We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narbonne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau Haute-Fontaine
Ranked #12 of 23 Narbonne B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from our amazing holiday staying at Merlot on this very beautiful Chateau. Penny and Paul made us feel so very welcome and could'nt do enough for us they are the perfect hosts. Narbonne town is well worth a visit, as is Fontfroide Abb,Gruissan Old town, la Franqui-Plage, Canal de Midi and the locks at Foncerannes. We found the accommodation very comfortable and would love to return. This area has so much to offer and is very charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    0
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our family of four (children 4 and 7 years old) stayed in the Les Genets Gite at Chateau Haute Fontaine for a week during August 2013 and had a most wonderful holiday. The accommodation was perfect for us, roomy and charming with a well equipped kitchen and two bedrooms, double for us and twin for the kids. The adjacent grounds and vineyard and both beautiful and interesting, making this a perfect holiday location. Penny and Paul were perfects hosts; from the welcome we received, to the wine, bread and milk kindly provided on arrive and nothing was too much trouble. They made us all feel very welcome. The wine produced at the Chateau is excellent and the wine tour and tasting provided by Paul was one of the highlights of our weeks stay. The surrounding area is great for a family holiday, good beaches and swimming within 20 minutes’ drive at La Franqi and Leucate and there is lot’s to see and do in the vicinity. Peyriac de Mer is a lovely local village right by the Etang with useful local shops and a great bar / restaurant. In summary, we loved it and will be back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Les Genets gite, and loved every moment of it.

Les Genets has a double bedroom and a twin bedroom, as well as a spacious and well equipped kitchen/living room. The bathroom has a shower and twin sinks. There's a reasonably private area outside area, where we ate most of our meals, which has sun loungers, a table and chairs, and a gas barbecue. A welcome pack of bread, juice, water, and several bottles of the the vineyard wine were thoughtfully provided.

Previous reviewers have mentioned cleanliness issues, but we found the gite to be very clean and tidy when we arrived.

There's plenty to do nearby, with sandy beaches, villages with rivers to swim in, bike rides ranging from gentle to challenging (it's only 5 miles to the Abbaye de Fontfroide on the track through the hills, but it's not for the faint-hearted!) and fantastic restaurants in Bages, as well as a load of other activities that we didn't have time to try.

Penny and Paul were very friendly and welcoming. The vineyard tour was a particular highlight, and the subsequent tasting of course!

Overall, we had a fantastic time, a week definitely wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I can only assume that the previous reviewers are friends of the owners. My husband and I rented a gite called Les Lavendes for a week here in July. There is so much that could be said about this that it is difficult to know where to begin. The standard is not what I expected given the cost of rental. The gite was not clean and fell way short of our expectations. The toilet seat slid to one side every time I attempted to sit on it. The bed was uncomfortable and the room smelled of damp. The sheets did not fit the mattress. There is approx 6 inches of workspace in the kitchen. There are no shops in the nearby village of Prat de Cest. There are insects everywhere - I was bitten several times. There are cats everywhere, about 12-20 of them. I would say that this gite is to be avoided.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband & I had the two bedroom gites, "Les Lavandes" - plenty of space, used the 2nd bedroom to store all our luggage etc. (part of a three week tour) - we stayed here for a week. We are hoping to return next year for two weeks. (There is still so much to see and visit.)
We were greeted by Penny, with a welcome pack of 3 x botles of their delicious wine, bread, orange juice, water, milk and other provisions. Penny suggested many places to visit and gave us local maps and info. It was great after a day out to chill outside in our garden till very late, burning candles, drinking (and sometimes a bbq) planning the next day`s excurtions. On our last evening Paul gave us a visit around the vinyard and was extremely informative in answering our many questions.
Such a relaxing atmosphere, and wonderful hosts. Can`t wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I booked Les Lavendes, two of my daughters, with husbands and children booked the other two gites. Penny and Paul could not be more helpful and informative. Not only did we have an excellent tour of the winery but Penny came up with the perfect place to visit on our way back to Beziers airport. They both looked after us all extremely well.

The gites way spacious, well equiped and the wine delicious. The shops not too far away and some really good restaurants within eay reach. So many places to visit, so much to see, we should have taken an extra week.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We went back to haute Fontaine, having stayed in the large gite (maison java) before. This time we just had a night in the chamber d'hotes, which was comfortable and clean. We chose the rooms with a floral an an indian theme, but the Moroccan and African rooms were also lovely.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and of course the wine is as good as ever.

I would recommend haute Fontaine for anyone looking for an authentic and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbonne
2.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Narbonne Sud
Ibis Budget Narbonne Sud
#8 of 22 in Narbonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
0.2 mi away
La Pinede D'Estarac
La Pinede D'Estarac
#1 of 2 in Bages
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Maison Gustave
La Maison Gustave
#3 of 23 in Narbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Tour du Chateau
La Tour du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Ventenac-en-Minervois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
12.0 mi away
Au Paradis Cathare
Au Paradis Cathare
#2 of 23 in Narbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Haute-Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Haute-Fontaine

Property: Chateau Haute-Fontaine
Address: Domaine de Java | Prat de Cest, 11100, Narbonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Narbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Narbonne
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing