We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Valve For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 10 July 2008

A family of four who stayed here for seven nights and it was fine. It is not a five star hotel and is not trying to be one. You are renting a room or rooms, depending on requirements. They are clean, simply furnished, satellite tv, linen supplied and all the utensils needed for use within the small kitchen area for self catering purposes. Breakfast can be provided by the residence at extra cost but I didn't see much use of this facility

The staff were more than helpful on every occasion and spoke English better than I spoke French.

I did miss the fact that the apartment did not have a safe for valuables but the hotel staff were quite happy to lock everything in the hotel safe for me on a daily basis.

The rooftop pool was enjoyable (and clean) and provided some good views over the local area.

Being located so close to the tram line made it ideal for getting around. The transport system in Montpellier is second to none and great valve for money. A 24 hour ticket for up to a family of five is only 5 euros and that is for unlimited travel on buses and trams. It even gets you to the beach which is a good few miles out of town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2007

Five of us stayed for a week in this Appartment/Hotel we booked twin room and triple room. We requested that the triple room have three seperate proper beds not fold up beds and was reassured by phone at centeral reservations that this could be arranged and the extra cost involved. When we arrived they did not have the request but said that the would put a bed in the room for us. All rooms and extras have to be paid for in advance before you are given your room. A guy arrived at our room with a fold up bed and said that was all that would be available. We decided that the next day we would get another twin room and keep that room as well. We went to reception in the morning and the girl there said to us to call back later and the manager would arrange it for us also telling us that there were twin rooms available and the extra cost involved. We we call to reception later to get the room there was one English speaking girl at the desk and the duty manager who lead us to believe that she spoke no English. Through the transluator we said that we were returing the extra bed in our room and we wanted to book another twin room and asked if the cost of the extra bed could be deducted from the cost of the room as we had heard that the don't refund money. She refused to do this and asked to come back in the morning to sort this out so I asked through the transulator if we could book four nights and pay for three and sort the rest out in the morning. She refused and said she would not give us a new room at all. The transulator was embarassed and when I asked her did the duty manager understand what I was saying in English she immediately started to reply in French even though it had not been transulated for her. She understood English but put the transulator in the position of having to deal with the problem while she was the person making the decesions. She was the rudest person I have ever met. She lost out on selling a twin room for four night
Every day there was somebody complaining at reception I would not recommed them and would not go back again. While the location was OK and the appartment were quite clean I still will not recommend them.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank anneGbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

I stayed at the Les Consuls de Mer for the Australia - Fiji match in the RWC. The rooms are modern and excellent for the price the hotel charges, however:

Our room only became available at 5pm, even though we arrived at 10am and told the hotel that we were arriving early.

The hotel insists that you vacate your room at 10am SHARP on your departure date!!!! And get quite forceful about it.

The hotel is quite a distance from the city centre, but the tram stops outside, and a small shop next doors for food/drink.

The reception staff are useless at dealing with any request you have.

If you want your room cleaned / bed made whilst your staying here, it will cost you extra.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2003

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I found it on the internet & selected it based on price. The amenities sounded too good to be true but, I traveled with my college aged niece & nephew and had to keep their budget in mind. The rooms were clean, well kept and air conditioned! We had 1 bedroom rooms that also had a queen sofa beds.
The kitchenette was clean & stocked with utensils, dishwasher, refigerator & a microwave. The staff was friendly and helped us with directions. The restaurant that is there in the hotel was wonderful and modestly priced. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel that will take you right into the main part of town. We chose Montpellier as a hub for day trips to Avigon, Niems and Carcassone. We were very happy with our stay at this hotel.

12  Thank GadgetGirll29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2003

Whilst travelling to spain for my annual holiday I booked into the Les Consuls Du Mer in montpellier for an overnight stop. I found the hotel through the internet and it was purely a halfway point stay over. All I can say is fantastic, we cut our holiday in Spain a day short to spend a day in montpellier on our return Journey. The city is spotlessly clean wonderful people, friendly and helpful. The accomodation was far superior to what I was expecting. The rooms had airconditioning, comfy beds, a dishwasher, neat kitchen lovely bathrooms and the hotel had a roof top pool which just added to our enjoyment. Going back during my next vacation to the same hotel excellent value recommended brilliant. Julie

22  Thank redtilldead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yannick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mariine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Montpellier Antigone
#18 of 93 in Montpellier
408 reviews
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#37 of 93 in Montpellier
745 reviews
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#14 of 93 in Montpellier
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer

Address: 455 av du Pr Etienne Antonelli | Port Marianne, 34070, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Madame Vacance, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Consuls De Mer Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing