We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Narbonne Sud
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very pleasant overnight stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August - the weather at our rented holiday home further north near Cahors was poor so we decided to make for the coast for a couple of says where Meteo France was predicting good weather.

Having had a great day on the beach we needed an overnight hotel and pleasingly we were able to secure 2 rooms at the Novotel without pre booking. So what was it like ? It is not in a great part of Narbonne unless you like retail parks so nowhere to walk to or anything to see locally. There is a large car park covered in CCTV - great, inspires confidence.

The reception staff were super friendly, helpful and courteous - no offhand grumpy staff here. The rooms were clean and air conditioned - standard Novotel room but non the worse for that.

We all made use of the small unheated pool - reception provided pool towels free of charge and were able to book a table for the 5 of us on the terrace for an evening meal.

The bar staff were again very polite - but ouch the drinks are expensive 7 euros for a large beer. The evening meal was surprisingly good, nothing too adventurous but my steak frites was well cooked and the family all enjoyed their meals too. Wine prices were also steep.

Breakfast was mind blowingly expensive 15euros a head - so we ducked out and went into the city centre and found a cafe - a large creme and croissant for 2 euros being much more like it !!

So to conclude would we stay again - yes we would for one or possibly two nights - felt safe and clean, food was decent but do watch some of the prices. The highlight was undoubtedly the charming and friendly staff who all spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outtheoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    264
    188
    76
    22
See reviews for
257
199
26
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived very late on a Saturday to this hotel. The man who checked us in was very friendly so was the rest of the staff! Very pleasant! The room was simple and clean! Just what we expected from Novotel!!!!Good breakfast!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkka_form_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just fine,clean,pleasant staff and a very good breakfast,what more could you want?
Its way out of town,fine if you are a motorist but I walked from the station through the litter strewn streets of Narbonne dodging the dog mess all over the pavements.
Its not a place I would want to return to, even the town centre was spoilt by revving motor bikers.
But the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredbout, Gérant at Novotel Narbonne Sud, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Narbonne Sud.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Frédéric BOUTROUX General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just ok.

Usual Novotel fixtures but hotel is quite old and has an out dated feel about it.

Check in guy was nice and efficient.

Room was hot and stuffy.
Air con did nothing to alleviate this problem so had to leave window open.

Parking was free and hotel had easy aceess to highways which is why we chose it.
However there are many other hotels in this area and if I were to stay again I would choose one of them.

For the price paid I expected more.

Breakfast was good. Excellent choice and well presented.

Unfortunately our opinion of this hotel was not helped by the three guest standing outside our window for an hour from 2am smoking and talking (making no attempt to be quiet)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredbout, Gérant at Novotel Narbonne Sud, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hello, I'm surprise because we have not the climatisation in winter. You say also that all was good so it's the most important things for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Moving from Novotel in Toulouse to Narbonne we had high expectations. However, we were very disappointed with the Novotel in Narbonne Sud. On our arrival the reception staff were disinterested and detached. Our room was very ordinary. After settling into our room I approached the reception staff again to request a map of the area and was surprised when the receptionist said in a very loud voice 'What'. This isn't how guests expect to be treated when they are paying a reasonable price for a hotel room. Reception on our second night was an improvement. All up, our best experience was the breakfast staff who was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank najneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Narbonne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just chose this hotel at random as we passed through Narbonne - it proved to be a really good choice. Our room for 3 was a reasonably sized, had comfy beds and a good shower. The onsite restaurant had a small menu, but the food was good as was breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narbonne hotels
1.8 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
0.1 mi away
Ibis Narbonne
Ibis Narbonne
#13 of 22 in Narbonne
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Campanile Narbonne
Campanile Narbonne
#9 of 22 in Narbonne
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 22 in Narbonne
159 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#2 of 22 in Narbonne
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Narbonne 1
B&B Hotel Narbonne 1
#16 of 22 in Narbonne
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Narbonne Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Narbonne Sud

Property: Novotel Narbonne Sud
Address: 130 rue de l Hotellerie | Quartier Plaisance, 11100, Narbonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Narbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Narbonne Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Narbonne Sud is a hotel located near the A9 motorway and close to beaches. The hotel offers 96 rooms, including two with facilities for guests with limited mobility, a restaurant, bar and ten conference rooms for your meetings and seminars for up to 200 people. This 3 star hotel is equally suited to a business trip to Narbonne or a holiday in the Languedoc Roussillon region with your partner or family. Guests also enjoy the benefit of free private parking and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Narbonne Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Narbonne
Narbonne Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing