We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel outside Nimes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good value hotel outside of Nimes city. 11 Euro taxi into the town centre or 25 minute walk. Refurbished old motel. Small rooms but clean and comfortable. Secure carpark. AC was weak so the room stayed pretty warm. Very helpful staff. Decent breakfast. Terrible pillows, we found this the same in a few Campanile Hotels. Hotel is close to shops and a few restaurants. There is a good steak place called 3 Brasseries around the corner.

Room Tip: Check the AC works well in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very bare bones - more like a MOTEL by North American standards. But, it was clean and very handy off the main road. Hotel does get noisy at night as this is a favourite for tour busses. They'll unload people and drag luggage across the floors all night and thanks to paper-thin walls it makes for a long night.
We used this hotel as a stop between Carcassonne and Avignon...both within a short driving distance. Breakfast was also good although don't be late. They start clearing 15 minutes before closing time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Room was smaller than it looked on the website. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was ok in size with a full tube and shower hose. The staff was somewhat helpful and spoke some English if needed. They pointed us down the road that lead to the Roman Amphitheater which was about a 15-20 minute walk. A lift is available and the area to access both the lift and stairs requires a security code which was nice if you were traveling alone.

Room Tip: Boulangerie is close by on the main road for breads and coffee although a short walk away is another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very reminiscent of a US motel in design and location with businesses and commercial activities around. Anyone complaining about the location clearly does not realise that the clue is in the address - Zac (Zone d'activie commercial). The rooms were clean, well equipped, with comfortable beds and a perfectly serviceable bathroom. The style is standard for a Campanile. The air conditioning was excellent and, despite being in a commercial area, the rooms were very quiet. There was plenty of free parking immediately outside the hotel, but, if required, there is secure parking 50 metres away. This is charged but we felt that the location seemed safe and therefore did not use it. The bar/restaurant area was modern and comfortable. Our immediate thought, on arrival. was that we would have to drive and park into the center of Nimes but the hotel is only a 20 minute walk to, for example, Les Arenes (the Roman amphitheatre). There is an excellent bus service from immediately outside the hotel if you do not want to walk. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel doesn't equip it's bathrooms with the basic hygienic implement commonly known as "WC-brush". This has been confirmed by the hotel reception to be Campanile's corporate policy, with the motivation of the brush beeing "unhygienic".
As a result, anyone travelling in company (spouse, partner, work collegue) is subject to the stark embarrassment of beeing forced to leave traces (or worse) of faeces in the WC-bowl for his/her roommate to see, as well as for the hotel's cleaning staff. A complaint mail focused on this matter and sent through the Campanile customer service's web page has produced a generic, copy-paste automatic response: "We are sorry for any inconvenience...". This is not nearly enough to make amends for the ugly episodes that have spoilt two days of our well deserved holiday in two different and very far apart hotels of the Campanile chain, and on the same account. Because under the said Campanile policy it can happen anyone, has it happened to us, to see on arrival obvious, fresh traces of the previous user in the WC-bowl. Or find oneself late at night standing completely helpless in front of a hopelessly clogged WC. A follow-up mail to customer service asking for specific confirmation of the introduction of such a discreditable corporate policy has been ignored. So much for Campanile's customer care. Sure, whether or not to have a WC-brush handy in your home's toilet is up to you: a private matter, provided you live alone (try to sell this to any woman). But for a large, ambitious French hotel chain (not really unexpensive) belonging to the mammoth Louvre Hotel Group to introduce such a hygienic sub-standard is in my opinion unworthy and certainly not up to civilized hotel specifications the world over. More of a thirld-world thing, one could say. My wife refuses now to even hear of Campanile, the name having become synonym with primitive hygienic conditions. She has my full understanding. No more Campanile for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Hotelguest055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very basic hotel (seemed more like a motel) surrounded by the big parking lots of suburbia. That said, it is coveniently located just off the highways and main motor routes, and only a 20-25 minute walk to the city centre. Parking is free on the street but there is a charge if you want to park in their secure lot overnight.

They've clearly put some effort into redesigning their restaurant which looks quite nice, but it is style over substance with little of interest to offer on the plate.

If you're looking to be in the heart of the city surrounded by ruins and culture, pick a hotel inside the city walls. If you are using Nimes as a base to explore the region and only spending a day or two in Nimes itself, then i recommend this hotel for location alone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cokebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We reserved two rooms with double beds, but when we arrived were told that the rooms had not been reserved, and instead could only have rooms with two single beds in each. In one room the kettle didn't work. In the other it was missing altogether, with only the cordless base sitting on the table. When we queried the night manager, we were told that these things are free extras, and we shouldn't expect them to work! The rooms are grubby, and at €74 each not especially cheap. I'd recommend avoiding this one. It lets the Campanile brand down

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SushiStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Nimes Centre Gare
1.2 mi away
Ibis Nimes Ouest
Ibis Nimes Ouest
#4 of 36 in Nimes
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Nimes Ville Active
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Nimes Centre
B&B Hotel Nimes Centre
#22 of 36 in Nimes
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Costieres
Inter-Hotel Costieres
#19 of 36 in Nimes
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Nimes Ouest
Kyriad Nimes Ouest
#12 of 36 in Nimes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel

Address: 45 Rue San Lucar Zac Du | Mas-Carbonnel, 30900 Nimes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Nimes Centre Mas Carbonnel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing