We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel d'Aragon, and the quintessential French experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel d'Aragon
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel d'Aragon, and the quintessential French experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff was incredible, the rooms were perfectly quaint, the location is perfect (right in the heart of Montpelier), and the breakfast was delicious (my mother and I could not get enough of the pretzel bread!). Whether you're a first time or frequent visitor of Montpelier, this hotel will make you feel you've found a second home in this beautiful college town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    118
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
137
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Pleasant hotel, small room, very comfortable. Quite a lot of stairs to our room but the staff helped with our cases. Our double room was 111 euros (booked in advance for mid-May).We thought the breakfast was rather expensive so went out to a café instead

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather0012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Google Translation
Dear Heather Kent,
We are pleased you have enjoyed our hotel and our services. We would like to inform you that the price of our breakfast is adjusted to the others hotels of the same range. It is served in our nice “Véranda” where you will find a large choice of non-industrial, local and/or organic products: fresh croissant and “coques”(specialty of Montpellier), bread and butter, different types of jam and honey, orange and apple juices, milk, natural and fruit yogurts, fresh fruits salad or fresh seasonal fruits, boiled eggs, 3 different type of cereals and during the week-end a large choice of delicatessen and cheese.
We try to do our best by offering the best service and products so that you have the opportunity to discover and enjoy Montpellier in the best way.
We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you for your next stay in Montpellier.
Philippe Etourneau
General Manager


Cher Heather Kent,
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié notre hôtel et nos services.
Nous nous permettons de vous informer que le prix de notre petit-déjeuner est ajusté avec celui des autres hôtels de même catégorie. Il est servi dans notre agréable Véranda où vous trouverez un large choix de produits non industriels, locaux et/ou biologiques : croissant et « coque » (spécialité de Montpellier), pain et beurre, différents types de confitures, miel, jus d’oranges et jus de pommes, lait, yaourts natures et aux fruits, salade fruits frais ou fruits frais de saison, œufs à la coque, 3 différents types de céréales et en fin de semaine, un large choix de charcuterie et fromages.
Nous essayons de donner le meilleur des services et des produits afin de vous donner l’occasion de visiter et apprécier Montpellier de la meilleure façon possible.
Nous serions absolument enchantés de vous accueillir pour votre prochain séjour à Montpellier.

Philippe Etourneau
Directeur général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Typical French city centre three-star, but better decorated and looked after than most. Room was not big, but OK and nice bathroom. Stands out in my mind for exceptionally good service - staff really went the 'extra mile' to be helpful and really nice attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPrR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Google Translation
Dear TPrR,
The whole team thanks you for this nice review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon in Montpellier.
Philippe Etourneau
General Manager

Cher TPrR,
Tout le personnel vous remercie pour cet avis agréable. Nous sommes enchantés que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous et espérons vous accueillir de nouveau prochainement à Montpellier.
Philippe Etourneau
Directeur général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here in the autumn of 2012. It was a nice place, conveniently located near many restaurants, the main plaza area and the train station. The staff did everything they could to make our stay nice. They gave us excellent dinner recommendations and helped us make reservations for some places. The room was nice but a bit small. The bed was a little creaky and made noise at the slightest movement, so we didn't always get a good night's sleep. We only ate breakfast there the last day, but it was nice. They had a variety of foods, but nothing too special to write home about. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Wheelcair accesible room was clean and well decorated. I slept reallly well here as the bed was really comfortable, the room was quiet and the air conditioning wasnt left on. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very central, lots of cafes and restaurants around. Hotel staff recommended 'chez boris', where I had an excellent steak for dinner.

Free coffee available in the breakfast room through the day.

Free wifi too :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirborneTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Staff did not respect my integrity, I didnt want cleaning of my room and put the 'do not disturb sign' on the door, they didnt even care, they took it down and entered.The pillow was to big and hard and they did the bed in a way I had to redo it, which is why I put up the sign on the door, I didnt want to do my bed in a normal way every day.

One night I wanted to watch movie at my room and I had fetched some take out food, I was stopped by the staff that did not allow me to take it into the room (!). At the same time the minibar has crisps that for sure would be much worse to clean than my food. He ruined me evening! And for those expensive rooms with mediocre standard at least I expect to be able to eat in the room.

They also put stuff on my tab from the minibar that I didnt have, I noticed this much later back at home.

The breakfast had nice bread, but nothing more. No ham or anything. The location of the hotel is nice and central.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear John L,
Thank you for giving your opinion, we appreciated your comments about the nice location of the hotel and the quality of the breakfast.
To start with, we are really sorry if you think that we didn’t respect your integrity and you’re pleased to believe that it won’t happen again. The room maid thought she could clean the room when she saw that you went out from the hotel.
We had talked with all the staff already about this fact to make sure that anyone won’t ever more enter in a room when he sees the « do not disturb » even if the customer is out.
Secondly, we’ve got 2 types of pillows in each room; the soft ones are in the cupboard, on the side, close to the bed. It’s a pity that you couldn’t enjoy them. For a next time, if you have any question, any doubt, do not hesitate and ask it to the reception staff or the room maid. They’re all really helpfully and they can find solutions for everything.
Concerning eating fast food in the bedrooms, we invite all our customers to have their dinner under the Véranda. There was nothing against you, but we all know that fries or kebab smellings are unbearable and people who are arriving the day after expect to enjoy their stay in our hotel in the best conditions.
Then, you can effectively get some staff from the minibar but there’s nothing to compare with a MacDonald meal, what we propose you are kinds of appetizer like nuts or salty biscuits. The problem is not cleaning but bad smells which could disturb others customers.
To finish, we apologize if we put some staff which wasn’t your on the invoice, we credited it back on your card.
Then, to get the best prices, we advice you to contact directly the hotels because when you reserved we had more promotions. For example, on our website, we’ve got that kinds of offers: Breakfast included, the fifth night for free or the Green Rate with a discount of 10 euros per day.
I would be delighted to be able to welcome you personally during a next stay.
Best regards,
Philippe Etourneau
General Manager






Cher John L,
Merci de ne nous donner votre avis, nous avons apprécié vos commentaires sur la bonne situation de notre hôtel mais aussi la qualité des petits déjeuners.
Nous sommes vraiment désolés si nous votre intégrité n’a pas été respectée, nous vous prions de croire que cela ne se reproduira plus. La femme de chambre a pensé qu’elle pouvait nettoyer la chambre quand elle vous a vu quitter l’hôtel.
Nous avons donc informé tout notre personnel sur ce qu’il s’était passé afin que les consignes soient respectées et que personne n’entre dans une chambre quand il lit le message “ne pas déranger” même quand le client est à l’extérieur.
Nous avons dans chaque chambre deux types d’oreillers, les plus souples se trouvent dans l’armoire sur le côté du lit. N’hésitez pas pour une prochaine fois à en informer le personnel de réception ou bien même des étages, tous très serviables qui vous auraient apporté la solution.
Concernant le fait de manger des fast foods dans la chambre, nous invitions nos clients à les manger sous la Véranda. Ce n’était pas contre vous mais nous savons tous que les odeurs de friture ou kebab sont difficilement supportables et que les clients qui arrivent après vous s’attendent à apprécier leur séjour dans notre hôtel dans les meilleures conditions.
Ensuite, en effet, nous mettons à votre disposition certains gâteaux apéritifs comme des cacahuètes ou biscuits salés dans le minibar mais ils ne sont pas comparables avec un menu du Mac Donald. Le problème n’est pas de nettoyer mais les mauvaises odeurs qui pourraient affecter le bon déroulement du séjour de certains clients.
Pour finir, nous nous excusons si nous avons ajouté des consommations sur votre facture qui n’étaient pas les vôtres, nous les avons recréditées sur votre CB.
Je serais enchanté de pouvoir vous accueillir personnellement lors d’un éventuel prochain séjour.

Pour bénéficier des prix les plus justes nous vous conseillons de prendre directement contact avec les Hôtels, lors de votre réservation nous avions plusieurs intermédiaires. Sur notre site web nous avons des offres avec par exemple : Petit Déjeuner inclus, la 5ème nuit offerte ou bien notre Tarif Green avec une réduction de 10 euros par jour.
Meilleures salutations.
Philippe Etourneau
Directeur général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We chose this hotel as it was near to the old town, just a step across Comedie. It is in a quiet location. The staff were most welcoming and helpful. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Though there is no lift the staff are always there to help with luggage. We really enjoyed our eight night stay. We would heartedly recommend it.
AMS, Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel De La Comedie
#33 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#14 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aragon

Property: Hotel d'Aragon
Address: 10 rue Baudin, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montpellier
#3 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#8 Family Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel entirely renovated. Non-smoking hotel. Pleasant surroundings and a refined atmosphere await you. The hotel is located 2 minutes by foot from the Place de la Comedie, it is also near the SNCF train station, the Corum and the Fabre museum. Haven of elegance, french charm and peace. As the hotel is situated in the heart of Montpellier, it is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful french cities, to visit the region or to be at the centre of all artistic, cultural or economic events. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Tourisme & Handicaps - European Ecolabel FR/025/233 - Green Key Rooms: Non-smokers, soundproof, superbly decorated rooms and one room for disabled people. Queen size and King size beds. Hydrojet showers. Individual heat/air-conditioning control. Minibars. Hairdryers. Free Wireless Internet and Ethernet connection in every room. All the rooms are equipped with an LCD TV screen. Digital TV and radio by satellite. Useful information: Breakfast under the Veranda throughout the whole year. Free wireless Internet connection in the entire hotel. Free Internet access point at the reception. Laptop in Privilege and Deluxe rooms. Restaurants, concerts, events and car rental booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Aragon Hotel Montpellier
Hotel d Aragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing