We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant night”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montpellier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel de France Montpellier
Ranked #83 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I spent there just one night but we had a couple of problems:
-little roaches on the wall and on the floor, in the room and in the bathroom
-bed linen not properly cleaned,and when we asked to change them they didn't do
-television hard to switch on,and when we managed to do that it wasn't possible to change the channel or the volume. we asked for help at the reception, nobody came
-we left the room full of bites! we thought it was because of the mosquitos, but they became bigger and when we asked to the doctor he said the reason were bed bugs

Conclusion: dirty, personal no kind at all, absolutely not worth the price

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSiLViAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed there for one night and it has been absolutely the worst hotel in which I have ever been. I stayed in hostels and dormitories, but this en suite room was so nasty that we thought not to sleep there at all even paying. The wc was broken, the sheets were nasty, the furniture was old and greasy. Do not book there!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _domitilla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were stuck at Hotel de France for a week for a conference during May. DO NOT book a room here or agree to stay here for more than one night if you must. I have never seen such a disgusting, dirty hotel. Our room was infested with cockroaches; the pillows were disintegrating; the sheets and towels always had hair or stains on them with every change. The rooms are poorly ventilated and have a high level of humidity, which could account for the permanently moldy, musty odor in our room. There is zero soundproofing so we could hear every sound other guests made in the rooms adjacent/above/below, in the hallway. If you bring anything valuable, be prepared to carry it with you everywhere as you are asked to leave your key at a public key desk that anyone can access without any hindrances whatsoever and there are no security boxes in the rooms. The hotel also advertises free WIFI - it only works intermittently during the morning and afternoon. Lastly, most of the men who worked the reception/concierge desk at Hotel de France were either rude or lazy - and I do not say this lightly: I had to ask several times across two different days for new linens when housekeeping did not leave linens; when we came home one evening and had to kill 15 or so roaches and requested to switch rooms, the staffer was incredibly condescending and attempted to convince us repeatedly that there were no roaches in the hotel whatsoever; and lastly, one of the elder staffers consistently insulted us by telling us about how awful and racist Americans are. The only positive aspect of this hotel is that it is close to the Comedie and the train station (for a speedy evacuation)!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutentier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Easily the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. The years cannot erase the distaste nor the fear that this nearly deserted hotel inspired. We did not sleep a wink for the heat, the street noise, and the creepy feel of the place. Why the hotel is still in business is beyond me.

Stayed: June 2004
2  Thank LeahSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Simply put its a vile little hole, that is nothing like its pictures on the webvsite I booked through.

I've stayed in some grotty places in the world whilst packpacking etc, but this was special....

Try elsewhere!

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank BenInBritiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bylou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#48 of 93 in Montpellier
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Halt Hotel
Halt Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lattes
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Domaine de Verchant
Domaine de Verchant
#1 of 2 in Castelnau-le-Lez
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
Best Western Hotel Eurociel
#1 of 93 in Montpellier
869 reviews
3 mi away
Ibis Budget Montpellier sud Lattes
3.3 mi away
Domaine de Biar
Domaine de Biar
#1 of 3 in Laverune
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Montpellier

Address: 4 rue de la Republique, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France Montpellier 2*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing