We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good access to centre ville via Tramway; but poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Demeure des Brousses
Ranked #35 of 45 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2013

You get what you pay for. Plumbing is poor, WIFI almost non-existent. Management could be better. Earlier reviews mentioned lack of soap. Correct statement would be no BAR soap for shower/bath and tiny soap for sink.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lg87122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We always stay here when we come to Montpellier. The old house has a very authentic faded charm, and the small staff are always welcoming. The setting, in an overgrown garden next to the vast shopping center of Odysseum, is rather surreal. But there's a terrace for lounging, and for outdoor breakfasts. This hotel has infinitely more character than the standard "international" hotels around Montpellier, but not everything is perfect - missing light bulbs, missing bath plugs and so on are to be expected. But (if you can find it) definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This lovely old mansion (with history of its own) was admittedly difficult to find. We drove around in circles around the same 500m radius about 5 times before getting to the correct exit on the roundabout. (The turning just before the large car park, if I remember correctly) It was a bit of a mistake to go at night!

Despite it being difficult to find, and relatively far away from other places of interest, it was right off the highway so that kind of saved time.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite our lack of French, they tried their best to direct us to the hotel. Also, we wanted to check out early in the morning (7am) and they actually woke up to attend to us in the morning. This was in spite of their normal 10am (earliest) checkout!

The decor was remiscent of the 1700s or 1800s (I'm just guessing) and so pretty! The moment we drove through those gates and saw the garden and the house looking at us, I felt like I'd been swept to the past, to a whole new world. Awesome feeling. The walkway to the rooms was very narrow, and this added to the old-world atmosphere. Rooms were not very large but more than adequate, and decorated as prettily as the lobby. The toilet, though, was tiled and a bit small and not as nice the rest of the room. Outside was a lovely garden with trees and another small building which looked like a dining room.

Although it may look like a an old house, it had wifi upstairs and downstairs. Our room was right at the end, though, so the connection there wasn't so good. There were 2 heaters, one in the room and one in the toilet.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves authentically old places, and would like a comfortable and charming stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Demeure is a jewel in the hectic city of Montpellier, close to the Odyssum, close to the highways, and about 10 minutes to the city center. People like me who love the old charming french type of Hotel will find the right spot.
Breakfast is great, rooms are spacious but not the latest technologies used. After all this place is to be recommended, parking close by...calm and nice

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lutz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here for a night in November, 2011.

I was drawn to this Hotel by a picture on the web which turned out to be a misleading image.

While the staff was certainly pleasant the Hotel is in a run down location next to a school and shopping complex. Although November, the exterior gardens seemed unkempt. The interior of the hotel plus the room/bathroom was quite "worn/run down".

Assume this used to be a gracious Hotel in a good location but all about this hotel speaks of "decline".

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foisgras11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stay in this hotel Montpelier in passed August. From the beginning we feel like we are home. Hotel staff was friendly and always helpful. All rooms are big and individual decorated, air-conditioning , big windows, free parking and WiFi , large bed and nice cosy bathroom. Well to find this hotel was not easy and you need some navigation tool to find it, but as soon as you get into the hotel property you are like in magic quite garden not far from motorway and commercial area. Regarding commercial area, is fantastic thing. All kind of stores you can find there and direct tramway to city center. If you will stay in Demeure des Brousses, you wont regret.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Just back from three nights at this hotel. Currently no restaurant so need to either walk to the shopping complex or drive. At one stage this would have been a beautiful venue, however the Hotel is next to the Lycee (high school, and a 10 minute walk from the Odysseum - which is simply a shopping mall, with cinema and other leisure facilities. with fast food style outlets. The rooms are quaint, and have old world charm, but whilst the service is friendly and efficient, the hotel lacks atmosphere.

Ten minute stroll to the Tram which takes you into Montpellier, 2euro 50 - return - However harrassed by Romanian Refuges - beginning both on the platform and on the Tram - they offer to assist then request money. This didnt encourage the walk from the hotel back into Montpellier at night, as operate in gangs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veeSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
1.5 mi away
Halt Hotel
Halt Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lattes
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
483 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Montpellier sud Lattes
5.4 mi away
Domaine de Biar
Domaine de Biar
#1 of 3 in Laverune
127 reviews
9.3 mi away
Le Domaine du Golf - Fabregues
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demeure des Brousses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeure des Brousses

Address: 538 rue du Mas de Brousse, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier > Port Marianne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range: £65 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Demeure des Brousses 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovers of tradition and authenticity will derive great pleasure from their stay in this 18th century country house located in a quiet, shaded park. The building that stands proudly in the heart of this listed area covering several hectares with ancient trees was turned in 1968 into a delightful hotel. The rooms furnished in traditional style ensure that the style is maintained enabling guests to have a relaxing stay before discovering Montpelier's inexhaustible historical heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Demeure des Brousses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demeure Des Brousses Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing