We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a road trip. Its central location was excellent, just minutes walk from Place de la Comedie. Finding the hotel and parking can be a problem. We accidentally ended up parking under Place de la Comedie, which turned out to be the recommended car park for the hotel, as they offer a discount on the charges. On arrival the staff were helpful and friendly. The room offered more space than we had expected, but unfortunately it was very dated. The decor was tired and spacious could actually be better explained as just plain bare! The bathroom had just stepped straight out of the seventies and did not even have a shower. I also found a previous guests hair balls all over the toilet floor which was off putting to say the least. The air conditioning unit in the room was effective but very noisy, a definite down side in the summer! Overall we got what we paid for. A cheap hotel in a very good central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Milburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    151
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
41
145
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is yet another typical French hotel, in a very old building, which has been renovated inside countless times. It does provide a little more space than average in the rooms. Front desk staff is courteous and helpful. There is an optional breakfast which we did not try. But the strong point about this hotel is its location, within steps of the train station and the Place de La Comedie, and literally in front of a tram stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is just a 2 minute comfortable walk from the Place de la Comedie so the location is great. We took a taxi from the airport which cost around 25 euros. The room was a good size, very clean sheets, a little sparse (no mini bar) but good TV and more importantly for us - free wi-fi throughout the hotel, a great little extra. Had breakfast at hotel on the first morning for 8 euros per person. A good breakfast. Lots of choice of bakery, mixed fruit, good coffee, fresh ham, some spreadable cheese and also yoghurt. It was all help-yourself. No staff around except to clear some tables. Very relaxed. Check in was quick and efficient. The stair carpet up to the rooms is tired but it didn't effect our enjoyment of the 2 night break. For location it can't really be beaten. Friendly staff. Pretty good breakfast. Free wi-fi. Clean rooms. Fresh white sheets and comfy pillows. Quiet at night and good AC (it was 30 degrees during the day). Couldn't really find fault. Its not posh but its functionable and clean. Would definitely go again as paid around 190 euros for 2 nights with breakfast on 1st day for 2. Not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Montpellier is a lovely town, a visit worth. Its XVII and XVIII century beautiful buildings need urgent attention from the city hall, maybe a general restoration plan. Hotel Royal could be included. Nice eclectic building, poorly and cheap restored in the interior. We had a superior double room, which was very dirty. The gentle lady in the front desk ordered a second cleaning and we were very grateful for it. Beds were big and comfortable. Central location, close from the Comedy square. Lot of restaurants and bars around.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
866 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just a great stop-over. Much better than some four and even five star places I've been at recently. There was an issue with my AC the first evening and I was given keys to a new room before I even had my bags packed. Rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. Staff is attentive and the location is midway from the rail station to the central plaza. I would definitely recommend and will return some day in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. They are much quieter. Also remember to ask for a shower (if you want on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent last weekend in Montpellier for a friends wedding. Magnificent town and our hotel was a five minute walk to the church in one direction and a five minute walk to the main square in the other direction. It was very central but not at all noisy. The service was excellent, the room was clean and comfortable, WiFi was included as well as a parking discount in the local underground car park. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that faces onto the back street, you get a lovely view of the old buildings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a pleasant hotel in an excellent location with multi-lingual staff. It has both smoking and non-smoking floors. The rooms are adequate, clean, and quiet IF you ask for and receive a quiet room. We were on the 2d floor ( non-smoking ) in a room with windows onto a side street, and it was very quiet with the windows closed. Our bathroom was newly redecorated with modern fittings, a handheld European style shower and a nice bath. The breakfast is adequate, not hot or fancy, but with local pastries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, milk, and an excellent coffee machine. The staff are friendly and accommodating, some of the nicest I've ever dealt with, as we needed to use the lounge for business meetings and interviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room WHEN YOU BOOK. The hotel has both interior and exterior quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conjurwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing