We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Montpellier”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent a wonderful night in the Hotel du Palais en route to our holiday rental in nearby Marsillargues. Having travelled all day from London, we arrived exhausted in Montpellier. We were given a warm welcome and keys to two charming twin rooms, one with an en-suite bathroom, and the other, a shower. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and both had balconies overlooking the square outside. We slept very well. In the morning we were served a lovely French breakfast of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, and breads, as well as hot coffee and tea. The hotelier was very kind and recommended that we visit a market nearby before leaving at midday. It was an ideal place to rest before the holiday ahead, and we strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony overlooking the square outside.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Palais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here only one night on our way from Provence to Barcelona. I cannot say that it lived up to the most glowing reviews, but I can’t say that it was a bad place to stay, either. Indeed, our room was clean and pleasant enough, the bed comfortable, and the hotel’s location in the city’s historic district is really quite ideal. Close enough to be in the thick of things but far enough away to avoid all the crowds. I guess we just didn’t feel especially welcomed by any of the staff we came in contact with. Don’t get me wrong, we were not treated rudely. Much is made of French formality and how American tourists can misinterpret that cultural propensity. I must say, however, we did not experience the intensity of such formality throughout our travels in Paris and Provence until we hit Montpellier. We often saw what I might call gracious formality, but what we experienced here might better be called officious formality. The man checking us in seemed to almost scowl as we went through all the necessary details. Smiles and frowns transcend language – you don’t need to wait for the translation when you are on the receiving end of either. If this would happen to us in the US, we would surely never stay at such a place, again. I don’t know that I can honestly recommend the place to others, either. But all this said, I know – it’s crazy – if we were to ever need lodging in Montpellier again, we might well take this devil we now know over any of the others we don’t know. But then again, I have the exact same ambivalent feelings about Montpellier as a destination and I don’t know that I’ll ever have to make such a decision in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twilson140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel lived up to our expectations. The rooms aren't big, but perfectly comfortable with a good bathroom and shower, and lovely balcony overlooking the square below. It was clean and "rustic", and good price for what it is. The location is ideal for exploring the old town and the many places to eat and drink. We tried the cafe opposite for breakfast one day, and it was appalling and very over-priced - so don't be tempted to go there. Didn't try the hotel breakfast, but not for any particular reason.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheychappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a very convenient local in Montpellier. The building is charming and the rooms are absolutely fine, if not necessarily all that modern. The only problem for me was the service. Two people who served us during our stay there were polite and helpful, however two others (an older woman and, I think, the man who owns the hotel) were very rude and abrupt. If you're not bothered about a warm welcome or nice service then this will do you fine, but if you are, then I wouldn't recommend this hotel - it somewhat ruined the stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesscalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Located in the old part of town this small hotel is a gem. The building is extremely tasteful and charming, even the sign of the hotel vibrates the best of French style and charm. What is more: there is a truly graceful concierge and a very fine restaurant right vis a vis.
The rooms are, well ok, not huge, not specifically designed, but ok.
The downsides: parking is really difficult, one has to go to a garage that is not too close, but one gets a special prize. Don't book with heavy luggage as I did!
And the breakfast, you know, a piece of baguette and a croissant, but well, that's how it is in France. But a piece of rusk (Zwieback) and a piece of crisp bread (Knäckebrot), that felt rather like a joke, or a riddle in bread categories, or some sort of didactic game teaching me how many different sorts are all being called “bread”.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zak r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and it was perfect for our needs. Very cute hotel, with shutter windows and old fashioned French decor. The service was friendly but limited English. It was a 7 min walk from Place de la Comedie and right next to a beautiful park

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Palais the last weekend in April, it's set in a lovely quiet leafy square with a good brasserie directly opposite. It's a few minutes walk to Place de la Comedie through good shopping streets with great atmosphere.
Everything about the Hotel was well run, with pretty bedrooms and spotless small but not tiny shower rooms. Breakfast is served at your table and is available at 3 different prices.
A very pleasant stay in a very French hotel, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem
#29 of 93 in Montpellier
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Address: 3 rue du Palais, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: £93 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Palais 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Hotel Du Palais Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing