We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and perfect location”
Review of Hotel le Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Majestic
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

the Majestic is a small traditional hotel, not really modern, but perfectly located in a quiet street between the train station and the Roman theater / "les arênes" and the pedestrian district. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundayNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked this as a last minute with wife and two daughters (and four bikes). As it was very inexpensive, we didn't expect much...but we had a very pleasant surprise!

Very friendly lady in reception (English, spoke excellent English!) made us welcome. Our room was really spacious, clean and pleasant, with good air conditioning and quirky stencilling on the walls. Bathroom was great, clean and modern. Breakfast on the patio was pretty good (better than many French hotels).

The hotel is very central (2 mins to the Arena) in a good area, with easy walking to food, drink and culture.

Really there's nothing not to like about the Imperial, and I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The big four-bed at the top of the house is great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel is near the train station so in a convienient location although I would not stay here if I was a single female or even a pair as walking around the area late at night it is a bit dodgy. Beds are comfortable and rooms warm, we had the triple room which was cleaned daily and had a lovely big bathroom and hot water shower. The room had tv and was well presented. This is definately a very good budget hotel and worth the money. My only two comment would be that I thought the reception lady was a bit rude in character, and the walls are thin...but neither of these things would stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizteral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Very good basic hotel. Totally fitted for what you pay. The showers are excellent and the location is really good for access to city centre. Would really recommend it to anyone! Perhaps not for those who are looking for a high end hotel. But or a cheap room, really go for it. Don't eat breakfast. It's not worth it as there are so many great cafes and boulangeries nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Review the check-in hours, they were about to close for cleaning when we arrived (we had reservations but might have arrived before check-in). Nimes is compact, the hotel is roughly a 5 minute walk from the train station, 7 minutes to the amphitheatre. No lift, so ask for a lower level if needed.

I think that there are renovated rooms and unrenovated ones. So-so value from a basic hotel depending on what room you get and where. We paid 80euros. We had a superior double room that was roomy, worn furnishings but clean. This is an older building, so wonky floors and wall not a big deal, comfortable beds, we did not have breakfast. Wifi did not work in our room. Pleasant staff. As with other reviewers the shower is set low, best to used hand-held. As for the location, it was fine/safe, never once did I feel unsafe, very quiet. The TV is only viewable if lying down, pretty much inconvenient. Yes there are hotels off the main square (tourist information office, I think novotel or mercure), it really depends on what you want.

Travellers from Canada

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Hotel Le Majestic is very close to train station and the centre ville. Not usually the type of hotel we would pick as we would generally go 4 * but I was impressed by the spacious room and the cleanliness of the place. Staff were friendly and the design is cosy.
It has free internet available which was easy to use.
My only complaint would be the shower the pressure was fantastic but unfortunately attached about 3 foot above the ground so you have to use it hand held. Very easy fixed by just moving it up.

Overall a nice stay in a lovely city.

Room Tip: No lifts just stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I spent three nights there and found it good. It ticked the main boxes of comfortable bed, clean room (apart from a few spots of mould in the shower), quiet and relatively cheap for the area.

Location 300m from the train station and about the same to the city centre is excellent. Staff are friendly and most speak good English.

Quibbles:
The wifi might be great if you're on the first floor, but the signal was too low to use in my room on the second floor (and there's a third floor). Time for us travellers to call hotels on this practice of putting in a cheap router and saying "wifi in all rooms". It's a con, but for very little or no extra expense, relocating the router or buying a decent one would fix it. So, the hotel does NOT have wifi in all rooms, only some lucky ones.
The TV was mounted so high on the wall, you pretty much can't watch it unless you lay flat on your back in bed. Why? Stupid!
The shower head on the other hand was mounted only about 4 feet high! So unless you're 3' 6" tall, you shower with the head (on a hose) in one hand. Why? Stupid!

But other than these easy-to-fix-if-they-care quibbles, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if wifi in your room matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gr8gra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nimes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cesar
Hotel Cesar
#16 of 36 in Nimes
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Nimes Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Cote Patio Hotel Nimes
Cote Patio Hotel Nimes
#18 of 36 in Nimes
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acanthe du Temple Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western L'Orangerie
0.8 mi away
Campanile Nimes Centre - Mas Carbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Majestic

Address: 10 rue Pradier, 30000 Nimes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Nimes
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Majestic 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel le Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Majestic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing