We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modest hotel with character well situated in centre of town”
Review of Nova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nova Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A modest hotel with character well situated in centre of town”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a modest hotel in a charming building with very friendly service. It was a budget choice but our room was quite large with two double beds and quiet despite the central location near the Opera. Don't expect modern plush anonymity but do expect systems that work and all the basics you need in a hotel. Our host was charming and helpful. He was happy to tell us the history of the building which is interesting. We had a very pleasant two days.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs our room on the top floor was quiet, sunny and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour le temps que vous avez passer à rédiger votre avis.

Nous sommes heureux que l'établissement vous ai plus et que la chambre que vous avez eu soit agréable. Vue la description c'est soit la chambre numéro 2 ou numéro 13.

La literie à maintenant été changer pour le confort de notre clientèle et nous ne manquons pas chaque fois que cela est possible d'informer notre clientèle sur la ville ou bien sur notre établissement datant du XVII ème siècle (le bâtiment étant sur les plan de la ville au XIIIème siècle selon les Bâtiments de FRANCE).

Merci encore et nous espérons à très bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
32
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I think it would be unfair to review this hotel as if it were 3 or 4 star. It is a two star hotel and as such was perfectly in line with what one might expect. I travelled on business, staying for four nights. The owner was endlessly helpful and pleasant. The room was clean, the bed comfortable (room 10).
The continenatl breakast was fine, the coffee and croissants good.
One area that I would say fell below normal standards was that the bathroom was small, the shower pan small (80cm x 80cm) which made showering a little challenging. A large person would struggle. The pipework was not boxed in very well and there were areas of unpainted plasterwork. Not the end of the world, but anyone that is fussy about bathroom standards would be disappointed.
The building is historic with a stone staircase that is a fraction uneven in places, and covered by a threadbare carpet. If the carpet and the bathrooms were better this would easily be a 4 star rating. The location is great, just a short walk from the old centre and the main rail station.
I would gladly stay again if on business, but not if I had my wife with me.
Good value at less than €60.00

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Google Translation
Merci du temps que vous avez pris pour laisser votre avis.

Nous vous remercions de l’exactitude des informations que vous avez laissé. Nous ne cessons d'apporter des améliorations à notre établissement.

Les petites structures comme nous ne pouvons faire face à tout les travaux en même temps et nous oblige à faire des choix chaque année.

Votre vu extérieure de l'hôtel et les points que vous soumettez serons modifié dès que possible.

Merci encore pour votre avis. Cela nous motive et nous donne envie de progresser.

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On arrival the Hotel Nova is like a Dr Who time warp. The location is fantastic, just behind the Opera House and Comedy Square but the rather unassuming exterior hides a wonderful historical interior. The whole ambience of the hotel and the room I occupied (first floor corner with balcony) was of old world charm with modern facilities. 10 out of 10 for this; but for those who have a room at the top, with heavy luggage, the spiral staircase may be a challenge but it is well worth it. Compared with others, Hotel Nova provides real value for money and service. The owners are always on hand. Every time I arrived back at the hotel I was greeted with a friendly welcome. An electronic pass card is provided for night time returns. My room had pleasant fitments and the bed was comfortable. The small bathroom also had a bidet. The free WiFi had a good connection. The downside was, being an old building which has to comply with historical requirements, my room had no A/C. Given the month of October, this was not any problem but even with the balcony windows closed at night the noise and disturbance outside, throughout the night, meant that a good night's sleep was impossible. This was extremely disappointing as the owners are really friendly and the hotel is a great place. Maybe the rooms higher up might be quieter but the night time noise would give Spain's Benidorm a run for the prize - it went on one night until 6am. Whilst not continuous its unpredictability meant one could never be assured of a tranquil period. It is just not something a tourist would expect in Montpellier city centre, is it?

Room Tip: Room on first floor has double balcony windows and is a beautiful room.....provided you can sleep th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaurauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et Merci du temps que vous avez pris pour votre avis

L'établissement s'améliorant petit à petit, nous faisons installer des fenêtres double vitrage afin de réduire les problème de bruit. Il reste seulement 3 chambres simple vitrage.

Comme je l'indique souvent, nous ne pouvons pas installer d'air conditionner dans les chambres clients de notre établissement mais nous fournissons pour l'été des ventilateurs afin de palier a ce problème.

Nous sommes heureux que notre accueil vous ai plus.

J'espère a une prochaine fois.

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here in July - this place has no air con so it was nightmarishly hot - like an oven. The bathroom was very dirty, the shower curtain was atrocious (wear shoes in the shower), the bedding was so old we slept on top of it, there is no privacy as your neighbours can look right into your room if you are facing the street and the street noise in the evening/night time is very very loud. We did not try the breaksfast as we throught €7.50 a person for a continental breakfast was not worth the price. All in all, avoid this place if possible as it ruined our experience in this magical city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crazylutin, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Je vous remercie pour votre avis et je suis désolé que votre séjour ne vous ai pas convenue.

Oui notre établissement ne possède pas de climatisation comme indiquer sur notre site internet, Site de réservation en ligne et brochure existante. Nous mettons dans les chambres des ventilateurs.

Vous indiquez que la salle de bain était très sale. Vous auriez du nous le signaler afin que nous puissions le constater et remedier au problème. Toute nos literie sont changer régulièrement et sont toute equiper de housse de protection.

Toutes nos chambres sont equiper de volet en bois plier a l'exterieur, ils faut les fermer afin que les voisins ne puissent pas regarder dans la chambre.

Comme beaucoup de gens ne voient pas les volets, nous avons rajouter des doubles rideau.

Vous n'avez pas prix le petit déjeuner continental à 7,50€ mais vous trouvez qu'il ne valais pas le prix.

Le petit déjeune se compose :

1 Boisson Chaude (Café, thé, chocolat)
1 Croissant
1 demi baguette de pain
1 yaourt ou une compote
Miel, confiture, beurre,
Jus d'orange
Céréale

Les croissant et le pain sont acheter chez un boulanger traditionnel.

Pour le bruit extérieur, nous n'avons aucune emprise sur la mauvaise éducation des gens dans la rue.

Pour votre remarque "pas le plus grand", nous n'avons absolument pas la prétention d'être le plus grand hôtel de Montpellier. Nous apportons une tarification pour un établissement 2 étoiles relativement bas, dans le centre historique, dans un batiment du XIII siecle. En effet les chambres vont de 48€ à 65€ la nuit pour 1 ou 2 personnes en 2013.

Merci encore pour votre avis et encore désolé que nous n'ayons pas subvenu a votre attente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed one night. Everything was very clean and our bathroom was brand new! We were treated like friends by the owner. We can't wait to visit again! Highly Recommended by all 5 of us. The owner gave me sugar cubes to bring back to the states and a pack of matches when my lighter failed. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Merci déjà d'avoir laisser un avis sur notre établissement.

Nous avons était heureux de vous recevoir et heureux que l'établissement familial vous plaisent.

Nous serons ravis de vous recevoir une nouvelle fois dans le futur.

Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed there for one night, the location was perfect, the hotel is close to the city center. The room was ok, the bathroom a little bit old but ok, they even left us a fan for the heat. Really friendly staff and excellent price!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover_aeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Merci pour le temps passer pour donner votre avis.

C'est exact que les salle de bain ne sont pas toute récente et nous nous efforçons petit à petit des les agrandir pour le confort des clients quand cela est possible ou bien de mettre des cabines pour supprimer les rideaux qui sont inconfortable.

Chaque année apporte sont lot de modification dans notre établissement et nous nous efforçons d'amélioré sans cesse notre Hôtel.

Merci encore et à très bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel Nova is an ideal hotel for both first time and seasoned international travelers. I shared a room with my son on the first floor, and my aunt had a room on the third floor. Both rooms suited our needs perfectly, and they were very comfortable and clean. The hotel owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Very reasonably priced. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know what you'd like. They are exceptionally accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier G, Gérant at Nova Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour

Merci pour votre avis qui nous motive pour continuer et améliorer notre établissement

Nous sommes heureux que l'hôtel ai répondus a vos attente et que les tarifs que nous pratiquons ne vous semble pas prohibitif.

Nous serons heureux de vous recevoir une prochaine fois

Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Le Strasbourg
#40 of 93 in Montpellier
185 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#12 of 93 in Montpellier
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Halt Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lattes
41 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Hotel

Property: Nova Hotel
Address: 8 rue Richelieu, 34000, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Nova is located in the historic heart, behind the municipal theater of the city (opera comedy) on the Place(Square) of Comedy of Montpellier ( Herault ), in 500 m of the station Holy Roch and of the tourist information office and in 800 metres of the conference hall ( Corum).L'Hotel Nova proposes you pleasant rooms with television (Channel(Canal) +, Satellite Channel(Canal)), free Wi-Fi telephone, connection, with double glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing