We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no frills but it all works”
Review of Hotel Kalliste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kalliste
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, no frills but it all works”
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Having read the other reviews, this seemed like an affordable and convenient choice for going on foot to the conference venues, restaurants, shops, and trams. It was all of that, and the wi-fi worked well, the room was clean, and the staff friendly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    16
    13
    10
    14
See reviews for
2
19
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel as it had the lowest priced room within spitting distance of le place de comedie. The staff were friendly , the location is perfect but as most other reviewers have suggested the room was really basic - which was fine by me as it was just a base to explore the city from. My girlfriend didn't really like the carpet on the wall or the brown stain on the rug. Would recommend for anyone looking for a well located, basic cheap hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoxPattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the superb location, a minute or so from Place de la Comedie, as well as easy walking distance to the train station.

However the decor was quite shabby, making things seem unclean, even if they weren’t. Feature-wise, we had a TV, air-conditioning, telephone and free wi-fi. A fridge would have been useful, but it wasn’t the end of the world.

The main problem is the general worn nature of everything – scuff marks on the walls, dust in the cupboard, cracked tiles in the bathroom, a grimy shower curtain. Our room was also on the small side, with quite uneven flooring, whilst the carpet on the staircase was quite dirty and worn.

Breakfast was a little pricey at €7 per person, so we took the self-catering option, but the breakfast room looked to be well set-up, with reasonable choice.

The various staff that we encountered in reception across our three night stay were universally cheerful and happy to chat, but you got the impression that not a lot of care is expended on the rooms themselves.

So, an OK place for our time in Montpellier, largely due to the location, but we probably wouldn’t rush back. There are probably better alternatives available for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

On the plus side is the location, just off Place Comedie. We had an extrta bed in our room and that made it a bit cramped but it was clean and serviceable. The towells were good but the plumbing was poor: the loo continued to flush unless you lifted the top of the cistern up each time you used it. The light in the loo was hit and miss - you had to juggle the wiring sometimes. Breakfasts were good value for money: nice croissants etc.
I have always found carpeting the walls a bit bizare but this hotel is not alone in this and the red ,cream and green colour scheme does not promote a soothing ambience. Would it be too much to ask hotels to put in reading lights that you can read by - I think these bulbs were about 20 watts. The area was seedy by day and edgy by night and there was an enormous fight outside at aboout 2 am: all a bit scary. The young men who ran the hotel were friendly, courteous and helpful. and, for the price, you could do a lot worse. All in all, despite everything, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I spent 3 night in the hotel on a girly break. the staff was friendly, but not always as informative as we needed eg. with directions and buses.
the room was good, nice balcony. but the whole hotel was a little bit out of fashion. location was really great, just 15 mins from train station, and close to supermarket, to tourist office and cheap fastfood reastaurants.
was good for sleeping.
and th city is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnestoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I've had great success with TripAdvisor reviews, but I feel that I was misled about the Hotel Kalliste. My experience there was definitely poor, though the location is admittedly great. It is less than a minute from the Place de la Comédie, which is in the heart of Montpellier, and right next to a tram stop. The downsides, however, are numerous: The room was small and smelled of copious amounts of air freshener, the shower took about 10 minutes to become warm and also did not drain very well, meaning I had to wait for it to get warm and then shower very quickly to make sure it did not overflow. Also, while I very much appreciate the free wifi, the internet is painfully slow, allowing you to only open one webpage at a time and no use of Skype or other applications. In addition, the bed cover had several holes from burns on it. Also, I was forced to leave early - about 6:30ish - to catch my train, something I did not anticipate to be a problem since the hotel said it was only closed from 2AM to 6AM, but it was not open when I went downstairs and I was forced to ring the doorbell several times before someone came down and allowed me to check out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imhereforthefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montpellier hotels

Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Pros:
- LOCATION
- good value
- sufficient rooms

Cons:
- no parking on street or at hotel, need to use paid parking a few streets away

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel Colisee Verdun
#58 of 93 in Montpellier
82 reviews
Nova Hotel
#42 of 93 in Montpellier
98 reviews
Hotel de Paris
#64 of 93 in Montpellier
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Arts
#51 of 93 in Montpellier
96 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalliste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalliste

Property: Hotel Kalliste
Address: 14 rue Boussairolles, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalliste 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kalliste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalliste Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing