We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

The location is unbeatable, so close to the ampitheatre. The room was lovely, high ceilings, clean and well decorated.

We parked our car underground in the ampitheatre car park, which is closed and paid €18 for 11-24 hours parking.

The doors are old with gaps and as our room was off the main staircase we could hear everyone coming and going at reception and all the way up the stairs. There were also noisy gaggles of tourist groups outside from 7am.. But I suppose this is the price you pay for an excellent location, which is just what we need on our whistle stop tour!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fimckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

We spent one night here on our tour of the south of France. Wonderful hosts. Very welcoming and helpful. Lovely big room with high ceiling and really comfortable bed. Very close to everything in Nimes. Many restaurants within 1-2 min walk! Highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gendoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Charming hotel right in the centre of Nimes. Walking distance to restaurants and overlooks a vibrant square with fun ambience. The service was very, very good. Super friendly and incredibly helpful. We were given discount vouchers and lots of sight-seeing and restaurant tips. They even did our laundry for free!! Our room had French doors that opened out to the square below. We had fun sitting above it all in the evenings after dinner with accordion playing and people socialising below us. Once the doors were closed, it was silent, so no problem with sleeping. Great value hotel, full of character and soul.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace that looks out over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here during the recent Tour de France and picked it because of its proximity to the finish line and the previous reviews on Tripadvisor. We are really glad we chose this hotel. It's run by an ex-pat from the UK and his French wife, who were full of ideas and suggestions about where to visit. They are also helpful for making calls to locals if needed - like the taxi when we were leaving to pick up a rental car. The property is made up of two 18th century townhouses, but has all the modern conveniences. We were on the third floor, which is accessed via a sweeping staircase. This might create difficulties for those with mobility issues, but it wasn't a problem for us - just something to be aware of.

As the name implies, it is located close to the Arena, not more than 50 steps outside the front door. Nothing is far from you in Nimes - nothing you'd want to visit, at least - so it is very conveniently located for touring. It's about an easy 10 minute walk from the train station as well.

The room we were in, and the others we saw, were spotlessly clean. WiFi is excellent, even reaching out to a nearby plaza containing restaurants we visited. Breakfast, while not included in the price, was very good and convenient if you don't want to hunt down some out in town.

Nimes is a wonderful town to use as a home base for this part of France, and the Hotel de L'Amphitheatre is a wonderful base in Nimes

Room Tip: Lower floor if climbing stairs is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a nice hotel with an excellent breakfast served in a small dining room on the main floor. The owner is from Cornwall in the UK and has been in Nimes for 17 years. He operates a very nice hotel that is conveniently located to major areas of interest. The room was very small but has all the amenities. Very nice modern shower with adequate places to put toiletries. There was a shortage of plugs for recharging our electronics but internet was free and easy to access. There is no safe in the room. There is no parking and we had to park quite a distance from the hotel. Be ready to do some walking. We could park next to hotel to unload our luggage and then take the car to find a parking place. There is a charge at the parking garage and they only take coins so take plenty of coins if you park at the parking garage in Nimes.
Overall we were pleased with the hotel and the service was excellent. The location was ideal. The only downside was the parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This charming hotel is located right in the historic heart of Nîmes. Rue des Arenes is a pedestrianised, narrow street. Park at the nearby Parking des Arenes and walk, alternatively, it is possible to get access to the Boulevard des Arenes, which is the closest you'll get by car.

The hotel is spread out over two old town houses, one of which looks over Place du Marché. The rooms are spacious, stylishly designed, and comfortable. The bathrooms are average for European hotels, and adequate. We had a room overlooking Place du Marché, which afforded more light, but wasn't noisy. Please note that as it's located in an old building, there is no lift (elevator). If you have heavy bags or are mobility impaired, maybe make some enquiries by email before booking. We booked two rooms in the hotel, and our travelling companions' rooms looked onto Rue des Arenes, so was a little darker, but very quiet. There's free wifi, though it is faster and better in quality the closer one is to the reception.

The hotel is excellently located, with the Roman arena literally a minutes' walk, and the Maison Carrée about 5 - 7 minutes' walk. The local markets are very close to the Maison Carrée. It's a 15 - 20 minute walk to the beautiful Jardins de la Fontaine. Essentially, all the major attractions in Nîmes are within walking distance.

The host is lovely, as other reviewers have mentioned. The woman who attended to us was able to recommend a great local restaurant nearby, let us know about recent tourist development in Nîmes, and also give us a frank opinion about the state of the local economy. Overall, for 93 euros per double, this hotel represents great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HardieBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and decided to book having read all the reviews. Firstly the downside. Not easy to find, if you have never visited Nimes before, the hotel is situated on a little side street just near to the famous amphitheatre. Parking is a no no so head for the Parking Arena car park and you will have a walk of several minutes to the hotel.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome and were allocated room 7. I was a little concerned initially that this overlooked the street but the glazing is perfectly sufficient to drown out any noise. The hotels location is a plus point in that it is less than a minute to the Amphitheatre and if you turn left you are seconds away from a labyrinth of streets full of cafes and restaurants.
Nimes is also a great spot to do a bit of touring around. I would highly recommend a visit to the lovely town of Uzes. A trip to the World Heritage listed Pont Du Gard is a must (passing very close by to the Haribo factory museum if you have kids)
If you do stay here and take a trip to the Pont Du Gard, mention it to the lady owner and she has half price vouchers.
Breakfast was continental style but overall was excellent, undoubtedly made better by the home made jams.
Would definitely stay here again if Im in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
0.9 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
3.3 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#5 of 36 in Nimes
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Nimes Gare Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Tuileries
Hotel des Tuileries
#7 of 36 in Nimes
308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vatel Hotel & Spa
Vatel Hotel & Spa
#10 of 36 in Nimes
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Amphitheatre

Address: 4 rue des Arenes, 30000 Nimes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nimes
#6 Business Hotel in Nimes
Price Range: £67 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Amphitheatre 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing