We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refresh!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Truro
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In need of a refresh!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Location was excellent - in the heart of the city and near the rail station. Staff were friendly. The main let down was the hotel was in need in of a refresh. The carpets in the corridors and stairs are in urgent need of replacing, they were both dirty and worn. Our room was comfortable enough but had a stale smell of damp to it coming from the bathroom. Our room was also not as clean as most hotels we have stayed in during this trip to France. Appeared as though it had just had a quick wipe around rather than a proper job done - didn't help my opinion of the housekeeping at the hotel when we left our room to leave there were 3 chambermaids sitting in the room opposite on the bed watching the television!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyhound21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir Madam, Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    157
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
44
149
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for only 1 night in March on the start of a vacation in Provence. Had a courtyard room on the first floor. Very very quiet. Room decor was a bit dated, but the room was very clean, bed linens were crisp, and the bed very comfortable. Excellent location just 2 blocks from the train station and 2 blocks to Place Comedie. Tram service right outside the hotel door. Did not partake of the breakfast so cannot comment on it.

Staff were very friendly. Checkin/out fast and efficient.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you. Thank you very much for your nice comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After we spent a worse night at another hotel we felt very happy to find such a nice hotel for a good price. The location is perfect. We parked our car at Odysseum Park and Ride for 24hrs for only EUR 4,40 and the tram stop was just a two min. walk away. We had a room with view to the yard. We heard no tram the night was very silent. The bathroom and tub was big.
The receptionist was very nice, we felt very well treated.
All in all I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: room to the yard, not close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. You did right to park your car outside the city center, is cheaper and much more convenient. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise while in Montpellier! Very clean. Near the train station and also near the Place du Comedie where there are lots of restaurants. Linda and Isabella at the front desk were amazing and were very informative on where to go. Thank you for a nice clean stay!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the courtyard and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethie643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are happy you had a good time in Montpellier and look forward to see you again. Thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

In Sept. of 2013 we stayed for one night at the Royal Hotel in Montpellier, France. We were finishing up a canal boating trip and were planning to fly out the next morning. The hotel was just two or three blocks from the train station where we arrived. It was also just a couple of blocks from the Place du Comedie - the large square in Montpellier with shops and restaurants. There's a tram stop right by the hotel, although we didn't take the tram. They had a nice breakfast in the morning that we enjoyed. I was having trouble printing my flight boarding pass and the woman at the front desk was extremely helpful, even giving me her personal email address so she could try to print it out. There are many museums, stores and restaurants just blocks away from the Royal. The room was very modern, nicely decorated and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmtp, Responsable réception at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Google Translation
Merci de votre fidélité, une bonne année à vous et à très bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Room was quite spacious and adequate in all regards. There is a machine in the hallway of the hotel which dispenses free carbonated water. Hotels are expensive in this part of France, so I suppose I can't complain too much about the cost of this one, but if I have to stay in Montpellier again I may try one of two somewhat less costly options which I noticed near this hotel. Montpellier itself didn't impress me at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturalnature9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I have enjoyed 3 days at the Royal Hotel. It is excellent for a 3 star. Two lovely ladies at reception who spoke better English than my French! Close to the large Comedie Square, good starting point for a walking city. My room and bathroom were very clean. My room (110) was a little noisy so ask for other side if that is a concern. I would recommend to friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybytheSea6280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
828 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,238 reviews
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#8 of 93 in Montpellier
78 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#12 of 93 in Montpellier
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 8 rue Maguelone, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing