We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hidden gem just outside old city, close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem just outside old city, close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

A bit outside of the central ring, but a quick and easy walk makes this a great hotel. Spent one night ... charming residence with private parking (key in a city). Room was large and clean, and a nice bathroom .... compact but very clean. Breakfast downstairs was quite nice and had most everything you would ask for. Free wifi, although connections were a little iffy, but this was similar to other hotels using free-hotspot.com. Just had to reconnect a few times, but nice to have it in the room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelduParc, Manager at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Thank you for your nice review.
You"ll be happy to learn that we just changed our Wifi. The old one wasn't perfect.
We tried this new one, and it seems to be fine.
Francoise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    115
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
174
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Having searched TA for a hotel in Montpellier we chose this on the basis of reviews that described it as near the centre but in a quiet location. The good points were that it is relatively near the town centre - a ten minute walk to good restaurants and Comedie. Our room was good quality (room 9) with decent beds, storage and bathroom. Breakfast was cheerfully served and was the normal standard we eexpcted for a non-chain French hotel. For us it certainly beat walking to the nearest cafe.
The not so good points are that the location in on a cross road with one road being a main route into Montpellier. The traffic noise was always there even in the middle of the night and it distrurbed our sleep. OK - we sleep with the windows open but we left them closed one night and woke up with headaches due to stuffiness. The location is in a residential area that suffers the Montpellier malaise of dog mess, uncollected rubbish and junk. This makes it a not very nice place to walk. Like another reviewere we are not keen on hotels refilling jars since there is clearly a hygiene issue both from the hotel and other guests.
We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking surrey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed at the charming Hotel du Parc with 5 girlfriends for our annual 'French Weekend' we found it typically French very charming and in a good location for sightseeing,the area was more residential than town centre and felt safe.The lovely staff gave us great restaurant suggestions and booked the tables - nothing was too much trouble - would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel - good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Booked this hotel on the basis of the TA ratings (other than the last one!). It lived up to the high scores and reviews on here. Immaculately clean, courteous(English speaking) staff and a comfortable quiet room. The tram taking you to Comedie is 3 mins walk away and its then another 3 minutes on the tram. We did not take breakfast at the hotel as a better option is to go out to local cafes and patisseries. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grastejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

I booked the du Parc after much searching and finally in large part because of the reviews within T/A. I have never encountered reviews to be for me so far off the mark.

First of all, I found the accommodations to be far below than expected for the lofty (95 Euro) rate. The room my friend and were showed was about as rustic as a cabin with under-sized, thin beds and furniture that appeared to have been made in a garage workshop. The lighting was very poor and the room was tiny even by European standards. It also left me cold staying in a room that needed bars on the front door. I had thought that location might be the answer but given that it was quite a walk to the Comedie from the hotel and the surrounding area seedy, I'm left wondering how they can get away with these rates for such lousy accommodations.

The free parking advertised was a plus for Southern France but we soon found out why - it was nothing more than a small courtyard in front of the hotel (un guarded) where all the cars of guests were crammed together. Keys were not left at the front desk (which closed at 8 p.m.!), so if you had to leave in a hurry, you were our of luck.

The 'free' Wi-Fi was anything but. In reality, it was a French national service that the hotel notified us about when we checked in. After registration, a pop-up page appeared every 15 minutes requiring one to view the ads for a minute before continuing. It was also very slow as to be almost unusable.

Another lowlight - breakfast was no more than average but also frightening in this day of H1N1. Along with our skimpy side of bread, we were handed individual jars of jam that had previously been opened and then topped up by the hotel. I'm not normally picky about hygiene but I found that I couldn't indulge.

This hotel was one of many my friend and I stayed in as part of a six-week trip in Southern France from the Tarn to Nice - all in a similar price range. We both found the Hotel Du Parc hands down to be the worst of those we encountered. We had originally booked for five nights but checked out after one.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoFranceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelduParc, Manager at Hotel du Parc, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Google Translation
It was a very bad day for us. We tried our best, but everything went wrong to your eyes. We were not just good enough, we are really sorry about that.
One mistake : Wi-Fi is not a French national service, but a correct point : our Wifi was bad; so we changed it.
Cela fut une très mauvaise journée pour nous. Nous avons essayé de notre mieux, mais rien n'allait à vos yeux. Nous n'avons pas été assez bons et nous en sommes vraiment désolé.
Une erreur : le Wi-Fi n'est pas un service national français, mais un point exact : notre Wifi était mauvais; nous l'avons donc changé.
Francoise (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

This is a 2 star hotel, which meant that we expected the rooms and bathrooms to be small. They were, but it did not detract from our overall pleasure in staying at the hotel.

Having read the comments on Trip Advisor of the difficulty of finding the hotel, we were careful to follow the website directions closely and arrived without a problem. (The one way system in Montpellier is fiendish). The hotel was busy, so there wasn't much room in the hotel's parking area for parking an estate car. It was not difficult finding a parking place on the street outside the hotel and it is possible to buy a parking ticket to put on the car in the evening to cover the next morning - the ticket machine allows you to pay from 8.00am the following day and it's not expensive

We were welcomed by a charming man - in fact all of the staff were extemely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our rooms were comfortable and cool in the hot weather and with the shutters closed at night, we were in complete darkness. We all slept very well indeed.The location of the hotel meant that it was also totally quiet at night time.

Breakfast on the terrace outside our room was good - again, two star standard as was to be expected (cold croissants and pain au chocolat) but I did not begrudge the E10 cost in consequence. Had we minded about this, we could have paid less but had the inconvenience of going to one of the nearby cafes.

The only real minus about the hotel was the size of the showers - they are tiny and don't have a door, just a curtain, which I don't like. They could be described as just adequate and no more. 5 minutes of minor discomfort a day is not a big deal though and it wouldn't stop me from going back to the hotel. It is great value for money, is close to the centre and has the big plus of the helpful staff.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaT247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
549 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Hard to find (follow directions on the web site for best outcome) but hidden gem describes this place! All of the staff are friendly and very knowledgeable. The rooms are clean and tidy (and air conditioned which was great for Montpellier's summer heat) and the place is centrally located (you can pretty much walk anywhere you want to). Breakfast is great and the little breakfast terrace we enjoyed was novel. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Eurociel Centre
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
2.4 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#9 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Property: Hotel du Parc
Address: 8 rue Achille Bege, 34090, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montpellier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#4 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Parc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Hotel in an 18th century Languedocian residence, near Historic Centre, with 19 air-conditioned rooms, free parking, free Wi-Fi, terrace, tramway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing