We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch setting to watch the world go by”
Review of bistrot Raoul - CLOSED

bistrot Raoul
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch setting to watch the world go by”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Decided to have lunch here as we like Rue de la Madeleine as there is always plenty to see. We opted for the set 3 course lunch and a carafe of house wine and were not disappointed. The food was beautifully presented and tasted superb. The waiters were very friendly and attentive. There was a bit of time between courses but we enjoy that as it gives you more time to people watch. My only complaint would be about the coffee. They only do a noisette which I found very strong. The dog is lovely and very well behaved!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than a bistro with canine”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Environment inside - there are several tables outside too - and the cuisine were of a higher quality than I expect from a bistro. The atmosphere is warm, with candles augmenting the electrics, but the ceiling is high like a salon. There is a real dog in there! The service was good. The food was perfect. A small selection, and the fish of the day was squid, which is cheating? However I started with an original concoction of slow-cooked lamb with aubergine pulp and herbs, which was exquisite, and followed with a fish marmite - cod, scallop, king prawn, mussels, which can be dull but was special, best I've had. Wine list is not enormous, but you can find something for most tastes. The toilet is strange, as it opens dramatically into the room, from the back, as if it were the entrance to another room. Still it's not as weird as a dog..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wearytchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Titally amezing food and catering, i really enjoy it every time i go, is my very favorite restaurant <3

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food but extremely slow service”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We visited Bistrot Raoul on recommendation from our hotel and sadly were a little disappointed. We reserved in advance but on arrival it took 30 minutes to even get a menu and almost an hour before our starters arrived. There were only 2 of us. The waiters seemed to actively avoid us and avoided making eye contact. The whole meal for 2 courses and a coffee took 3 1/2 hours, which made the whole experience unenjoyable. I don't like to rush a meal, but this was the other extreme. Shame as when the food did arrive it was lovely. Perhaps we were unlucky as the other reviews seem much more favourable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SES1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value meal”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Went the for lunch. Couple of selections were French-Asian fusion. Fantastic flavours. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. Quantities are a bit small but the quality is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBhasins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bistrot Raoul also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing