We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely one of the best lunches in Montpellier”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Jardin des Sens - CLOSED

Le Jardin des Sens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$197
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hove
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surely one of the best lunches in Montpellier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The menu is pricey, and I'm not sure it warrants the evening prices. But, we were there for the €49 lunch, and it was fabulous. The venue is stunning: spacious, comfortable and with glorious views over the garden. The food was all exquisitely cooked (if not utterly memorable), and there were more amuse-bouches, pre-desserts and petit fours than you could shake a stick at - too many, really. The service was attentive, yet discrete, and coffee in the gardens afterwards was a real treat. We really appreciated that they did not try to rush us once there; instead, it was an easy place to allow much of the afternoon to drift by. If you are in Montpellier, and looking for a lunch to act as the centrepiece of your day, I can't believe that you'd do any better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonofpalacefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    163
    78
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The Bib Gourmand among the real stars...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We already went here for lunch in 1998 and 2000, when the restaurant had 3 Michelin stars. With now only 2 stars but still good reviews, we decided to go again to celebrate the 58 wedding aniversary of my parents. We had a nice table for 5 and the welcome was very professional.
We took the menu Déjeuner, which costs 49 €, including 1 glass of wine. this is really an excelletn offer. For such a price in most 2 star restaurants, you would expect a rather basic 3 course meal, but not in this restaurant.
The collection of amuse bouche is really impressive, starter and main dish were very good and, last but not least, the dessert is a series of delishes small desserts.
We have been in many good Michelin start restaurants in many places, but this one is in terms of overall quality and in particular price-quality the top.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
237 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great meal Very nice setting Atttentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We enjoyed the tasting menu "Sens and Saveurs" (89 Euros). All the courses were excellent and well prepared.

The setting is fabulous. Three tiers of seating in front of a huge glass wall. We could have chosen to eat outside; we chose inside. Only tables on the lowest level and a few outside were in use the night we were there.

The service was attentive and friendly. Wine and water glass were filled when needed. Bread was offered when needed. The sommelier helped us choose a good local wine. There were at least 5 or 6 waiters who brought over different courses and they explained everything well and answered all our questions.

At the end of the dinner, we spoke to and thanked the chef, who appreciated our choosing his restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The food is good, the service ok, room for improvement as the prices are the bit steep for what is on offer, Pourcel family is now everywhere this may be the reason!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relais and Chateau Spot in Montpellier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the tasting menu "Sens and Saveurs" ($89 Euros), featuring cuisine and wines specific to the local Montpellier region.

We were not disappointed. This Michelin-starred enclave was stellar in every respect.

The Maître D' and Sommelier saw to our comfort and enjoyment from beginning to end with great warmth.

For a special evening enjoy this fabulous oasis in Montpellier. If possible, book a window table looking over the garden and fountain

From the moment you enter Le Jardin des Sens you are enveloped in a genial hospitality and bathed in welcoming wishes. Relax and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Jardin des Sens also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing