We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm - Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Maison Blanche
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hmmm - Quirky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Probably the title says it all.

There are comments about dated and things like that - whilst this is true - I think it sort of detracts from the fun of the place.

This is not your average corporate business type hotel. This is somewhere to go and enjoy. It's relaxed and clean. The service is friendly. The interior is, well, different.

Breakfast was simple.

The attached restaurant is very good and reasonably priced.

The rooms are possibly a bit noisy and the floor can be squeaky. If you have a room with a balcony be aware that the balcony is shared. The rooms are not NONE-SMOKING. So if you are hyper sensitive to smoke - this could be a problem.

There is a small and well maintained pool.

Did I enjoy my stay here - yes certainly.

Would I stay here again - probably.

So - whats not to like?

Well - there are no shower curtains - this isn't normally a problem but there was no hook to hang the shower head on either. So it's a case of stand in the bath tub and hold the shower head above your own head. Rather strange.

The room decor - again - quirky.

It felt expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thurstonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    17
    16
    8
See reviews for
14
22
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

After driving across from Nice we pulled into Hotel La Maison Blanche for an overnight stop. The only two rooms available was a twin room for €107 or a suite for €150, we chose the suite. The suite was large but looked like something out of the 70's, timber panelling, Perspex ceiling, dark furniture and cherry red furnishings, all a bit much, but we did sleep well, maybe it was the red colour everywhere. I missed not having a proper shower, there was only a hand held shower over the bath. The balcony was nice although rather shabby. The overall building needs a lot of TLC to bring it back to it's glory days. The restaurant is set in the pretty gardens but the menu is quite limited and a couple of the dishes on the menu were not available, even though we were one of the first diners. I feel that the Hotel is very overpriced for the quality of the establishment, it's a shame that they are not up keeping the appearance because it would have been beautiful in it's day.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nice wood construction nested in a lovely southern garden, however the inside is not as good with worn out rooms, bathrooms, etc.
Breakfast is quite minimalist and served in an uninviting room.
The adjacent restaurant serves decent local cuisine
The staff is helpful tough

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

chelmsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

On arrival on the Wednesday we were told that we had only a booking from Friday. Luckily we had a copy of the confirmation email from the hotel so that was quickly resolved!
From the photographs on the web site we expected rather more than is actually on offer. The room, whilst generally clean, was tired and in need of re-decoration. The balcony, for which we had paid extra, was shared with all other rooms on our level, with no privacy. However, we could not comfortably sit there anyway given the fact that the a/c unit (for apparently a lot of rooms) was immediately outside our door and continually blew out hot air with some force, making it a most unpleasant situation.
The staff were helpful but not always readily available. On 3 occassions when returning at night we had to take our room key from behind the desk as no one was there to assist.
The restaurant was a great disappointment. What could and should have been a wonderful location, some 50m away from the hotel in the garden, was in fact dusty, unkempt and dark. Service was very slow and the menu extremely limited. For our 9 night stay we ate out 6 times. Luckily there is an excellent restaurant 2 minutes' walk up the road, and Montpellier has a good choice of restaurants too; but to eat there required a tram (excellent service) or taxi.
Overall a disappointing experience at an hotel probably better suited to one night stop overs for business people rather than holiday makers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billbobharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We needed a night stop between Spain and Nice so did not have high expectations but if you can ignore the fact that the hotel needs a facelift, then it is quaint with a stunning building set in pretty grounds. The receptionist very helpful and drinks served quickly on the Verandah and breakfast was s unfit ident but should have been included in the cost !!!! And yes it is a schlep to town so plan to eat and return to hotel rather than go out from hotel ...

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaCLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel was just wonderful. The gardens, rooms, restaurant fantastic. Wonderful staff, very helpful, food was to die for, and nothing was too much trouble. Would return in an instance. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The hotel is out of the way, the rooms are smelly and dank, and the service is practically non-existent. It's worth a detour to avoid this fleabag.
CHopkins

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christoper4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Maison Blanche

Property: Hotel La Maison Blanche
Address: 1796 avenue de la Pompignane, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Maison Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Maison Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Blanche Montpellier
La Maison Blanche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing