We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel at hostel prices !”
Review of Le Pre Galoffre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Pre Galoffre
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nimes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I almost don't want to share such a gem incase this means it is booked when I next need it , But No ! My concience wins and you have to know about it!
The hotel is utterly charming , decorated in excellent taste , light and airy. The rooms aren't huge but I have stayed in cupboards more expensive than this ! The rooms are a good size , big enough for standard king size beds ( lovely bed linen !) with masses of clothes storage . There are large double doors which open onto an outside terrace set with a little bistro table and seating for two.TV and WiFi in everyroom.
And the service is charming and personal , this is a family run affair and they are so kind and helpful , nothing is too much trouble.
We visited in the winter but will be sure to be back in the summer, there is an alfresco restaurant next to a little swimming pool set in the gardens where I hear the cooking is superb ,offering a simple French home cooked meal , no vast menu but you eat what the family eat, guaranteed delicious.The restaurant was closed while we were there in November but the kind owner was happy for us to bring in pizzas and a bottle of wine to our room.
The hotel is situated in the countryside yet only 10 minutes by car to the centre of Nimes, it is a haven of peace and tranquility. The location is convenient to visit the south of France and is a great base from which to explore without breaking the bank . It must be noted that if you stay here you need to have your own transport.
This hotel is so reasonably priced it is possible for 2 people to have a weekend break of 3 nights hotel accommodation , budget flights from Gatwick to either Nimes , Avignon or Montpeller and a hire car for just £400 all in ! Can you beat that for a Christmas present !?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Spent a couple of nights here, whilst visiting the surrounding areas, of Nimes, Pont du Gard and Uzes all a short drive away. Hotel is family run, and everyone we met was friendly and offered an exceptional service. Rooms were clean and spacious,we had ground floor rooms where you could sit outside with a lovely courtyard and seating area. The breakfast was fresh pastries with cereal, yogurts and fruit and homemade jam, and all delicious and good value for money at 10euros.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, easy to find off the main auto route and having been in Nimes for the day, actually glad we chose this hotel instead of a city centre option.
Hotel also recommended a lovely restaurant 5mins drive away called the Brasserie L'Annexe, for good quality food at a reasonable price.
Would recommend this hotel, would love to go back in the summer, to make use of the pool and grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CafNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A nice small hotel on the outskirts of Nimes. Car essential. We spent the last night of our holiday here as it's a great location for the airport when you have an early morning flight, only 15 mins away.
Our room (209) was quite small but nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable with good quality linen. Bathroom with shower over bath. Ok but not brilliant. Nice toilettries. Our a/c and wifi worked fine.
We weren't there logn enough to use the pool or restaurnat facilites but they looked nice.
Plenty of parking

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spent three nights here, and because we had a car, decided a French country hotel would make a good base for our travels. This hotel was perfect for that. It is, apparently, a family-run hotel, and like most family-operated hotels, service was great and personal. Our room was large and clean and ready when we got there.

Getting there was the most difficult challenge. The hotel is on the Route de Generac, but there is no number, so our GPS couldn't get us there. Also, because in Nimes there is also a Rue de Generac, we ended up on the wrong "Generac." Having done some homework, and realizing the hotel was two or three kilometers south of town, we eventually found it. The hotel is in a former stone barn, and charming. Breakfasts were enjoyable and filling--served outside next to the swimming pool.

Service was very good. When I needed change from a 100-euro note, and they couldn't change it because a few minutes before a customer had changed a 500-euro note, the young girl at the desk (daughter of owner I think) offered to go into town to the bank. And she did and had my money that afternoon.

The location was a fine base for us. We drove one day to the Pont du Gard (30 minutes), to Arles (one hour) and to Nimes (15 minutes). The problem is that if you want to eat dinner away from the hotel, you have to drive there, and that is annoying. We went to the market in Nimes, picked up some picnic fixings, and had our own country meal. Also, the hotel provides a price-fixed dinner (we never tried it so I can't comment on quality) but they couldn't tell us what it was going to consist of before we left for the day, and at 25 euros per person, that was a lot to risk, especially when we were not sure when we would return from our daily sojourn.

Want a French country experience? Away from the noise and congestion of town but within a ten-minute drive--this hotel will serve you well. But ya gotta have a car!

Room Tip: Be sure you know how to find the hotel or it might be frustrating the first time (or even the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My boyfriend picked this one out and it was different than the places we usually stay at. Not very easy to find. We had to call then twice before we found it. The staff was nice and the room was fine. We didn't like the shower because it was in a bathtub and you had to hold the hand held shower head. Too much work and I can't even enjoy it. The reception area and halls are tiled and it was very noise with people talking and laughing. Bed wasn't very comfortable and the pillows were pieces of foam. I don't think we would go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel itself was very nice, a more rustic choice than some of the chain hotels we'd been staying in. We didn't take advantage of the tennis courts or swimming pool while we were there as we were using this hotel as a base to explore the area rather than to stay there and relax.

This is a lovely hotel but it could be better as others have said. The shower was my main annoyance. When it's 30 degrees outside you want a decent shower at the end of the day but it was very hard to get the shower to pick a temperature and pressure and stick with it. It would flash hot and cold without me having touched anything. I found it was bad in the mornings - when I expect you are competing with other rooms for water pressure and temperature. I found that if I had a shower at night before bed then it was totally fine, I'm guessing because less people were showering then?

Some people said the wifi was amazing although that must depend on where your room is because we couldn't get a decent signal at all. That doesn't really matter though but it might be better to improve consistency across rooms.

The room was very quiet and there was no noise from other guests. The bed seemed very comfortable until we tried to sleep on it. It's a very soft bed which is great for lazing around but when you try to sleep it's not necessarily the best thing for your back.

There was air con, although it didn't really have much of an effect so we were quite hot some nights and seemed to have a very thick winter duvet which of course we didn't need.

The decor etc is very nice and there seems to be a resident cat who was always happy to greet us. The staff were nice although we didn't have much to do with them. Upon check-in they showed us to our room and gave us the key and then promptly left, which was fine, although we didn't get the usual spiel about what time they served breakfast and use of the pool etc. Maybe if you haven't booked breakfast in advance you can't opt in? We didn't care because we didn't want the breakfast anyway.

They didn't provide instructions on returning late at night to the hotel (where there's more than ample parking) but we pushed the button for the gate and it opened immediately so that was a relief - as otherwise you're sticking out a bit on to a main road.

I don't think the hotel is good for public transport links (although there did seem to be buses going by) and yes it's a few miles out of Nimes itself so you need a car. Nimes itself is very busy and loud with a big belt of retail parks and out of town stores around the outskirts so staying outside of all this was nice.

As I said this is a nice hotel with lots of promise and will definitely give you a more rustic, French country hotel feel with a bit of luxury. A few improvements and it will be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elebrooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is situated outside of Nimes, so it's not recommended for those travelling without a car. The surroundings are very lovely. The rooms are OK, but attention to the details. The bed wasn't comforable. Showers- a bit of a nightmare. Almost impossible to fix them at the right water temperature. One of the lamps was a bit temperamental-sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldn't. It was difficult to figure out how the TV works. WIFI- hardly working.The people at the reception were very friendly and welcoming except for one lady, who was even having a go at her colleague in front of the clients. Not very professional. Also there is no luggage locker for the customers, who wish to have their suitcase stored for a few hours. We were almost left with the rebuff. The big plus was the breakfast: fresh fruit, homemade jam, etc.- tables next to the little, relaxing swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merecommere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nimes hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
2.8 mi away
Vatel Hotel & Spa
Vatel Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Nimes
284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Atria Nimes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel de L'Amphitheatre
3.3 mi away
Jardins Secrets
Jardins Secrets
#12 of 35 in Nimes
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Nimes Ouest
Ibis Nimes Ouest
#5 of 35 in Nimes
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pre Galoffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pre Galoffre

Address: route de Generac | Route de Generac, 30900 Nimes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nimes
#3 Family Hotel in Nimes
Price Range: £48 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pre Galoffre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pre Galoffre is a beautiful and peaceful typical "Mas Provencal" from the 17th century. We are welcoming you "like home" in an authentic site situated between "La Camargue","La Provence" and "La Garrigue". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Pre Galoffre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pre Galoffre Hotel
Le Pre Galoffre nîmes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing