We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel d'Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Aragon
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Located just down the road from the main square of the city, this hotel was a great place to explore the city from. The staff were helpful when we wanted to hire a car for the day, and generally were able to help with our needs. The room we booked had a slightly eccentric colour scheme - the blue walls combined with a window looking out onto a narrow road made the room very dark, but luckily for a little extra we were able to upgrade to a much better room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eruditebaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Hotel d'Aragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

This hotel far exceeded our expectations of a French 3* hotel. Located down a quiet but slightly dilapidated side street just off the main square, we were agreably surprised when we were shown to our room for its size and quality of its fittings. There was every attention to detail; the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spotless and free use of the Internet on the lap top in the room proved very helpful in downloading information on places to eat in the evening in Montpellier. The breakfast at 10Euros was enjoyable and good value with a range of teas and hot chocolates and fresh fruit as well as the usual croissants, bread, coffee, cereal, cheese, eggs, etc The staff were welcoming and helpful; as well as looking after our baggage the last day, they were kind enough to lend us an umbrella when the weather turned inclement. All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a hotel which probably made our weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_and_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This small, ideally placed, hotel lived up to the excellent recommendations that made us choose it. Beautifully run in every way, we found. Reception was always helpful. The rooms and bathroom were impeccably clean, thoughtfully fitted out (how many hotels provide a decent sized shoe horn?), lit so that one could actually read in bed with ease (unusual), quiet, and, best of all, having a really comfortable bed. Breakfasts served in an attractive space were generously supplied, ready to cope with all tastes.
Also, I thought this hotel was very reasonably priced given its quality.
My only regret is that i did not ask for one of their shoe horns as a souvenir.
David Bennett

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I just returned after a week, visiting my daughter, who is studying abroad. I found the hotel to be charming. The staff was uniformly helpful. My room was large, with a firm but comfortable large bed (said to be double, seemed more like queen; plenty of room for my daughter and myself). I had requested such a mattress, due to issues with my back. The bathroom was large, clean, with a good shower. Air conditioning thermostat was just right. Hotel location was perfect, just a couple of short blocks to Place de la Comedie, but far enough to be insulated from the noise of the crowds there. No elevator, but staff happy to help with heavy luggage up the stairs, which were easy to navigate even without help. Although breakfast could be found a little cheaper at "Comedie," I ate at hotel all but first day, since they had slightly wider selection and were much faster than the offerings elsewhere. Coffee was quite good. Took a weekend trip elsewhere, and they were good enough to keep my luggage for two days, ready for my return on Sunday night. Cabs to/from airport (about 38 euro) took me right to the door, but they needed me to show them the exact address from my downloaded print-out. Great tip is the Monoprix store, behind the carousel in "Comedie", where you can get food, drinks, beach towels, some minor clothing and toiletries. I bought soft drinks and tonic water that lasted me all week. Bought my gin at duty free store US departure airport. Several good wine stores in town. Montpellier is an easy town to walk, with many charming areas. Not to be missed is their art museum. Free, wireless internet was reliable, and not that common to be free in many hotels. I have traveled much of the world, prefer nice accommodations, would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveler10180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

no elevator + two stories to climb + large suitcase + hot summer = disappointment, and The reception staff were not very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meir0356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry_mtp, Propriétaire at Hotel d'Aragon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur,

Il semblerait que malgré toute notre attention, votre séjour dans notre hotel n’a pas été parfait.
Le personnel de l’Hotel d’Aragon se joint à moi pour vous présenter nos excuses s’il y a du soleil à Montpellier en juin et si la température a atteint 34°. Il me semble cependant que c’est une des raisons qui fait que notre région attire beaucoup de touristes. Notre hotel est parfaitement adapté au climat méditerranéen. Il est en effet équipé d’une climatisation moderne dans tout l’hotel et réglable dans chaque chambre.
Concernant l’absence d’ascenseur, s’agissant d’un bâtiment ancien, il n’y avait pas l’espace suffisant pour installer un ascenseur. Néanmoins, le personnel accompagne systématiquement tous nos clients en chambre et monte leurs bagages, ce qui fut le cas pour vous comme pour tous les clients. Par ailleurs, notre hotel est labellisé Tourisme et Handicaps et offre deux chambres en rez-de-chaussée dont une totalement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
Bien à vous.
Philippe Etourneau
Propriétaire, Directeur général

Dear Sir,

It seems that in spite of all our attention, you stay in our hotel was not perfect.
The staff of Hotel of Aragon joins me to apologize to you if Montpelier is very sunny in June and if the temperature reached 34 °. It seems to me however that it is one of reasons which makes that our region attracts many tourists. Our hotel is perfectly adapted to the Mediterranean climate. It is indeed equipped with a modern air conditioning in the entire hotel and adjustable in every room.
Concerning the absence of elevator, our hotel is located in an ancient building and there was no possibility for installing elevator. Nevertheless, the staff accompanies systematically all the guests in room and takes up their luggage. It did it for you as for all our guests. Besides, our hotel is certified Tourism and Handicaps and offer two rooms in ground floor. One of them is totally accessible to the persons with reduced mobility.
Best regards,
Philippe Etourneau
Owner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I agree with much of what has been said previously. This hotel is a really pleasant change compared with the big chains. Free wi-fi, free international phone calls (using VoIP) and the use of a free netbook computer in some rooms sets a great example to other hotels. In many ways this is a typical small traditional French hotel, but thoroughly brought up to date in terms of both room facilities, service and attitude. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable with quality bedding, there was a good bathroom, there is air conditioning and flat screen tv with international channels. Service is friendly and efficient, and the traditional French breakfast good. As others have said location is excellent for the historic centre of Montpellier.

Personally I'm not a fan of multi-jet showers and the only room available when I booked was one of the more expensive ones because it had the multi-jet shower. The 12 rooms are fairly small, as is typical in France. The second floor rooms would be impossible to access for anyone with mobility difficulties given the staircases (there is no elevator). However, fortunately this isn't a problem for me and the other negatives I mention are extremly small. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Definitely recommend this hotel - our room was small but cheaper, very comfortable, neat and clean, great bathroom with mulitjet shower. The immaculately presented and generous continental breakfast in the lovely Verandah was greatly appreciated, staff were attentive and helpful. Five mins walk to the Place de la Comédie and the historic district but quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyandLionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
848 reviews
Pullman Montpellier Centre
#2 of 93 in Montpellier
1,277 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
#4 of 93 in Montpellier
119 reviews
Grand Hotel Du Midi
#6 of 93 in Montpellier
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aragon

Address: 10 rue Baudin, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montpellier
#3 Business Hotel in Montpellier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#8 Family Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range: £87 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique hotel entirely renovated. Non-smoking hotel. Pleasant surroundings and a refined atmosphere await you. The hotel is located 2 minutes by foot from the Place de la Comedie, it is also near the SNCF train station, the Corum and the Fabre museum. Haven of elegance, french charm and peace. As the hotel is situated in the heart of Montpellier, it is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful french cities, to visit the region or to be at the centre of all artistic, cultural or economic events. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Tourisme & Handicaps - European Ecolabel FR/025/233 - Green Key Rooms: Non-smokers, soundproof, superbly decorated rooms and one room for disabled people. Queen size and King size beds. Hydrojet showers. Individual heat/air-conditioning control. Minibars. Hairdryers. Free Wireless Internet and Ethernet connection in every room. All the rooms are equipped with an LCD TV screen. Digital TV and radio by satellite. Useful information: Breakfast under the Veranda throughout the whole year. Free wireless Internet connection in the entire hotel. Free Internet access point at the reception. Laptop in Privilege and Deluxe rooms. Restaurants, concerts, events and car rental booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel d'Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Aragon Hotel Montpellier
Hotel d Aragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing