We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 16 May 2012

From the moment we arrived until our departure the staff here could not have been more helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is quirky, and we were a party of five in three rooms. Each room was different in style, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. Our room at the back was very quiet with a great view of the cathedral, although some rooms at the front suffered from noise from the street- but then, it's not every day the town wins the French Football League, so there was a reason! Good breakfast with charming service. The hotel is very conveniently located in a very elegant and stylish city

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWK157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

This charming hotel is ideally placed for a city break in Montpellier. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Our room was situated in an annex which used to be a local boulangerie / charcuterie. Very clean with a delightful view of the patio courtyard and Cathedral from the window. Free wifi was slow, but free. This hotel is ideally situated for the shops and restaurants of this bustling city. Access to the hotel is awkward and there is a short trip to a nearby car park but this should not be a deterent to your enjoyment. Localsquares and cafe's are available to sit in and watch the world go by. In addition this is an ideally located hotel for the Cathedral and other cultural sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prifparchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here last weekend. We were a group of eight in four rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff are great, so very helpful and friendly. There was meant to be free wifi but none of us were able to access it. Breakfast is charged separately, continental style, quite good, it I suggest having brunch in one of the nearby restaurants or cafes.

The hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and bars and the marvellous shopping. It has a really nice terrace but could do with a small bar as a meeting place or somewhere to wait for other guests. Staff are happy to serve wine but it's a bit hit and miss.
We would definately stay at this quaint hotel again when visiting Montpellier which is a fantastic city, can't imagine why we've never been before.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here with 5 girlfriends for a girls weekend away. Hotel is set in a litlle cobbled lane just a leisurely stroll from the centre of the city. We had two triple rooms overlooking the terrace where you can take tea. Just next door is an excellent courtyard restaurant, to be strongly recommended for a delicious Sunday lunch. The rooms are unpretentious and comfortable, we were perfectly happy here although if you're looking for top of the range modern its not for you its more quaint and relaxed. We chose to eat out, but I think the did breakfast on request.
Ideally located, there is a lovely boulangerie just a few steps up the lane for delicious croissants, bread and other pastries. Around the corner a cafe for morning coffee in the square.
Montpellier is a fabulous location for a weekend of shopping, cute cafes and pretty courtyards around every other corner. A plethora of eateries to choose from and the beach a short tram ride away. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michellesmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed 1 night for business, the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The room was small but fine for 1 person. The bed was very comfortable and had a great night sleep.
Breakfast was simple but nice, the dining room was again quite small and may be a bit tight if busy.
Shower was ok.
Internet speed was poor and could be a problem if you need it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzd31155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I spent a we in a very clean and confortable room. The bed was big ( some hotels give you a "double" bed that's just right for one person and half, and that's not the case) , the wide and nicely decorated room made the difference. Just a minor point: i had no wifi connection but i didn't say anything cause not a big problem for me.
The crew's members and the stuff were at the top.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFRD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The historic centre is entirely pedestrianised, so you reach the hotel by a short walk from wherever the taxi can drop you. The hotel is in a very old building so no lift. Its strong points are its very friendly and helpful staff and its quiet central location. The proximity to Volodia, one of the best restaurants in Montpellier, is a bonus! Our standard room (15) was tiny and most of it was filled by the double bed. It was quiet and overlooked a terrace where you could sit out in summer. The bathroom was clean and functional with a hotel style hairdresser. The TV has CNN and BBC in analogue only but that wasn't a concern to us. The decor was a little tired (wallpaper coming away, curtain linings detached) but, more importantly, the bed was comfortable and the room clean. There was a kettle to make tea/coffee, and a mini-bar but no safe. Breakfast is served in a tiny breakfast room with a help-yourself buffet (cereal, fruit, cheese, ham), while fresh coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, bread, jam, croissant and mini Danish pastries are brought to the table. I don't know how the price compares to other local hotels - I would certainly go back, but would book a bigger room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twofootplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
858 reviews
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
279 reviews
Royal Hotel
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,287 reviews
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem

Address: 18 Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Jardin des plantes, place de la Canorgue and the Peyrou promenade.The BEST WESTERN Hôtel Le Guilhem offers you a welcoming comfort in a sixteenth-century house renewed with style and taste. Each room has a specific ambience and decoration. Most windows have a lovely outlook on the secret little gardens of the town and the prestigious faculty of medicine established during the twelfth century.In the early morning a delicious breakfast is generously served on the terrace viewing Saint-Pierre cathedra, afterward the town of Montpellier is yours ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Guilhem Hotel
Le Guilhem Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing