We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

As others have said - ideal location, walking distance from the station and close to a bunch of good food options. Hotel is in an old building, but is in great shape and just adds to the character of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    94
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
141
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here just for one night on the 14th August. Nimes is beautiful and the hotel is literally in spitting distance of the amphitheatre. The hotel is ancient but has been restored tastefully and simply - it has style. The room,number 8, overlooking the square, was spotless, bathroom absolutely fine, bed extremely comfortable - despite central city location best nights sleep for ages. Helpful advice on places to eat. Breakfast good especially enjoyed homemade jam. Would recommend this hotel to everyone and certainly hope to stay there again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although I have titled my review 'hidden gem' unlike others I didn't find it difficult to find at all, in fact it is signposted right outside of the Arena. We arrived in Nimes on a whim, followed the signs for the Arena car park (which is literally 5 mins walk away from the hotel), parked up and went to the tourist office in the square to get a list of hotels. Hotel L'Amphitheatre was the nearest hotel (except for one other) and when the first had no vacancies we headed straight over there. Luckily for us there was one room available - and what a room it was!! 89 Euros well spent. Room number 1 was beautiful and refurbished, as the rest of the hotel, in a sympathetic and tasteful fashion. It was probably the largest room we had in travelling around France, with an uber comfy bed.

Location was spot on being literally a stone's throw from the amphitheatre and close to lots of little bars and boutique shops. We visited a tiny local bar and a pint of lager and a wine was under 5 euros - bargain! And the locals were very friendly too.

The hotel is run by a very friendly and helpful couple who speak excellent English (he should he's from Cornwall!). Only 1 minor cricticism - the breakfast was expensive for what it was (I think it was 10 Euros) - fresh fruit, yoghurt, meats, cheese and bread. Whilst it was nice (and there were lovely homemade jams) there wasn't a lot and we have had breakfasts in a number of hotels in France which had cooked food and more choice which we felt were better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Super little hotel literally tucked away down a side street that is "pietons" ie pedestrianised so a little tricky if you arrive in a car ! Park nearby in the underground place and then walk to the hotel, We had a beautiful room with a little balcony with nice view over a little square. Interesting and friendly place and manager very helpful. Lot's of nice places to eat nearby and of course the proximity to the Ampitheatre is a massive bonus. Good place for visiting Nimes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLTRADING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Small hotel in great location within walking distance to Amphitheatre.The room although rather basic was clean and comfortable unfortunately our room overlooked a small square which was a little noisy. Lovely breakfast and the hosts (husband & wife) were delightful and extremely helpful. Public car park was a bit of a hike from hotel. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Select room away from square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The rooms were clean and fairly spacious, and the hotel owner was most helpful. We wish we had known that there was no parking anywhere near it. Our GPS and Google maps had us going in circles for a very frustrating hour, because you can't actually get there by car. We parked about ten minutes away, which was inconvenient, but would not have been a problem had we known in advance. The location is great within steps of the magnificent amphitheatre. If there is a concert and you are a light sleeper (and early to bed) , you might have a problem. Fortunately the rap concert ended at 11, so we were fine. This is a charming place with an interesting and comfortable old-world touch.

Room Tip: Be aware that you can't park anywhere near the hotel, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandMherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a lovely stay here while we were in Nimes. It was a short walk from the train station, which also helped with a day trip we made, and it was right next to the amphitheater. The staff (owner?) was very helpful and friendly. The room was tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast was thoughtfully laid out, but not very generous. That is my only criticism.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was staying in Nimes. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
0.9 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#7 of 37 in Nimes
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Nimes Gare Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#9 of 37 in Nimes
375 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 37 in Nimes
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Amphitheatre

Property: Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Address: 4 rue des Arenes, 30000 Nimes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nimes
#6 Business Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Amphitheatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel de L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing