibitif.

Nous serons heureux de vous recevoir une prochaine fois

Merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stay frequently in this hotel, and I enjoy its position: in Montpellier downtown, it's well suited for me who enjoy Montpellier lifestyle.
The rooms are nice and the staff is warmly and helpful - some rooms are very affordable if you book in advance..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeakyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour

Merci pour votre avis

Nous avons en effet des tarifs fort attractif sur de petites chambre étudiantes aux alentour de 30€ la nuit pour une personnes. Ce sont des chambres régulièrement louer a la semaine pour des personnes a budget modérer voulant vivre dans le cœur de Montpellier.

Merci encore et à très bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in Nova Hotel around December/ January. The location of the hotel is perfect, it's really close to the city center and not far from the train station. Unfortunatly in terms of confort they could do better... The room was big, which i really apreciated but it was really cold and smelly! We had to let the heating system on for the whole afternoon!
If you are looking for something simple, this hotel might be what you are looking for, but don't expect much..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazylutin, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hello and thank you for your opinion.

I have noted your point and we take care to make improvements to our customers is the most comfortable with a good value for money.

could you tell it you had room during your stay. For information, our rooms are equipped central heating and so we did not turn out the day. Some rooms are equipped with electric heater and therefore are at the disposal of customers for the ignition to the economy of another have both.

Thank you again for the time you took to respond.

good day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Halt Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lattes
53 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#13 of 93 in Montpellier
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lapeyronie
#43 of 93 in Montpellier
87 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel

Address: 8 rue Richelieu, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Nova is located in the historic heart, behind the municipal theater of the city (opera comedy) on the Place(Square) of Comedy of Montpellier ( Herault ), in 500 m of the station Holy Roch and of the tourist information office and in 800 metres of the conference hall ( Corum).L'Hotel Nova proposes you pleasant rooms with television (Channel(Canal) +, Satellite Channel(Canal)), free Wi-Fi telephone, connection, with double glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing