We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel lived up to our expectations. The rooms aren't big, but perfectly comfortable with a good bathroom and shower, and lovely balcony overlooking the square below. It was clean and "rustic", and good price for what it is. The location is ideal for exploring the old town and the many places to eat and drink. We tried the cafe opposite for breakfast one day, and it was appalling and very over-priced - so don't be tempted to go there. Didn't try the hotel breakfast, but not for any particular reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheychappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    79
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
77
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a very convenient local in Montpellier. The building is charming and the rooms are absolutely fine, if not necessarily all that modern. The only problem for me was the service. Two people who served us during our stay there were polite and helpful, however two others (an older woman and, I think, the man who owns the hotel) were very rude and abrupt. If you're not bothered about a warm welcome or nice service then this will do you fine, but if you are, then I wouldn't recommend this hotel - it somewhat ruined the stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesscalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Located in the old part of town this small hotel is a gem. The building is extremely tasteful and charming, even the sign of the hotel vibrates the best of French style and charm. What is more: there is a truly graceful concierge and a very fine restaurant right vis a vis.
The rooms are, well ok, not huge, not specifically designed, but ok.
The downsides: parking is really difficult, one has to go to a garage that is not too close, but one gets a special prize. Don't book with heavy luggage as I did!
And the breakfast, you know, a piece of baguette and a croissant, but well, that's how it is in France. But a piece of rusk (Zwieback) and a piece of crisp bread (Knäckebrot), that felt rather like a joke, or a riddle in bread categories, or some sort of didactic game teaching me how many different sorts are all being called “bread”.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zak r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was perfect for our needs. Very cute hotel, with shutter windows and old fashioned French decor. The service was friendly but limited English. It was a 7 min walk from Place de la Comedie and right next to a beautiful park

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Palais the last weekend in April, it's set in a lovely quiet leafy square with a good brasserie directly opposite. It's a few minutes walk to Place de la Comedie through good shopping streets with great atmosphere.
Everything about the Hotel was well run, with pretty bedrooms and spotless small but not tiny shower rooms. Breakfast is served at your table and is available at 3 different prices.
A very pleasant stay in a very French hotel, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel looks like many French hotels in the same category (i.e. rooms not very spacious and somewhat retro in the decoration; basic breakfast, though there are different options and "upgrading"), but what I particularly appreciated is the thoughtfulness of the patrons and their kindness. They have been very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely decorated in pastel colours and with fresh flowers. There is free wi-fi internet access.
All this is surely a "plus" which demonstrates how they care for the client's satisfaction.
The city (even though I was there for business) is one of the most interesting and beautiful cities in France and is surely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TongBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The proprietors are very friendly and work hard to keep the character and ambience of a very historic building . Our room was small bit adequate , shower was fine and bathroom was a comfortable size. Overall a very pleasant visit !

Room Tip: Car parking is available within 7 minute walk at good value €7.50 per 24 hours...ask re reception in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gripen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem
#24 of 93 in Montpellier
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 3 rue du Palais, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Palais 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Hotel Du Palais Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing