We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre
Ranked #82 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
alicante, spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Accommodation in Montpellier doesn't seem to be cheap- except, possibly, for this place. It won't ever be the best hotel you've stayed in, but for the price it is more than decent. Fittings are old, maybe a little shabby, but the place is clean and well cared for. Anyone who stayed in inexpensive hotels in France in the 80s will immediately recognise the smell of an old family-run hotel, and will know what to expect: not too much but a clean room and a decent night's sleep. Helpful staff, and the location is great, very central (they also have a deal with a central car park which will save you money). For the price here, you probably won't do better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grooverjlazerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    17
    19
    25
See reviews for
4
19
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

i stayed twice at this hotel....its location halfway between the train station and the big downtown Place is convenient....the management was friendly .... the room was a good deal for the low price and it has the Amazing Talking Elevator that is slow but very polite...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howlinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la france
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

We chose the hotel mainly because of the location, being half way down the street between the train station and place de la comedie and just a stone's throw from the old town.
The room for 3 people was clean and fairly quiet, facing a courtyard rather than the busy street, and although the decor was a little bit tired there was a plush flat screen TV hanging on the wall and the bathroom had been recently done, perhaps they were refurbishing in baby steps...
The reception staff were fine and allowed us to leave our luggage with them for the morning after we'd checked out, although it was in an unlocked room it was better than nothing!
Overall it wasn't The Ritz but for 75 eur between three of us per night it suited our purpose - somewhere central to sleep while we explored the city for the weekend!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vachementclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We spent a while trying to find a room before stumbling on the d'Angleterre. They had a very cheap room (<€50) with shared toilet, and as we needed to save money, we took it.

The hotel is well located near the Place du Comedie in central Montpellier. It was nice to be in the centre of everything. We had a room on the top floor and at the back of the hotel, so noise was not a problem, though it may be worse at the front.

The bedding seemed to be clean, but the room was bordering on disgusting. Stained wallpaper was peeling from the walls, and the laminate flooring was also stained and was separating. Skirting was either missing or separated from the wall. We are used to basic rooms but this one was depressing to stay in.

Staff were helpful. Free Wifi is included, though the speeds we got were reminiscent of dial-up.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

The Angleterre listing in our Let's Go fitted our requirements by being near the railway, in the centre of things and at the right price. It also had a vacancy (which was a plus) when we walked up so we took a room for two nights.

The room was very large when compared with many French hotels, it was clean and comfortable and its position just off the Place de la Comedie with its great outdoor bars and eateries and lots of street entertainment was ideal. To us those things are what we want in a hotel. (we are an Aussie couple in our late 50s.

The vieille ville (old town) is just up the road and has some great restaurants.

The only down side to the Angleterre was its breakfast, which we wouldn't normally take in a hotel, but as it was raining cats and dogs on the first morning we decided to try, but it wasn't very good so the next day we ate breakfast at a cafe nearby.

  • Liked — Handy position to everything
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

We only stayed in this hotel out of desperation -- we arrived a day early and could not find anywhere else. It was a low point of our trip. The room was awful, small, light came in from around the door frame. Bath had a hand held shower that barely provided a trickle of water. The staff were dismissive. The only positive is that it only cost 50 EU for the night, but we were glad to leave. They did put us on the 'quiet' side, which meant an inner view of a wall, but that was better than the street. Only stay here if you are stuck!

  • Liked — Cheap!
  • Disliked — small dingy room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QCTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

Old, cheap hotel that is centrally located in Montpellier. It is definitely a budget experience, but why would you want to spend a lot of time in your room anyway? The staff isn't friendly in an American sense, but when in France. Avoid leaving your luggage in the hotel's storage area, they don't keep the room locked and any other traveler can walk out with as many suitcases as they want, sort of an honor system. The room was very clean, the window was not on the main road so it was quiet. There is no AC, but Montpellier usually has cool nights so we just left the window open. For 50 euros or about $70 it can't be beat. If you can, ask for a room that doesn't face the main road, it makes a big difference.

  • Liked — Location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No safe storage area for luggage, indifferent staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DcNewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel De La Comedie
#35 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Hotel de Paris
#68 of 93 in Montpellier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Nova Hotel
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Property: Hotel d'Angleterre
Address: 7 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Comédie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing