We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It only lacks one thing: a pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great place to stay. Amazing value for money, very clean and with the Tram station outside you can get anywhere. If you go just across the road you'll find a small market with an assortment of foods. From oysters to chicken curry, chorizo to fresh strawberrys, the choice is plentyfull with good value for money. If you go behind the apartment block you'll find a street lined with small bars and restaurants. All in all a really good place to stay. Went in August and the temp didn't drop below 30 degrees C, which is when a pool would be helpful. The beach however is only 20mins away by tram and bus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deansf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2009

This is a residence hotel. The rooms are quite small and initially for a one month stay I was not sure I could do it. A closer looked revealed that within the space was every thing you could need. Very well laid out . You should know that cleaning is once a week. In addition the common areas are showing some wear and stains. The desk people are very helpful. One drawback is location. It's not really in a city central neighborhood that is good for strolling. Front side rooms can be noisy but the sound proofing is fairly decent. The internet service is good. One small beef is the have the bare minimum of tv coverage. I stayed during Wimbleton and there was no live coverage. Not a big thing but if you were sick for a few days as I was, you would like better television.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I stayed in Montpellier for 3 weeks last July/August as I enrolled with a French language school. I booked my stay at the Citadines Saint Odile through the school - when I arrived I was hugely disappointed - see my review on it. I stuck Saint Odile for a week and then booked the final two weeks at the Citadines Antigone. It was like a different world! Lovely clean bright modern room - bathroom was great. Advice if you're staying longterm and want to do washing - bring some clothes pegs. There is a little clothes hanging contraption that you pull out over the bath but you'll need pegs to attach your clothes! Air-conditioning was heaven. The aparthotel is right beside a tram stop which is great as you can hop onto the tram to bypass the 5 min walk through the strangely-concrete Antigone area and Polygone shopping centre.
The laundry room was clean and I didn't have a problem getting a washing machine. You buy a token at the desk and use that to use the wahing machines which are hooked up to tubes of liquid washing powder. I couldn't fault this - the price was great for the location as you are just on the edge of the centre of Montpellier. Hotel was clean. Bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom was a joy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EurTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My wife and I had a very pleasant 6 night stay at the Citidines Antigone Apart’ Hotel in Montpellier. Our room (221) was fairly small but well equipped with all the basics and even more one would expect from such an apartment (fridge, two plate stove, microwave oven, kettle, toaster, small dishwashing machine, vacuum cleaner, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, small hi-fi, TV, free cable internet access and air-conditioning). Although the room was small, it had adequit space (once the fold-up queen size bed was out of the way). We found the bed surprisingly comfortable and easy to unfold once we got the trick. The bathroom, with separate toilet, was equipped with a bath/shower and basin.

The balcony had a lovely view, looking out on the Boulevard d' Antigone and the huge plantain trees in front created a nice shady, private atmosphere almost as if sitting in a tree house. The road is busy with lots of traffic and trams’ rumbling by during the day, but it creates a nice, bustling atmosphere. At night, with the doors closed, it was quiet enough to allow for good sleep.

The indoor market place across the Boulevard d' Antigone is a gem and well supported by many locals. It has a bakery, butchery, cheese stall, coffee shop, fresh fruit and vegetables, pizza counter (with helpful English speaking lady). Typically French, these stalls seem to open and close at random, so they might not be open when you need them. The bakery, however, opens early. Although breakfast is on offer at €8 per person, it did not seem worthwhile to us and we bought our own. Rather make your own coffee, buy fresh croissants, butter, jam and fruit from across the road, have yogurt out of the fridge and enjoy it in private on your own balcony -much more fun! Or have a nicer and cheaper breakfast at one of the many street cafes.

The hotel is on the side of the Antigone (a massive esplanade) with many eateries and with easy access (by foot or tram) to all Montpellier has to offer. A large shopping mall, “Le Polygone” is only 5 minutes away by foot and has anything that you might need. The Gymnase d’ Olympie a sport facility in the Antigone is open to the public and offers three swimming pools.

Do not see this as a hotel in the normal sense but rather as a self service apartment and you would not be disappointed by much. Apartments are nice for longer term stays (3 nights or more) when you have enough time to settle in. However if you prefer fully serviced hotel amenities, rather look for some place else. The staff varied in their command of English, but like most places in France, they seem to be intimidated if they need to explain complicated things like how to take the bus to the beach. Remember to ask for a free tourist map of Montpellier as you check in.

Visiting the beach (Pérols) is very easy from there if you know how: Walk out the front door at reception, turn right and follow the tramline for about 2-3 blocks. There you will find a bus stop (Place de L’Europe) from where the bus to the beach (no. 28) departs. Buy a return ticket (from the automat or on the bus) for (€2.30). This is also close to the point where the bus to the airport (Navette) arrives and leaves from. While on the bus, check out for other passengers obviously going to the beach (wearing beach gear and bags) because you will have to follow them on the other side, as this is a bit tricky. Once at the other side (everyone will get off at the end of the route) follow the stream of beach go-ers as they lead you to the beach. The trip takes about 30 minutes and is worth a visit. At the beach, the public toilettes (WC Public) is well hidden by a tree next a nice little restaurant!

Stayed: August 2008
5  Thank SA2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

As has been pointed out, this is an apartment hotel so if you need space or have a family it is a necessary and ideal choice. My wife and I stayed in a 2 room apartment with air-con, kitchen and balcony and paid about 100 Euros, we were very comfortable but there are some caveats. For instance the apartments are not serviced daily so we had to re-use the towels for 3 days and in the end had to ask reception for more toilet paper. Ummm.. also, the breakfast is very poorby, you won't bother again after the first time. You will need to like to walk because the Citadines Montpellier is located in the "Antigone" a kind of brave new world of sterile apartment buildings and a major shopping complex called Le Polygone that separates you from civilization, namely the charming medieval heart of Montpellier on the other side of the Place de la Comedie. Citadines is some kind of French chain and they will charge you for everything they can, 4 Euros for a load of self-service washing, 4 Euros of 45 mins in the dryer. My bill was part paid by a research lab I was visiting but the hotel structured the bill to squeeze me for every Euro and every cent. In the end I walked away feeling like I'd been shaken down and that's not a good (nor necessary) parting impression for any hotel guest. Be warned, the staff here seem like that are in training for the French bureaucracy, there is a lot of form work to fill and YOU will need to work hard for them to be friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

This is an apartment hotel. They do serve breakfast but it is not normally included in the room.

We are a family of five so we had an apartment with one bedroom, one sofa bed in the main room and an extra bed. There is a small kitchen as well.

It was kind of tricky to get to the hotel via car since a lot of the streets are one-way.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We were taken aback to find no bed in the room but, once we had worked out how to open the sofabed, the bed was very comfortable. Good self-catering facilities, which would be particularly useful for a long stay. Very quiet (we were in a back room).

Tram stop immediately outside - takes you direct to the station.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookwormOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Montpellier Antigone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Montpellier Antigone

Address: 588 boulevard D Antigone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Montpellier Antigone 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadines Montpellier Antigone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Montpellier Antigone Hotel Montpellier
Citadines Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing