We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and innovative”

La Compagnie des Comptoirs
Ranked #800 of 1,387 Restaurants in Montpellier
Price range: US$37 - US$147
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good and innovative”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had a business dinner with about 30 people. Also if we couldn't choose our food everything was very good: the amuse bouche, the meat and the wine.
The cuisine is a blend of italian and international style but the result is interesting.
The location is beautiful, specially during summer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    40
    34
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having read the reviews my wife and I decided to celebrate our 25 th wedding anniversary at this restaurant
Sadly we were disappointed. Having booked we were sat promptly and our order was taken by one of the owner brothers.
We were kindly given some nibbles while we waited.
Thirty minutes we were told that the restaurant had run out of an ingredient in my wife's starter and she had to reorder.
We given a free amuse bouche while we waited.
By the time the starter arrived it was 75 minutes after arriving and we had eaten all the nibbles a
, amuse bouche and drunk half the gorgeous wine.
The starter was fine , nothing outstanding.
When the mains arrived we were quite full , and the restaurant was boiling hot.
My risotto and my wife's gnocchi were so rich that we could each only eat a few mouthfuls.
And sadly that was that.
What started so promisingly ended badly and the meal that we looked forward to soo much was a bit of a disaster.
A real shame because the place was beautiful and service was excellent.
C'est la vie !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzman500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“oodles of yummy”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Really to good to share with anyone else, wish the chef was my best friend. If you are looking for something creative with unusual combination, this is the place to go. Booking recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Fantastic, food, wine and service”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We dined here on two evenings as the food was just too good to look elsewhere. We had the filo wrapped chilli prawns ( and unusually in France the prawns were shelled- heaven). The wagyu fillet steak was tender and tasty and the rum baba with oodles of rum poured on at the table was to die for. The wine was reasonably priced and the service discrete and excellent. There was a noisy bubbling atmosphere and the bill was reasonable. Give yourselves a treat and go there,
.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I went ther with some local friends. The location is nice and it's a great place to take a date even if it can get quite noisy on weekends.
What really blew me away is the food I ordered. I am usually not a big fan of fusion cuisine, my inclidnation goes more towards the classic French, but that time, I tried to stay open minded, and what a surprise. I ordered a dish which combines pan seared fresh foie gras and salmon. The end result was spectacular. The tastes were very subtle and interesting.
From the other review I just read, they must have hired a different chef :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Compagnie des Comptoirs also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to La Compagnie des Comptoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing