We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I've stayed a few times now as it's convenient for business but always ask myself why?
It's stuffy, noisy and cramped and a bit of a hike to old Montpellier.
It is clean, more than can be said for the poor tramp serenading outside my window.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I booked on the web, through a booking service. I was quoted a price, which was changed - due, they said, to an upgrade. Not good enough. I have addressed this with them and await an answer. The hotel is on one of the tram lines and walking distance to the town centre.

Room Tip: Rooms and beds are small, the extractor fan in the bathroom did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here as we were staying for a few days and wanted somewhere we could relax after being out all day in Montpellier rather than just a hotel room. Wished we'd not bothered. We had an apartment that slept 4 even though there were only 2 of us as we wanted the extra space and didn't want to have our bed in the lounge area. The carpets were poor quality and stained, the furniture was cheap, uncomfortable sofa bed to sit on, gloomy room even though it was on the sunny side at the back, heating was on permanently even though the weather was warm, apparently no ac in October, and tired bathroom. On positive side, good strength of shower, comfortable bed and the kitchen area (also the entrance hall) was well equipped but we didn't cook in there so can't say how practical it was and it was clean. Location was brilliant - some restaurants and small grocers outside, walking distance to shops and restaurants in old town and tram stop literally just outside main entrance. Ok place for 2 people, but 4 would have been a nightmare. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden at the back as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Travelled with another couple, and stayed here (booked by Travel Consultant) overnight only. We rejected the first room as it smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and air freshener. The bed was a made up pull out couch. The room we were then given was adequate, but very tired. Stained linoleum in the bathroom and cracked and stained filler around the bath. Great location with a great fresh food market across the road, and efficient trams at the door.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank wazzap54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We rejected 2 rooms before upgrading. The 2 rooms we rejected had warn carpet and uncomfortable beds. The hotel staff person got huffy when we requested a room with a comfortable bed. The compromise was for us to upgrade to a Junior suite, which allowed us to sleep at night.

This is not your typical hotel. The clientele seemed to be workers from other destinations renting a short term apartment while getting established in town. My wife and I stood out like a sore thumb because we are 60 and everyone else was in their 20's. We were also the only travelers.

The location of the hotel is outstanding as a tram stop is just outside the front door.

Room Tip: Check your bed meticulously prior to accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Citadines Montpelier is situated right beside the tram station so there is no need for a map & no way to get lost. It is 3 stops away from the St Roch train station on the blue tramway line towards Odysseum (1.40€ one-way or 2.50€ for a return ticket). It is located in a pleasant renaissance compound with a little garden which leads to the Polygon mall housing Galleries Lafayette & a pharmacy selling brands like Klorane shampoo cheaper than at most other places. Walk through the mall and you'll find yourself in the heart of the old & beautiful pedestrian-friendly (only tram & bicycles allowed) city centre (Comedie).
Although decor is a bit plain, the room is very clean (no carpets) & spacious. Mine even has a balcony looking into the garden (or perhaps I got upgraded to a 1 bedroom apt!) The hotel is also equipped with a kitchen. But no slippers/bathrobes are provided & toiletries are basic (unless you book the Club rooms) so bring your own.
Staff is very helpful & there's free wifi so an overall very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CY308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A pleasant stay, the tram stop Leon Blum is right out the front making travel very easy.Central position close to fresh food markets(directly opposite ) and large shopping . The rooms are a touch drab and are in need of an upgrade, but the beds are comfortable and clean.The Paris Citidine (Bastille) is one star better but again the location can't be beaten.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
879 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Montpellier Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montpellier Antigone

Address: 588 boulevard D Antigone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montpellier Antigone 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Montpellier Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier
Citadines Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing