We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the location alone”
Review of Hotel Kalliste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kalliste
Ranked #79 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This place was great value - unbeatable location right in the thick of everything. We were only here for 1 night unfortunately, as Montpellier seemed like a lovely town. The hotel had an efficient check-in, and sure the rooms are getting a bit old and tired looking but they were clean, I've been in much smaller, and for the location and price you will not get much more anywhere else. Give it a go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kalliste
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel to visit Montpellier, as it is really centrical and easy to reach.
The rooms are clean but they need some painting. Beds are quite comfortable. Air coinditioning and tv are a highlight.
Staff are ok, kind and helpful.
Good value for the money!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anboto90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were looking for somewhere not too expensive in Montpellier and were so glad we booked this hotel. The room is a little tired it is true but we didn't mind for the money and the excellent location 1 minute walk from the main square and less than 5 minutes walk from the station carrying our bags. Also the owners were really really helpful. I would definitely recommend and definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Having read the other reviews, this seemed like an affordable and convenient choice for going on foot to the conference venues, restaurants, shops, and trams. It was all of that, and the wi-fi worked well, the room was clean, and the staff friendly.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I chose to stay at this hotel as it had the lowest priced room within spitting distance of le place de comedie. The staff were friendly , the location is perfect but as most other reviewers have suggested the room was really basic - which was fine by me as it was just a base to explore the city from. My girlfriend didn't really like the carpet on the wall or the brown stain on the rug. Would recommend for anyone looking for a well located, basic cheap hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoxPattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the superb location, a minute or so from Place de la Comedie, as well as easy walking distance to the train station.

However the decor was quite shabby, making things seem unclean, even if they weren’t. Feature-wise, we had a TV, air-conditioning, telephone and free wi-fi. A fridge would have been useful, but it wasn’t the end of the world.

The main problem is the general worn nature of everything – scuff marks on the walls, dust in the cupboard, cracked tiles in the bathroom, a grimy shower curtain. Our room was also on the small side, with quite uneven flooring, whilst the carpet on the staircase was quite dirty and worn.

Breakfast was a little pricey at €7 per person, so we took the self-catering option, but the breakfast room looked to be well set-up, with reasonable choice.

The various staff that we encountered in reception across our three night stay were universally cheerful and happy to chat, but you got the impression that not a lot of care is expended on the rooms themselves.

So, an OK place for our time in Montpellier, largely due to the location, but we probably wouldn’t rush back. There are probably better alternatives available for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

On the plus side is the location, just off Place Comedie. We had an extrta bed in our room and that made it a bit cramped but it was clean and serviceable. The towells were good but the plumbing was poor: the loo continued to flush unless you lifted the top of the cistern up each time you used it. The light in the loo was hit and miss - you had to juggle the wiring sometimes. Breakfasts were good value for money: nice croissants etc.
I have always found carpeting the walls a bit bizare but this hotel is not alone in this and the red ,cream and green colour scheme does not promote a soothing ambience. Would it be too much to ask hotels to put in reading lights that you can read by - I think these bulbs were about 20 watts. The area was seedy by day and edgy by night and there was an enormous fight outside at aboout 2 am: all a bit scary. The young men who ran the hotel were friendly, courteous and helpful. and, for the price, you could do a lot worse. All in all, despite everything, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Hotel de Paris
#64 of 93 in Montpellier
61 reviews
Comédie
Ibis Styles Montpellier Centre Comedie
Hotel Colisee Verdun
#58 of 93 in Montpellier
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De La Comedie
#38 of 93 in Montpellier
151 reviews
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#13 of 93 in Montpellier
294 reviews
Nova Hotel
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalliste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalliste

Address: 14 rue Boussairolles, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalliste 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kalliste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalliste Hotel Montpellier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing