We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, lovely rooms, delicous breakfast, close to everything”
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel du Parc on two occasions; one in the summer, one in the winter. Both times I experienced the same warmth.
The staff is unbelievably amazing. John helped me book restaurants and find something "correct" cuisine-wise; no tourist traps here.
On my second trip, I met Therese, who is so friendly and helpful; everything from small talk to letting me print my emergency train ticket at the reception desk.
The breakfast is 10 euro, which may be a bit much, but for those who want a relaxed start to the day and plenty to eat, it's a good option. Tea, coffee, or hot chocolate (a huge selection of teas), yogurts, cereals and bio (organic) museli, delicious dried fruits, fresh fruit, and a basket full of breads and pastries (my favorite is definitely the chausson aux pommes, a sort of applesauce-filled buttery pastry).
The rooms are all wonderful and bright, and each have their own unique decoration, which we found really original and beautiful. Each room has a minifridge and ample space, along with super comfy beds and soooooft pillows.
The hotel is just off the city center, a 5-minute stroll from the city center and the closest tram stop, which will whisk you to La Comedie, the main square in Montpellier, in a matter of minutes. It is a beautiful walk to Saint-Pierre, the cathedral, and winding through the streets of the center city. The beautiful and peaceful Jardin des Plantes is just up the large street skirting the center city, as is the Parc du Peyrou, which is great for people-watching.
This is such a wonderful place to stay, and along with its beautiful rooms, it really is the staff who make it so wonderful. A stay here is a must in Montpellier.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Parc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

Our first contact with the hotel was ringing up to say we would be quite late., looking for directions off the motorway, and then arriving to find all the car spaces on the street nearby taken. The owner patiently guided us in to the small car park in the hotel itself, no mean feat but he could tell we were at the stage of needing food, drink and rest.He then gave us a map with good restaurant recommendations. So at 11pm we hit the city and found one of the restaurants he had told us about and sat outside enjoying the balmy evening. The room on the second floor overlooking the garden and wall mural was perfect, and cool on a very hot evening. Next day the breakfast was really nice and we sat outside in the small courtyard. The woman ofthe house was equally welcoming. It was a ten minute walk to the city centre. Some people might like to be in the heart of the city, but we found it relaxing to come back to the hotel itself. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you want old fashioned charm and an authentic 'villa in a city' experience

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitty186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The hotel is not on the city center but quite close. It is in a calm area and you can get to the center in 10 minutes walking. The room was perfect size (not big, not small) and well furnished, although some devices (like the hair dryer) were broken. The breakfast was simple but good, served in a small and nice terrace. The parking for cars was a bit small but at least we could park the car every day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sajx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I wrote to the hotel asking for a room and a car park. They accepted the booking and said they had free on site car parking.

When we arrived on 5 June it transpired that there was a street party and the police had closed off all the streets around the hotel. After spending over an hour searching for an alternative, we were unable to get to the hotel so rang the proprietor. He advised asking police to open the blockade or parking nearby and walking.

The police refused to let us through, and with the street party we could find no parking available within a kilometre. We therefore stayed at a more expensive hotel and informed the proprietor. He was quite abrupt and claimed that guaranteed parking was not part of the arrangement (contrary to all the documentation) so he would be charging my credit card as a "no show".

In spite of having not provided the agreed service and not been authorised to do so, the Hotel Du Parc has fraudulently charged my credit card, so now I need to get Visa to reverse the charge. This is not the sort of service I have ever received from a hotel before.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NZUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelduParc, Manager at Hotel du Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2010

Just mistakes, which we regret...
Dear Sir,
We would like to apologize to you. We made at least two mistakes. First, when
you asked the 8th of January for a reservation with car park for the night of
June 5th, the hotel knew that there would be a street party on that day. We
should have told you about it and given you the telephone number of another
hotel. But the person who took your booking did not think about the event 5
months in advance. That was our first mistake.
Secondly, when you arrived in Montpellier and could not get to our hotel, the
person you had on the phone should have helped you by explaining how to get to a
carpark near the hotel, instead of leaving you alone in an unknown town,
especially one as difficult to drive in as Montpellier. That was our second
mistake.
I charged your credit card, but not fraudulently, because, like most hotels in
the world, our cancellation policy is as follows: "if notified before noon the
day prior to your expected date of arrival, cancellation may be made without
penalty. Otherwise, the equivalent of one night's stay per room may be charged."
One important point: nowhere in our documentation is the word "guaranteed"
parking used, only the words "free" parking. Even "guaranteed", when the police
refused to let you through, there was nothing we could do about it, except offer
to pay your parking in a nearby street parking place or a nearby public carpark,
do you not agree?
Of course, we regret all this. They are our mistakes, and because we are honest
people who have simply made too many mistakes on your booking, I have already refund you
on your credit card to show you our good faith and integrity.
We apologize again and hope that this misadventure has not spoiled your stay in
our lovely town of Montpellier, and in France.
Françoise (manager)

Seulement des erreurs, que nous regrettons...
Cher Monsieur,
Nous vous présentons nos excuses. Nous avons fait deux erreurs : d'abord, lorsque, le 8 janvier, vous avez fait une réservation avec parking pour le 5 juin. Bien entendu, l'hôtel savait déjà qu'il y aurait une manifestation dans la rue ce jour-là, et nous aurions du vous en aviser, et éventuellement vous donner le téléphone d'un hôtel ami, mais la personne qui a pris votre réservation n’a pas pensé à cet évènement à ce moment là (5 mois plus tôt). Cela peut arriver, mais ce fut notre première erreur ...
Deuxièmement, quand vous êtes arrivé à Montpellier, sans pouvoir venir jusqu’à l’hôtel, la personne qui vous a répondu aurait du vous aider en vous expliquant comment aller à un parking près de l'hôtel. Ce fut notre seconde erreur ...
J'ai débité votre carte de crédit, mais pas de manière frauduleuse, car comme la plupart des hôtels dans le monde, nos conditions sont les suivantes: « les annulations devront être effectuées 24 heures avant midi de votre jour prévu d'arrivée. Passé ce délai, une nuit par chambre réservée pourra vous être facturée ». Enfin, nulle part dans notre documentation, les mots «parking garanti» ne sont utilisés, seulement les mots « parking gratuit " ; même si le parking était « garanti », lorsque la police refuse l’accès à tout un quartier, nous ne pouvons plus faire grand-chose…
Mais bien sûr, nous regrettons tout cela, et parce que nous sommes des gens honnêtes qui avons fait plusieurs erreurs lors de votre réservation, j'ai déjà recréditer votre carte de crédit, afin de vous montrer notre bonne foi.
Nous nous excusons encore une fois et nous espérons que cette mésaventure n'a pas gâchée votre séjour à Montpellier et en France.
Françoise (Directrice)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed at numerous places on our two week trip but my travelling companion and I agreed that Hotel du Parc was the standout because it was great value and very charming.

It is not the most central of hotel but neither is it far out. It is certainly very easy to get there by tram from the train station and also a short walk into the old town.

It was such a special stay that I was a bit sad to leave...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubagirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This lovely hotel offers a warm welcome and lots of charm. Two stars mean good accommodations and few frills. What the Parc delivers includes a warm welcome, a cosmopolitan owner who offers unfailing good humor and advice, clean and comfortably appointed rooms. You get hot water and quiet. If you get room #8 in the front of the hotel, you wake up every morning to the mural painted on the wall of an adjoining building, giving you an image of a sunny, Mediterranean day, no matter what the actual weather (which was unseasonably cool during my visit). You get good value for the money. You get an ample breakfast with bakery goods, yogurt, museli, corn flakes, jam, coffee, tea and juices. What you don't get: American--sized rooms or baths. This is a French hotel in France where mostly French people stay. It that's what you're looking for, book a hotel that caters to Americans and ante up. I had a wonderful stay (four nights) and would go back in a nanosecond.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkBeckySharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

A bit outside of the central ring, but a quick and easy walk makes this a great hotel. Spent one night ... charming residence with private parking (key in a city). Room was large and clean, and a nice bathroom .... compact but very clean. Breakfast downstairs was quite nice and had most everything you would ask for. Free wifi, although connections were a little iffy, but this was similar to other hotels using free-hotspot.com. Just had to reconnect a few times, but nice to have it in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelduParc, Manager at Hotel du Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2010

Thank you for your nice review.
You"ll be happy to learn that we just changed our Wifi. The old one wasn't perfect.
We tried this new one, and it seems to be fine.
Francoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.9 mi away
Pullman Montpellier Centre
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Midi
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Arceaux
Hotel des Arceaux
#10 of 93 in Montpellier
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: 8 rue Achille Bege, 34090, Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montpellier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#4 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Parc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Hotel in an 18th century Languedocian residence, near Historic Centre, with 19 air-conditioned rooms, free parking, free Wi-Fi, terrace, tramway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing