We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful find - perfectly located and beautifully furnished” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel d'Aragon
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A delightful find - perfectly located and beautifully furnished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights while visiting friends in the university. Before we came, they recommended a number of places to stay including this hotel. We immediately chose this one because of its location, and so glad we did! One couldn't be more central than this place. Just a few blocks from the train station, and just a block away from the Place de la Comedie, the city's main square. Montpellier is a very walkable city. OK so the neighbourhood is not glitzy, in fact, one would think it is a tad quiet but I kept saying "so near, yet far enough", it's exactly how we want our hotels. Near to everything, yet far enough to feel the peace and quiet away from the tourist area (we visited in February so just the locals really, not many tourists). And what a delightful find this hotel was! Small, cozy and friendly, a lovely home away from home for us. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, their English is good and yes, they were ever so patient with our weak attempts at speaking French (it always works if you smile!). We stayed in the delux double room Chateaubriand which was on the corner of the top floor, well worth the price! Our room was very clean and very well set up with lots of room to spread out: a desk to work on (there's a small laptop hooked up to the internet which you can use, we brought our own so we just plugged it in directly), a huge TV with lots of channels including 3 in english (bbc, cnn, skynews), tea and coffee making equipment (including a nespresso machine yay!) and a small sofa. Our king size bed was super-comfy, lots of pillows to choose from, we had some of our best night's sleeps here. The bathroom was bright and spacious, but you must bring your own amenities here as in most small European hotels the all-in-one liquid soap is a tube on the wall. Nice fluffy towels too!
Positives:
1) location, location, location! Comedie tram station just up the street, a good laundrette just around the corner, a broad selection of dining places on rue Verdun including l'Entrecote, a Monoprix supermarket a block away and the huge Polygon supermall close by, everything you can think of are within 3-5 minutes walk, even a flower market and cinemas (not one but 3 multiplex ones). I needed some ibuprofen creme at 8:00am one day, the pharmacie du theatre was just across the tram lines (the pharmacie du comedie does not open till 9). We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was easier to grab a croissant or pane au chocolat and a coffee from one of the patisseries around as we waited for the tram to the university.
2) lovely french hospitality- always nice to come back to a welcoming smile every evening, the staff is always there to help from setting up an ironing board to carrying our luggage to and from our room. On our last day they even gave us some regional specialties as a going-away gift, I was really touched!
3) free wifi - this was a ++++ for us, and we really appreciated the good strong signal in our room, really handy to keep connected with our kids halfway around the world. We didn't use the free VoIP calls which the hotel also offers, but gosh, what a great service!
Negatives: none really, just a couple of caveats so that future guests will know:
1) there is no lift as there are only 2 floors above the ground floor. As mentioned earlier, the staff happily help you with your luggage to your room. Personally, I think the narrow spiral staircase adds to the charm of the hotel, but those with mobility issues may think otherwise.
2) just a suggestion: a floor mat in the bathroom would have been nice, especially as the tiled floor can be so cold in winter.
Overall, we really liked this hotel and would recommend it to all our friends visiting Montpellier. Don't let the grey, nondescript and generally unimaginative neighbourhood fool you - a couple of blocks away is a different place. This hotel is great, why look for anything else?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aragon34, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your trust. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have appreciated the quality of our Hotel and services. Indeed, we try to give our best to every guest.
We have selected the best mattress, pillows and duvets with the labels “Nomite” and “Dausanag”, guarantors of hygiene with the European standard DIN EN 12935 and a compatible use with people with allergies for your comfort that is why we are pleased to know you “had some of your best night's sleeps”!

In every room you found an access to 300 different channels from many countries. Furthermore, you have chosen a Deluxe Room; in this type of room we always provide a netbook and an espresso machine + electric kettle, maybe next time you would like to visit another room from this category!

Because we are active on an ecological level and work for sustainable development (we are proud because we had the honor to receive the European Ecolabel last year), we try to limit the use of packaging and this is why we present the shower gel and shampoo in a tube on the wall.

Concerning the construction works in our street, they finally about to finish. But I am sure you have noticed that the hotel is noiseless once you are in. The hotel is situated in down-town; close by the famous Comedie Place and all the facilities but still in a quiet street.

We also know a lot of great restaurants in and around Montpellier because we love local gastronomy and wines, and we are delighted when our guests enjoy their stay by trying those beautiful addresses.

This is right that we do not have a lift here, but unfortunately the hotel doesn’t offer enough space to build one. As you have seen, the charming stairs take all the room, this is why, and thank you for mentioning it, our staff always help to carry the luggage on your arrival and departure. For our guests with mobility issues, we have a very comfortable room adapted at the ground floor.

We take in consideration your suggestion for a floor mat in the bathroom as well.

We were enchanted to welcome you in our establishment and hope we will remake it with pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to write this comment.

Best regards,

Philippe Etourneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    118
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
137
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We picked this for its location near to the Comedie and to the train station for our overnight stay in Montpellier. It gave us everything we needed. The room was basic but comfortable and the location was excellent.

The lady running it was extremely friendly and helpful. We left our bags with her so we could go and drop off the car. When we returned at check in time they had been put in our room (and they were pretty heavy!). She could not do enough to help us in the room and know the parts of the town. And the price was good too.

It is a tricky place to drive to (especially as there were roadworks around it) and a tricky place to drive from to the station to drop the car (even though it is quick and easy to walk). But I think that warning goes for any of the hotels near the centre of town. All in all it gave us all we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent my last two nights in Montpellier -- where I'd lived for five years -- in this hotel because it was around the corner from my old apartment. The neighborhood's not much, a building going up a block away blocks the streets, making it hard to get to sometimes, but it's a quiet location and, as noted, close to just about everything in town.

The breakfast is spectacular, for a local hotel, also as noted: very high-quality goods selected to show off the best the region has to offer. It's not free, but it's recommended.

My only trouble came when I tried to get the guy on duty to make a reservation at the restaurant I'd been to so many times that I had selected for my last meal in town. He refused. "I don't like the cuisine there," he sniffed. Well, gee. I do. "You must try _______ ." Well, sure, I'd eaten there many times, but I wanted this other one. He picked up the phone and called mine, hanging up after a few rings. "Closed," he said. Then he called *his* choice. A machine answered, he barked a reservation into the phone, and that was that.

Well, bad news: it was a Sunday, and off-season the place I wanted was closed on Sundays. So was his. I wound up elsewhere.

Special mention goes to the shower, which had seven -- count 'em -- heads. After the pitifully-spitting piece of junk I'd lived with for five years, it was a treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinFrance510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Mon-cherie and I had two nights there mid October. The hotel is very nice, clean and stylishly decorated. The owners are very friendly, but English is a little limited, but no great drama.
Breakfasts have a great selection of organic foods, as well as the regular items in a French hotel.
As others may have mentioned, there is no lift, so just be aware. Once again, not a problem for us, as the owners immediately offered to carry the bags up.
Bathrooms are new in the two rooms I saw.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in Hotel D'Aragon for one night. It was well positioned in a quiet side street just a minute or two from the main centre. The staff were very helpful, and we appreciated the free wifi, the laptop, and the coffee machine, all in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamtarts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Quaint small hotel on the corner of rue Baudin. We were warmly welcomed and after checking in the lady receptionist carried our heavy case up 2 flights of stairs!. The stairs are spiral, stone and have a wobbly bannister! Our room was quite big with a good size ensuite bathroom with excellent shower. Air conditioning....a must! Net book for our use but also free wifi if you have your own device. Continental breakfast was in the conservatory on 1st floor. There was a machine to boil your own egg but gave that a miss!!! Yogurt, croissant and coffee excellent. This good hotel is situated very close to the town centre, car parking, buses and trains. The Comedie is full of restaurants, bars and entertainment. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A calm oasis close to the fascinating but noisy city centre - an old building blessed with modern amenities such as wifi, air con, TV, wired netbook in your room in case you have forgotten your iDevice, and super continental breakfast! Pleasant & helpful English-speaking staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grufflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel De La Comedie
#33 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Eurociel Centre
#1 of 85 in Montpellier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#5 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#14 of 85 in Montpellier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aragon

Property: Hotel d'Aragon
Address: 10 rue Baudin, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montpellier
#3 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#8 Family Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel entirely renovated. Non-smoking hotel. Pleasant surroundings and a refined atmosphere await you. The hotel is located 2 minutes by foot from the Place de la Comedie, it is also near the SNCF train station, the Corum and the Fabre museum. Haven of elegance, french charm and peace. As the hotel is situated in the heart of Montpellier, it is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful french cities, to visit the region or to be at the centre of all artistic, cultural or economic events. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Tourisme & Handicaps - European Ecolabel FR/025/233 - Green Key Rooms: Non-smokers, soundproof, superbly decorated rooms and one room for disabled people. Queen size and King size beds. Hydrojet showers. Individual heat/air-conditioning control. Minibars. Hairdryers. Free Wireless Internet and Ethernet connection in every room. All the rooms are equipped with an LCD TV screen. Digital TV and radio by satellite. Useful information: Breakfast under the Veranda throughout the whole year. Free wireless Internet connection in the entire hotel. Free Internet access point at the reception. Laptop in Privilege and Deluxe rooms. Restaurants, concerts, events and car rental booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and MyHotelShop so you can book your Hotel d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Aragon Hotel Montpellier
Hotel d Aragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing