We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grillardin

Le Grillardin
Ranked #12 of 1,377 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Ursulines
Description: In the pedestrian district of Montpellier, large and lovely terrasse ; Inside, stone walls, typical old Montpellier house. All our dishes are homemade ; we select good and fresh quality products which we cook with passion. An English menu is available.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Enjoyed Le Grillardin immensely. The food was excellent, so much so that we had to come back a few nights later. The outside dining in the crowded square created the French experience, and the attentive staff were friendly but not overbearing. The cost was also a pleasant surprise. Our best dining experience in France.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 121Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    193
    37
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soestdijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very good food, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We did not make a reservation, didn't think that would be neccessary on a Thursday. The restaurant was fully booked, but because a table was reserved from 10.30 pm (we arrived at 7pm) they gave us that table and asked us if 2,5 hours was enough for us to enjoy their food. We were happy we had a table, and we will definitly come back here!! The food is excellent!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia1961001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Le Grillardin is situated on one of the many charming little squares of the old town, lively in summer with terraces full of diners. Grillardin is a small restaurant with a limited menu, but the dishes are well prepared, balanced and very tasty. The price-quality ratio seems exactly right and the service is efficient and friendly. Certainly one of the better places for a pleasant and tasty dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a lovely meal in a delightful square, we couldn't fault the food. The young waiter didn't speak much English but was very friendly. The only downside was that their wifi didn't work as the Internet was intermittent, this resulted in the card machine not working and after trying numerous times to pay we had to pay in cash; luckily enough we had enough on us but only just and not enough to leave the tip we wanted to. They were very apologetic. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gujan-Mestras, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This restaurant offers a limited selection of starters, dishes and desserts (around 5 each maybe). I took a grilled Camembert with a saucisse (sausage) de Morteau as dish and a lemon shortbread biscuit with fresh peach as a dessert. Both were good but not excellent. Both were heavy on my stomach (which seems normal for the dish I took, but I was not expecting that from the dessert).

Except the smoke of a nearby customer, I enjoyed eating outside. The place is nice and quite calm. The waiters and waitresses were very nice. I was having dinner alone and I suspect they did their best to serve me fast so that I don't wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grillardin also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Le Grillardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing