We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than your average Courtyard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Better than your average Courtyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice pool, okay location, clean, modern, very green (but most european hotels are) Only spent one night, but was a nice stop over between Nice and Barcelona.

Montpellier is a cute town.....I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling from the French Rivera to Barcelona, its a great place to stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    171
    54
    26
    10
See reviews for
59
176
21
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for five nights starting on the 17th, we stayed in room 289. The hotel its self is clean tidy and very modern. We were checked in very quickly, the room is good and clean. The bathroom has a shower no bath but perfect for us. The room had a patio area which is good but could be more secluded from its neighbours n either side. The pool area is very small, the fitness is adequate.
The bar and restaurant are good, We ate twice in the restaurant, the food was okay overall the staff in particular Kevin were very good as our French is not good.The prices in the bar for anything other than a bottle of wine were expensive 7.50 for a beer!!!!

The hotel is out with the main centre of Montpellier but is a short distance to the tram stop and 400 /500 metres from a few restaurants.

My main problem with this hotel and my problem is with the management on a at the time of booking of this).
From around 4pm on the Saturday the services stopped plus you could not even sit by the pool as they were also using that area. I notice that there was not reduction in price to match the reduced services.
The wedding reception was right below our room and went on until 05.30am in the morning. Surely the management could have put guests not attending the wedding reception in rooms away from the events that way they would at least get some sleep.
At 01.15am we were awoken by the fire alarm, we got dresses and made out way to the nearest exit using the stairs. There were no staff on hand to tell guests what was happening. It ended with me banging on the reception desk to get the attention of a staff member who appeared to be entertaining in the staff office behind the checking desk. He said it was a false alarm and that a wedding reception guests had smoked in an area they were not supposed to(big surprise).
The most alarming thing about this is that its all hotels procedures to treat all fire alarms as real and evacuate until it is determined what has caused the alarm to sound. Clearly this is not the case in Montpellier.
I explained this to the lady when I checked out this morning 23rd September. I am a Marriott gold rewards member and expect a lot better than this.
NOT A HAPPY CAMPER

Room Tip: Check if they have any events on during any proposed stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
308 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The staffs at this hotel were certainly not trained to handle anything other than assigning you a basic room. If you reported any issue/problem, they all behaved like you had done something wrong and became rude to you. In the bathroom, you get only one tiny soap, so if you use it for the sink, you won't have one for your shower. And the little shower gel they provide to you is hardly enough for one person. The hair dryer is mounted in the closet, such that when you are drying your hair, you cannot look at yourself in the mirror for the most part. The wifi connection in the room was painfully slow. We cut our stay here short and moved elsewhere. When we left, the front desk person did not even say "thank you" or "goodby". BTW, the on site restaurant servers have the exact same attitude.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waverunner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Clean, spacious rooms. However, this is a typical Marriott Court Yard where presumably, it’s not a company owned but a franchised operation. That being said, it’s been our experience as Gold rewards members, that less of the perks you expect will be offered. Caution for Gold members and Platinum members! No free breakfast will be offered and forget the upgrade to a room with a balcony because the balcony rooms are on the noisy public square side of the hotel. Some of the staff were pleasant, but the staff checking us in was simply not familiar with customer service and argued with us over offerings and details. As a result we will not return to this hotel. Parking is a pain as their security is unnecessarily high and you need to pass through 3 gates to get into the underground parking area, after paying an expected 12 Euros. Also, the fun and lively area of the city, we’re 100s of excellent restaurants exist, is an inconvenient mile or so walk. There’s very little to do immediately near the hotel as it’s surrounded by busy streets and offices. Next visit we’ll find a hotel nearer the city center, even if we don’t get the Marriott reward credits.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice if you don't mind more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We used this as a stop over from Barcelona to Provence.
It was just what we needed. It was clean and the front desk was friendly.
FYI-There is no one really familiar with suggestions for restaurants or touring. It would be helpful if they had a concierge.
It is a good stop for on and off major highway but not to the historic part of the city. It is across the street from the street car, which is easy to follow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a very comfortable and clean and modern Marriott product. Clean safe area of the city with
all the amenities you expect from Marriott.
BUT...get he address right before you try and find it. The address that appears on google is not correct AND the hotel front desk is aware of this!

Room Tip: Make sure you have the right address BEFORE you start looking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I recently made a pair of one night stays here traveling to and from Barcelona. Both evenings were wonderful and the property is both flawlessly setting a very high standard on behalf of Courtyard (I'm a bit of a Marriott loyalist) and allowing for local touch, e.g. though the hotel restaurant is the "Crazy Olive" brand used at other Courtyards in Europe, there was an extensive, and very good, local menu. The (fairly new) property and facilities are immaculate, parking is easy, the rooms very comfortable and the property is easy walking distance to the Europlatz (sp?) and the associated dining. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.8 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
2.2 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#4 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Property: Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Address: 105 Place Georges Freche (Rue du Chelia), 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing