We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money in Montpellier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Nice hotel with decent pool. Although the language barrier in France (with English) will always be an issue, the staff did their best. They could have some drinks-service at the pool. The only thing that bothered me is that I specifically asked the hotel not to change my credit card (which they did). So rather provide them with a cash deposit. (less hassle later)

Room Tip: 1. There is free ice in the the tuck shop next to the check-in 2. There is a bike station very clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacoduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe G, Directeur général at Courtyard Marriott Montpellier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Jacoduple,
Thank you for your precious comments. Although you have enjoyed your stay, you seemed to be not satisfied with a credit card issue and I therefore apologize for this.I have forwarded your concern to the front desk team. We very much appreciate such constructive criticism, as it enables us to make improvements and to provide the high standards of service which our guests expect from us. Thank you again for your contact and for the time you have taken to inform us your experience.
I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future should you travel bring you back to Montpellier again.
ChristopheG, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Check in process was efficient and friendly. Room was clean, but could hear every noise made outside the room/hotel... every car that was passing nearby, as well as the guests who stayed at the adjacent room... had to call the front desk twice between 2:00 and 3:00 in the morning, to ask that they ensure the guests stop making noise.

Slept very little that night.

Room Tip: If you do find yourself at this hotel, DO NOT agree to staying in room 293 or any of the adjacent ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EGMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I am elite member but they refused to give me a any benefits at all - they do not have a concierge service so I was expecting a restaurant breakfast credit as is the norm at other places. The person at the reception showed me a paper with 'elite benefits' in the morning and when I asked her to provide them to us (it referred to free wine from the Market store) she balked and said it was only for platinum not gold. However the paper did not mention any difference between the two. She was uninterested in explaining that point to me when I questioned it. Overall, I felt insulted and did not enjoy the experience. I will not be coming here or recommending this hotel to anyone.

The restaurant serves great food so I would like to mention that we enjoyed our lunch there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel matches its online pictures. Clean, modern rooms with a nice pool area to cool off at. Located slightly out of the centre but just across the road from the frequent tram service (3 of 4 lines stop nearby)which doesn't take long to get to the centre. Also close to the TAM bike hire station so you can also easily cycle to the centre. There are also some nice restaurants nearby at Bassin Jacques Coeur. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vrabbit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We went to Montpellier to meet up with our daughter who was studying in France. We had an excellent experience here. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. It was convenient to the train and some cafés. There is a very good restaurant near the lobby as well. We stayed here for 1 week and would highly recommend. Enjoyed Montpellier as well. Wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: This hotel is in a commercial/residential area so the views are nothing to write home about but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel. Good location across the street from the tram to City Center, across the river from terrific restaurants (AOC is a three minute walk). Exceptionally clean rooms and hotel grounds at a fair price. Good pool, bar, restaurant and atentive staff that will not disappoiint you.

Room Tip: Ask for river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TJ90803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

So we spent a few days in the Courtyard last summer and liked it so much we decided to return for a full week this year. Not much has changed - the price is still excellent considering you get a conveniently located four star hotel. (The hotel is right next to the new city administration building in a completely overhauled part of Montpellier, and while it's not exactly in the city center, three tram lines stop right next to the hotel. - Look below for more information on how long it will take you to get everywhere.) We again liked the pool area the most - it's a fairly small pool but in a nicely decorated garden area. For the week, we had booked a superior room since regular rooms don't have a balcony. Now those balconies are actually overlooking the plaza in front of the administration building, which doesn't offer the best sights but at least is quite lively (please be aware that the balconies don't offer privacy shields towards each other, so while it was okay for us because we were mostly the only people out there, this may be a bit of a problem if the hotel is fully booked). Service again left nothing to be desired, the room was very clean and people were helpful. So once more, this won't be our last visit here. We've become quite fond of Montpellier and this hotel.

Some recommendations for your trip here:

- Getting here: We arrived by train (TGV) at the Gare Montpellier Saint-Roche. You can take the tram from there which takes you directly to the hotel (lines 1 or 3). Cab costs around 20€, depending on how many people you are (they surprisingly charge you for the amount of luggage).
- Shopping: Again, with the tram located next to the hotel, you can take line 1 in either direction to either get to the Odysseum (which is a new shopping and entertainment center with restaurants, shops like Guess, G Star, Levis, H&M and all the others, movie theaters and much more) or the Antigone (an older not very good looking mall with many of the same stores but in general a little less upscale ones).
- Nightlife/restaurants: A lot happens around the Place de la Comedie in the centre of the old town. Take line 1 to Comedie to get there. It's a big plaza with restaurants and bars all around (and in side streets and up and down the hill). Look out for the Les Estivales on Friday evenings/nights during summer. It's a sort of market with music and wine tastings (three glasses for 10€) directly next to the Place Comedie. Well, what else? There's a row of bars and restaurants down by the river (not far from the Place de l'Europe stop on the line 1 tram, or five minutes by foot from the hotel), where you'll also find the Australian bar (a hangout mostly for the many language students). And finally, though we never went there, there's two big clubs, the Milk and the Heaven maybe ten minutes from the hotel down on the other side of the river. The line 3 takes you in the approximate direction.
- Beaches: Though Montpellier is located a bit to the north of the sea, you can take line 3 to Perols (about half the trams on this line go there) and change to a free shuttle which will take you to the beaches of La Grande Motte (Grand Travers et al). Depending on your luck it might take you between 30 and 45 minutes to go there.

Room Tip: Superior room if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jake_82ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.8 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Montpellier
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#38 of 93 in Montpellier
744 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Marriott Montpellier

Address: 105 Place Georges Freche, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £84 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing