We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in at 5PM :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Check in at 5PM :-(”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

No too pleased with the experience as:
*the hotel is extremely difficult to locate (directions given on the hotels.com website were not accurate)
*check in was meant to be from 9AM, and we were not allowed to get the keys to the room before 5PM
*258 Euros deposit was asked for each studio flat
*swimming pool is extremely small and 1,35m at the deepest
*some residents are long-term residents and a fight broke out in the middle of the night
*some of the bedrooms have a sofa bed that you must unfold/make yourself
*check out is at 10AM

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ced82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    56
    69
    57
    67
See reviews for
75
59
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, NM
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel and of all 6 hotels we stayed in during our trip in France, this was our least favorite. It was shabby - stains on carpet, on furniture, on bedding. There was a big water heater in the toilet room, which was way down the hall from the bedroom.

The neighborhood was iffy. It was ok with my husband, but into the evening I would have been uncomfortable alone or just me and my daughter. There was construction in teh area and lots of students, who thought nothing of yelling in the streets at 3:00 am. Not the best location for a family who wanted a good, clean, quiet nights sleep to get on with the sight seeing the next day.

The tram did stop right outside which was nice, and there was a pool but it was packed with college kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed in a two room apartment with a double bed, sofa and kitchenette. Very much a no-frills place designed for long stays like mine. Good value for the price - so take any negative comments in that context. I was looking for a roomy home base for an extended stay, and this definitely fits the bill. Cleaning/maintenance is a bit slipshod - broken closet door, extra blankets crumpled in the closet, etc. Weekly change of linens is a drop-off rather than a cleaning. Not even garbage bags are provided. But once I settled in and bought a few supplies, things were fine. Friendly staff, good strong hot shower and the bed was decent. Balcony was nice to have, and they provided a drying rack for clothes. The hotel is a 30-minute walk from the old town, but the tram stops right outside and gets you downtown in 10 minutes or less. Walking along the river/canal is pretty nice, and you're not far from the Antigone complex with shopping and restaurants. Laundry and Convenience store at the front of the building. Would recommend to students of the many language schools in town. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLoveToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

A family of four who stayed here for seven nights and it was fine. It is not a five star hotel and is not trying to be one. You are renting a room or rooms, depending on requirements. They are clean, simply furnished, satellite tv, linen supplied and all the utensils needed for use within the small kitchen area for self catering purposes. Breakfast can be provided by the residence at extra cost but I didn't see much use of this facility

The staff were more than helpful on every occasion and spoke English better than I spoke French.

I did miss the fact that the apartment did not have a safe for valuables but the hotel staff were quite happy to lock everything in the hotel safe for me on a daily basis.

The rooftop pool was enjoyable (and clean) and provided some good views over the local area.

Being located so close to the tram line made it ideal for getting around. The transport system in Montpellier is second to none and great valve for money. A 24 hour ticket for up to a family of five is only 5 euros and that is for unlimited travel on buses and trams. It even gets you to the beach which is a good few miles out of town.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Slightly dated furnishings
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Five of us stayed for a week in this Appartment/Hotel we booked twin room and triple room. We requested that the triple room have three seperate proper beds not fold up beds and was reassured by phone at centeral reservations that this could be arranged and the extra cost involved. When we arrived they did not have the request but said that the would put a bed in the room for us. All rooms and extras have to be paid for in advance before you are given your room. A guy arrived at our room with a fold up bed and said that was all that would be available. We decided that the next day we would get another twin room and keep that room as well. We went to reception in the morning and the girl there said to us to call back later and the manager would arrange it for us also telling us that there were twin rooms available and the extra cost involved. We we call to reception later to get the room there was one English speaking girl at the desk and the duty manager who lead us to believe that she spoke no English. Through the transluator we said that we were returing the extra bed in our room and we wanted to book another twin room and asked if the cost of the extra bed could be deducted from the cost of the room as we had heard that the don't refund money. She refused to do this and asked to come back in the morning to sort this out so I asked through the transulator if we could book four nights and pay for three and sort the rest out in the morning. She refused and said she would not give us a new room at all. The transulator was embarassed and when I asked her did the duty manager understand what I was saying in English she immediately started to reply in French even though it had not been transulated for her. She understood English but put the transulator in the position of having to deal with the problem while she was the person making the decesions. She was the rudest person I have ever met. She lost out on selling a twin room for four night
Every day there was somebody complaining at reception I would not recommed them and would not go back again. While the location was OK and the appartment were quite clean I still will not recommend them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Duty Manager
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anneGbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Esher, Surrey, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2007

I stayed at the Les Consuls de Mer for the Australia - Fiji match in the RWC. The rooms are modern and excellent for the price the hotel charges, however:

Our room only became available at 5pm, even though we arrived at 10am and told the hotel that we were arriving early.

The hotel insists that you vacate your room at 10am SHARP on your departure date!!!! And get quite forceful about it.

The hotel is quite a distance from the city centre, but the tram stops outside, and a small shop next doors for food/drink.

The reception staff are useless at dealing with any request you have.

If you want your room cleaned / bed made whilst your staying here, it will cost you extra.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2003

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I found it on the internet & selected it based on price. The amenities sounded too good to be true but, I traveled with my college aged niece & nephew and had to keep their budget in mind. The rooms were clean, well kept and air conditioned! We had 1 bedroom rooms that also had a queen sofa beds.
The kitchenette was clean & stocked with utensils, dishwasher, refigerator & a microwave. The staff was friendly and helped us with directions. The restaurant that is there in the hotel was wonderful and modestly priced. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel that will take you right into the main part of town. We chose Montpellier as a hub for day trips to Avigon, Niems and Carcassone. We were very happy with our stay at this hotel.

Helpful?
12 Thank GadgetGirll29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Port Marianne
Holiday Inn Express Montpellier - Odysseum
Novotel Suites Montpellier
#36 of 93 in Montpellier
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Marriott Montpellier
#16 of 93 in Montpellier
455 reviews
Heliotel Montpellier
#47 of 93 in Montpellier
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer

Property: Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer
Address: 455 av du Pr Etienne Antonelli | Port Marianne, 34070, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Madame Vacance, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madame Vacances Residence Les Consuls de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Consuls De Mer Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing