We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reward at end of long mountain bike ride”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great reward at end of long mountain bike ride”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

What a great hotel!
We arrived from airport with bikes in travel cases and were welcomed with a smile and beer as we assembled bikes on patio.
We left the cases in the basement and set off for St Flour. We returned after a 5 day mountain bike ride through the Massif Central to be greased with more smiles (and beer) and a fantastic and much needed shower. John then found and booked us a restaurant in the city.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent and good value, especially if you ate as much as we did. If you are a cyclist you need look no further than Hotel du Parc!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    119
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
181
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of its TripAdvisor status and we were not disappointed. Very friendly owner and staff. Thanks to Thérèse for her restaurant tips – we are glad to have acted on them, also to Françoise for recommending Les Vignes where we had lunch on first day.
Enjoyed starting the day in the lovely breakfast room. Nice selection of teas, good bread and pastries. Loved the fresh strawberries (in season).
Another plus for us, arriving by car, was being able to park in the courtyard and then exploring Montpellier on foot and by tram.
In short, we felt at home during our 2-day stay in Montpellier and highly recommend the hotel to those who prefer more cosy surroundings and personal service than just going to a chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UB40Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

In France, the number of stars assigned to a hotel is based on the facilities of the hotel. The Hotel du Parc does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner, therefore, it can only be assigned a maximum of 2 stars. But, don't let this fool you - this is a 2 star hotel that is about as close to perfect as you can get, and there are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.

The hotel is a large mansion house in a quiet residential neighborhood that has been fully renovated and modernized. There are about 20 guest rooms, all non-smoking. Parking and Wi-Fi are both free. Room prices are surprisingly low.

All the staff speak English well, and everyone is extraordinarily helpful, welcoming, and courteous. The staff know the city well and are happy to help you plan your explorations, recommend restaurants, provide routing guidance, etc.

In summary, it is a 2 star hotel that is operated as if it was a 5 star property. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so, if you don't like the room you are assigned, just ask to see anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Parc in April and found it delightful. We stayed for one night and returned later in the week for three nights. Each of our rooms was different but charming, clean, and had everything we needed. The bathroom in the first room was tiny but our room on the ground floor (Room 2 I think) had a modern spacious bathroom. Staff provided corkscrews, cutlery, whatever we needed. We were given good directions for anywhere we wanted to go, including recommendations on where to eat and how to get to the riverside trail to run.

We eat a light breakfast and chose not to eat at the hotel. There is a lovely cafe quite close to the hotel where we fetched coffee and pastries, and which also sold light lunch fare to take out.

It's easy to get to major tourist destinations from here either by walking or by the excellent transit system.

Reasonably priced and good value - I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I'll make this one short. Room was lovely, breakfast was a total rip off at 10 euro each. Terrible value, go eat at one of the many local cafes.

They came in to our room and rearranged things every time we went out - this meant 3 times in one day. Maybe this is considered normal but from my (Australian) perspective it is a bit invasive.

In conclusion, worth the price for the room, not for breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissacunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francoise_h34, Gérant at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Not invasive, just trying to do our best...
Thank you for taking some time to send us your comments. And thanks for your note on our lovely room.
However, I think there was some misunderstanding :
First, every day the maid came in your room to do her job.
Second, to do her job correctly, and to avoid to fail, once she moved your luggage which was in the centre of the room. And did not put it back… where it was...
Third, when I got in your room, as I do every day to control the job of the maid, I discovered a clothesline with wet T-shirts, strung between the door and curtain rods, like in a youth hostel. To be nice to you, I just took the wet T-shirts to the garden so they could dry quickly, and then, folded them back in your room.
We regret that you saw some bad intentions in that. We were not invasive, but just wished to be nice to you.
For breakfast, we offer a continental breakfast "classic and complete" that most of our guests enjoy but it did not fit your expectations. We're sorry about that.
Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed your trip to France and Montpellier.
Françoise - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Small scale old style hotel within a walking distance from the historic city, the Corum congress center and the tramway line. Reasonable prices compared to other hotels. Helpful and smily staff. If you travel in a busy period, make reservations in advance.

Room Tip: A bunch of small restaurants around the corner if you want a quick snack
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

For the second time we stayed recently in the hotel du Parc and once again we were not disappointed. The staff is extremely helpful, the place is beautiful with nicely decorated rooms just a few minutes walking distance from the old centre. Our room was very spacious and clean, parking is possible just in front of the hotel and there is free wifi available. . The very good breakfast in the morning is certainly an excellent way to start the day. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Marcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#3 of 93 in Montpellier
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: 8 rue Achille Bege, 34090, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montpellier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#4 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Parc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Hotel in an 18th century Languedocian residence, near Historic Centre, with 19 air-conditioned rooms, free parking, free Wi-Fi, terrace, tramway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing