We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right by the Hotel de Ville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Right by the Hotel de Ville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We wanted to spend some time in Montpellier near the end of a long summer trip. The Courtyard was a fortunate choice. Parking was underground but convenient, and there are three tram lines right across the street that go almost everywhere in the city. Our room was on the ground floor, so we had a little patio - we were there over Bastille Day, so we sat out and watched the fireworks. Breakfasts were very good and the lounge bar is comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyomingCooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    174
    55
    26
    10
See reviews for
59
181
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I took a break with my wife, staying for three nights at the Marriott Courtyard Hotel, Montpellier. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the City but has the big advantage of being situated close to three tram lines. Very easy to get to from the Airport via airport bus to Place de Europe and then two stops on the blue tram line 1. Your stop is the Hotel de Ville, cost Euro 2.60 for a combined ticket.
The Hotel is modern with good sized rooms. We had a balcony looking on to a fairly quite square. Staff on the whole are attentive and the Restaurant serves fairly basic but well presented meals. In comparison with some parts of the City this is a quiet area but if you want night-life just take the tram into the Centre.
Breakfast was good though the cooked selection included rubbery omelettes and meat balls in tomato sauce that no one ate! However the cold buffet was very good with plenty of choice. Overall a good Hotel where you will get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shark127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Have used this hotel on a number of occasions for business and always delivers.
It's in a great spot in montpellier and can not be very old at all, still has a new feel to the hotel.
Rooms are pretty spacious with everything you need including free wifi
On my last trip the had even installed nespresso machines in my room which was a huge bonus.
Always have room service and the food is always good and delivered timely.

Use the underground car park too, it's very secure although a little expensive

Find the staff here friendly and eager to please
Keep up the good work guys...


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Checking out Montpellier enroute from Barcelona to Avignon, we were pleased to be able to check into a familiar Courtyard by Marriott. Situated off town centre, it was easily reached by one of the colourful trams that crisscross the city.
The efficient service and comfortable standards were as expected of this hotel chain with modern and well-appointed rooms.
We were especially pleased with the landscaped courtyard where we could sit for a while in the breeze on a sunny afternoon though it was too cold for a dip in the pool.
Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was a simple but adequate buffet.
What a lovely start to our sojourn in France.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylinSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

What a shame, what promises to be a good hotel in a good location is let down by what only can be a failure to manage the basics. People want to sleep in a hotel and unless you like the continuous noise of an ineffective air conditioning system and don't mind a decidedly warm room then don't stay here. After asking 3 times in two days there was no change or feedback from the management. Breakfast is poor and in a country that prides itself on its attitude to food they can't cook scrambled eggs, watch out for dirty cups and plates and also "old pastries". Would I stay again? No, you get the impression that this hotel is already on the slope towards mediocrity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice pool, okay location, clean, modern, very green (but most european hotels are) Only spent one night, but was a nice stop over between Nice and Barcelona.

Montpellier is a cute town.....I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling from the French Rivera to Barcelona, its a great place to stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for five nights starting on the 17th, we stayed in room 289. The hotel its self is clean tidy and very modern. We were checked in very quickly, the room is good and clean. The bathroom has a shower no bath but perfect for us. The room had a patio area which is good but could be more secluded from its neighbours n either side. The pool area is very small, the fitness is adequate.
The bar and restaurant are good, We ate twice in the restaurant, the food was okay overall the staff in particular Kevin were very good as our French is not good.The prices in the bar for anything other than a bottle of wine were expensive 7.50 for a beer!!!!

The hotel is out with the main centre of Montpellier but is a short distance to the tram stop and 400 /500 metres from a few restaurants.

My main problem with this hotel and my problem is with the management on a at the time of booking of this).
From around 4pm on the Saturday the services stopped plus you could not even sit by the pool as they were also using that area. I notice that there was not reduction in price to match the reduced services.
The wedding reception was right below our room and went on until 05.30am in the morning. Surely the management could have put guests not attending the wedding reception in rooms away from the events that way they would at least get some sleep.
At 01.15am we were awoken by the fire alarm, we got dresses and made out way to the nearest exit using the stairs. There were no staff on hand to tell guests what was happening. It ended with me banging on the reception desk to get the attention of a staff member who appeared to be entertaining in the staff office behind the checking desk. He said it was a false alarm and that a wedding reception guests had smoked in an area they were not supposed to(big surprise).
The most alarming thing about this is that its all hotels procedures to treat all fire alarms as real and evacuate until it is determined what has caused the alarm to sound. Clearly this is not the case in Montpellier.
I explained this to the lady when I checked out this morning 23rd September. I am a Marriott gold rewards member and expect a lot better than this.
NOT A HAPPY CAMPER

Room Tip: Check if they have any events on during any proposed stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.8 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
0.8 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Property: Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Address: 105 Place Georges Freche (Rue du Chelia), 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing