We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good”
Review of Hotel d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel d'Aragon
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Staff did not respect my integrity, I didnt want cleaning of my room and put the 'do not disturb sign' on the door, they didnt even care, they took it down and entered.The pillow was to big and hard and they did the bed in a way I had to redo it, which is why I put up the sign on the door, I didnt want to do my bed in a normal way every day.

One night I wanted to watch movie at my room and I had fetched some take out food, I was stopped by the staff that did not allow me to take it into the room (!). At the same time the minibar has crisps that for sure would be much worse to clean than my food. He ruined me evening! And for those expensive rooms with mediocre standard at least I expect to be able to eat in the room.

They also put stuff on my tab from the minibar that I didnt have, I noticed this much later back at home.

The breakfast had nice bread, but nothing more. No ham or anything. The location of the hotel is nice and central.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear John L,
Thank you for giving your opinion, we appreciated your comments about the nice location of the hotel and the quality of the breakfast.
To start with, we are really sorry if you think that we didn’t respect your integrity and you’re pleased to believe that it won’t happen again. The room maid thought she could clean the room when she saw that you went out from the hotel.
We had talked with all the staff already about this fact to make sure that anyone won’t ever more enter in a room when he sees the « do not disturb » even if the customer is out.
Secondly, we’ve got 2 types of pillows in each room; the soft ones are in the cupboard, on the side, close to the bed. It’s a pity that you couldn’t enjoy them. For a next time, if you have any question, any doubt, do not hesitate and ask it to the reception staff or the room maid. They’re all really helpfully and they can find solutions for everything.
Concerning eating fast food in the bedrooms, we invite all our customers to have their dinner under the Véranda. There was nothing against you, but we all know that fries or kebab smellings are unbearable and people who are arriving the day after expect to enjoy their stay in our hotel in the best conditions.
Then, you can effectively get some staff from the minibar but there’s nothing to compare with a MacDonald meal, what we propose you are kinds of appetizer like nuts or salty biscuits. The problem is not cleaning but bad smells which could disturb others customers.
To finish, we apologize if we put some staff which wasn’t your on the invoice, we credited it back on your card.
Then, to get the best prices, we advice you to contact directly the hotels because when you reserved we had more promotions. For example, on our website, we’ve got that kinds of offers: Breakfast included, the fifth night for free or the Green Rate with a discount of 10 euros per day.
I would be delighted to be able to welcome you personally during a next stay.
Best regards,
Philippe Etourneau
General Manager






Cher John L,
Merci de ne nous donner votre avis, nous avons apprécié vos commentaires sur la bonne situation de notre hôtel mais aussi la qualité des petits déjeuners.
Nous sommes vraiment désolés si nous votre intégrité n’a pas été respectée, nous vous prions de croire que cela ne se reproduira plus. La femme de chambre a pensé qu’elle pouvait nettoyer la chambre quand elle vous a vu quitter l’hôtel.
Nous avons donc informé tout notre personnel sur ce qu’il s’était passé afin que les consignes soient respectées et que personne n’entre dans une chambre quand il lit le message “ne pas déranger” même quand le client est à l’extérieur.
Nous avons dans chaque chambre deux types d’oreillers, les plus souples se trouvent dans l’armoire sur le côté du lit. N’hésitez pas pour une prochaine fois à en informer le personnel de réception ou bien même des étages, tous très serviables qui vous auraient apporté la solution.
Concernant le fait de manger des fast foods dans la chambre, nous invitions nos clients à les manger sous la Véranda. Ce n’était pas contre vous mais nous savons tous que les odeurs de friture ou kebab sont difficilement supportables et que les clients qui arrivent après vous s’attendent à apprécier leur séjour dans notre hôtel dans les meilleures conditions.
Ensuite, en effet, nous mettons à votre disposition certains gâteaux apéritifs comme des cacahuètes ou biscuits salés dans le minibar mais ils ne sont pas comparables avec un menu du Mac Donald. Le problème n’est pas de nettoyer mais les mauvaises odeurs qui pourraient affecter le bon déroulement du séjour de certains clients.
Pour finir, nous nous excusons si nous avons ajouté des consommations sur votre facture qui n’étaient pas les vôtres, nous les avons recréditées sur votre CB.
Je serais enchanté de pouvoir vous accueillir personnellement lors d’un éventuel prochain séjour.

Pour bénéficier des prix les plus justes nous vous conseillons de prendre directement contact avec les Hôtels, lors de votre réservation nous avions plusieurs intermédiaires. Sur notre site web nous avons des offres avec par exemple : Petit Déjeuner inclus, la 5ème nuit offerte ou bien notre Tarif Green avec une réduction de 10 euros par jour.
Meilleures salutations.
Philippe Etourneau
Directeur général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    121
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
145
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We chose this hotel as it was near to the old town, just a step across Comedie. It is in a quiet location. The staff were most welcoming and helpful. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Though there is no lift the staff are always there to help with luggage. We really enjoyed our eight night stay. We would heartedly recommend it.
AMS, Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We chose this hotel primarily for its location - we wanted to be close to the train station and centre of town as we only had a few hours in Montpellier. The location was perfect - right in the middle of Montpeller, and only 5 minutes walk to the train station. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the room was a good size. There are thousands of TV channels available, if that's your thing, but we didn't make use of this really! The room also had a great shower - one of those ones with six jets coming from the side as well as the shower head above.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJDMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork , Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

An old building with great character. Nicely decorated with many quaint touches. Nice for a Weekend Trip. a few steps from the large plaza ( Comedie) . (Very) high Speed Internet access. I had a bath ( with Jauczzi ) but no Shower . It had a Shower head but no where to place it. A bit impracticable. Staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GERFCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed in May 2010 after doing a canal boat trip. The location is great, one minute from Comedie Square. Room was comfy and clean. Internet included a small laptop for your use. Fridge in room. We had the multi headed shower for a treat and was great. Staff very helpful. Large information centre in Comedie square. Laundromat two blocks away, but do take change as shops won't exchange for you. No complaints from us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is all nice an clean. Many other said that and this is true of course. But please do not expect too much because of all the good ratings here: it is a three star hotel and not more. I stayed in the single room. It is very small but okay. The installation of TV and internet does't look too nice but it does the job. The best thing about this hotel is - in my opinion - its location. It could hardly be any better. Forget about the (too) expensive breakfast. This is France! There are great bakeries around every corner where you can sit down and have a coffee and eat some fruits you previously bought at the market.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Olin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

You couldn't really ask for a more central location with the hotel being in a quiet street literally 1 minute from the Comedie Square. Rooms are fine with a nice bed and a great shower, along with good air conditioning. Breakfast is very good - a nice selection and the coffee was particularly good. Very helpful owners.
Large areas of the city are pedestrianised - you park on the other side of the square in a large underground car park and it is a short walk across the main square to the hotel - we paid €21 for two days parking where you can come and go as you please.
Book this hotel if you want a central place to base yourself in and are looking for a clean, comfortable 3*.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel De La Comedie
#37 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Royal Hotel
#16 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aragon

Property: Hotel d'Aragon
Address: 10 rue Baudin, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montpellier
#3 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#8 Family Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel entirely renovated. Non-smoking hotel. Pleasant surroundings and a refined atmosphere await you. The hotel is located 2 minutes by foot from the Place de la Comedie, it is also near the SNCF train station, the Corum and the Fabre museum. Haven of elegance, french charm and peace. As the hotel is situated in the heart of Montpellier, it is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful french cities, to visit the region or to be at the centre of all artistic, cultural or economic events. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Tourisme & Handicaps - European Ecolabel FR/025/233 - Green Key Rooms: Non-smokers, soundproof, superbly decorated rooms and one room for disabled people. Queen size and King size beds. Hydrojet showers. Individual heat/air-conditioning control. Minibars. Hairdryers. Free Wireless Internet and Ethernet connection in every room. All the rooms are equipped with an LCD TV screen. Digital TV and radio by satellite. Useful information: Breakfast under the Veranda throughout the whole year. Free wireless Internet connection in the entire hotel. Free Internet access point at the reception. Laptop in Privilege and Deluxe rooms. Restaurants, concerts, events and car rental booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Aragon Hotel Montpellier
Hotel d Aragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing