We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year later, another recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

So we spent a few days in the Courtyard last summer and liked it so much we decided to return for a full week this year. Not much has changed - the price is still excellent considering you get a conveniently located four star hotel. (The hotel is right next to the new city administration building in a completely overhauled part of Montpellier, and while it's not exactly in the city center, three tram lines stop right next to the hotel. - Look below for more information on how long it will take you to get everywhere.) We again liked the pool area the most - it's a fairly small pool but in a nicely decorated garden area. For the week, we had booked a superior room since regular rooms don't have a balcony. Now those balconies are actually overlooking the plaza in front of the administration building, which doesn't offer the best sights but at least is quite lively (please be aware that the balconies don't offer privacy shields towards each other, so while it was okay for us because we were mostly the only people out there, this may be a bit of a problem if the hotel is fully booked). Service again left nothing to be desired, the room was very clean and people were helpful. So once more, this won't be our last visit here. We've become quite fond of Montpellier and this hotel.

Some recommendations for your trip here:

- Getting here: We arrived by train (TGV) at the Gare Montpellier Saint-Roche. You can take the tram from there which takes you directly to the hotel (lines 1 or 3). Cab costs around 20€, depending on how many people you are (they surprisingly charge you for the amount of luggage).
- Shopping: Again, with the tram located next to the hotel, you can take line 1 in either direction to either get to the Odysseum (which is a new shopping and entertainment center with restaurants, shops like Guess, G Star, Levis, H&M and all the others, movie theaters and much more) or the Antigone (an older not very good looking mall with many of the same stores but in general a little less upscale ones).
- Nightlife/restaurants: A lot happens around the Place de la Comedie in the centre of the old town. Take line 1 to Comedie to get there. It's a big plaza with restaurants and bars all around (and in side streets and up and down the hill). Look out for the Les Estivales on Friday evenings/nights during summer. It's a sort of market with music and wine tastings (three glasses for 10€) directly next to the Place Comedie. Well, what else? There's a row of bars and restaurants down by the river (not far from the Place de l'Europe stop on the line 1 tram, or five minutes by foot from the hotel), where you'll also find the Australian bar (a hangout mostly for the many language students). And finally, though we never went there, there's two big clubs, the Milk and the Heaven maybe ten minutes from the hotel down on the other side of the river. The line 3 takes you in the approximate direction.
- Beaches: Though Montpellier is located a bit to the north of the sea, you can take line 3 to Perols (about half the trams on this line go there) and change to a free shuttle which will take you to the beaches of La Grande Motte (Grand Travers et al). Depending on your luck it might take you between 30 and 45 minutes to go there.

Room Tip: Superior room if you want a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jake_82ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It is clean, new, great staff and good location.

Pros-The staff was very friendly and helpful! It is located directly across the street from a Metro stop, you can go anywhere from the Metro stop; downtown, beach or rail station.

Cons-Wifi would log you out and the you could only have 3 devices logged into the Wifi

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lbohrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great hotel with modern, spacious and clean rooms. Nice pool and outside terrace. Very friendly and helpful staff. The city center can be easily reached by tram or a 30min stroll along the river. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norah_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here again for one night during the World Cup! My stay this time was even better than the last. I arrived late and enjoyed a simple and fast check in with a couple of lovely receptionists. Bought a club sandwich and bottle of water from the reception shop as a late dinner - and the sandwich was superb. A good nights sleep in this very quiet hotel, followed by an extremely good breakfast. Moight sound odd, but I judhe hotels mostly by the qualiuty of sleep and the breakfast, and on this occasion, I had a great night, and one of the best Breakfast's I have had in years!! A great hotel, HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard last week for 2 nights and can say it is about the best hotel we have stayed in.The rooms were very clean and smelt fresh, the bed was big and very comfy. In an ideal location for the Moulares tram stop and local restaurants and cafes.Breakfast was buffet style and the shower is amazing and easy to use. Would definately stay there again if we visit Montpellier again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but the hotel was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First time in Montpellier, needed a hotel with meeting facilities. Held business meetings and stayed at the hotel for a couple of days. The staff was friendly and the meeting facilities pretty much as expected. The hotel restaurant was both relatively reasonable and good.

As for the guest room, the "Courtyard Suite" on 2nd floor was spacious but the ceiling and wall in the bedroom had been damaged by water leakage so they looked quite tired. Power outlets not fixed in the wall. The bathroom and the toilet were separated where the latter had a wash basin but lacked towels. The surprisingly small bathroom was equipped with a quite narrow shower and the lights near the bathroom mirror were clearly insufficient. Low grade shower gel. Unstable wifi. Not perfect but OK.

Despite the staff doing their very best to help I can't help getting a feeling that something is missing. There is something odd with the hotel entrance located far from the street and lack of taxi queue. Also both the guest room bathroom and public toilets lack proper lighting.

Next time I would most likely try to stay closer to Place Comedie.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My in-laws, wife, two year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in June. The hotel is located across the street from a tram stop that will take you into the center of Montpellier (about a 10 minute ride) and to the train station. A cab from the airport will cost about 25 to 30 euros depending on the lugagge surcharges. However, it is only 4 miles away.

The cost of the rooms are reasonable. Our rooms had a balcony overlooking the square which was very nice. We found the air conditioning worked well in the rooms. However, it does not work the same as it does in the US. In the US, the air blows out like gale force winds, whereas, in Europe, the air slowly comes out. It takes a little time for the room to cool if you want it very cold.

As with most Courtyard hotels, we did not get a free breakfast or a room upgrade even though we are Platinum members. We think that Marriott should change this policy.

The pool is nice and they have many chairs and umbrellas around the pool to sit. My in-laws ate at the restaurant and said that the food was very good. The staff were very nice and answered any questions that we had.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.8 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Montpellier
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#35 of 93 in Montpellier
734 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Address: 105 Place Georges Freche, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing