We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Nice old hotel, Staff friendly and helping. Room was very clean and beds comfortable. Good arrangement for parking. We stayed there for 7 nights. We used this location as our base to visit other cities (Sete, Millau, Carcassonne, Perpignan, Béziers and many other places. Hotel is very close to the .Grande Place. restaurants and cafés. Wifi was free but couldn't get the signal from my room, had to go to the common area downstair, very fine from there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where Wifi signal is good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    151
    50
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
213
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

stayed two nights there, in different rooms. one night in the upper floor the room was perfect, really nice setting of furniture etc.; even a little "balcony" though you can't sit on it. the second room was not as nice but still good.
overall a clean place with atmosphere and nice staff. Nice surrounding, sights in walking distance

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_1982_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night on our way from Spain to the Alps.
As we had the last room, it was very small but confortable.
The staff was helpful and the breakfast was ok.
It is ideally situated for the town centre and the restaurants there. We were lucky to benefit from one of the garaged parking spaces, so we did not have to worry about leaving some cases in the car. All in all a good stopover city hotel .

Room Tip: Book early and I was told room 30 was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narbonne2011, Propriétaire at La Residence, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Hello and thank you for your contribution. For information, the minimum size of our rooms are 16 m2 for standard rooms, 20 m2 for comfort rooms and a minimum of 24 m2 for superior rooms.
Looking forward to recieving for your next visit in Narbonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel centrally located in the heart of Narbonne with all that the city has to offer within walking distance. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a big and modern bathroom. Hotel was nice and quiet, staff very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a small garage with room for only two cars. Even though I hadn’t booked parking, they managed to make room for my car for the night.
The breakfast is typically French continental with a selection of croissants, baguettes, jam, cheese and ham. Nothing special, but all fresh and nice.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay, but the hotel rates are a bit too high to get full marks from me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narbonne2011, Propriétaire at La Residence, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
Our breakfast buffet offers a variety of products (salted and sweet) focusing on regional products of the season labeled "South of France" or "Cathar Country" (seasonal fruit, melon, cookies or honey). We also offer a variety of Bio products like bread and jam.
Regarding rates, our rates are in the range of tariffs generally practiced in this season by the hotels of equivalent standard. To take advantage of more attractive prices, we invite you to visit our area outside the high season to enjoy the beauty of our region in tranquility and softer prices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Very convenient, staff very helpful & co operative. Prime location for visiting Narbonne. Easy access by car. No parking provided, advert indicated there was parking available, when we checked into hotel we were totd only two parking spaces available within hotel and both were not available to us while we were staying in hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narbonne2011, Propriétaire at La Residence, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay. To facilitate your arrival, there is a minute stop outside the hotel to unload luggage and the best solution to park safely is to go to the Médiathèque Parking within 100m of the hotel (Guarded underground parking). The hotel has only two parking spaces that are reserved in priority for disabled guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at La Residence in Narbonne recently for 2 nights. The hotel is just off the main street where the canal runs through, right around the corner from a major bus stop. The office of tourism is also just around the corner.

The receptionists were very helpful & spoke excellent english. The restaurant they recommended (less than 50 m away), Melo, Meli, was superb! They cook the meat over an open fire & it has a lovely atmosphere.

The room was very comfortable, had tea & coffee making facilities & a very modern bathroom, with a high pressure shower. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, so I can't make any comment on the value. We walked to Les Halles, for the food market each morning, to have breakfast.

This hotel is in an excellent location for seeing Narbonne, we also caught the bus to Narbonne beach, it only took 40mins & cost 1 euro each way! As I said, the staff were very kind & helpful - for directions, calling a taxi or restaurant recommendations, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hotel is close to everything, shopping, canal, square, restaurants, cathedral, office du tourism. Room was nice, large enough, clean, quiet and comfortable. Amenities were nice. Breakfast was large for european standards and very good. Hotel suggested a restaurant that we enjoyed.

Our issue was with the people of the city, Narbonne. Narbonne was crowded. They were doing some sort of gigantic road construction project that created traffic, noise, and difficulty getting around. I am not sure if the stress from this caused everyone to seem unfriendly, but we felt like cars would try to run over pedestrians, and people seemed generally unwelcoming. I would not return to Narbonne and couldn't see why it was so crowded.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwsiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narbonne2011, Propriétaire at La Residence, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We are very sorry not to have presented Narbonne in the best light! The major work that took place on the streets bordering the canal have really put a strain on our nerves and we look forward to everything done in order to present a city embellished and soothed. As part of this development, new spaces will be reserved for pedestrians and access along the canal completely transformed! A visit not to be missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narbonne hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
5.8 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 22 in Narbonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 22 in Narbonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#7 of 22 in Narbonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Will's Hotel
Will's Hotel
#13 of 22 in Narbonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Narbonne Sud
Novotel Narbonne Sud
#10 of 22 in Narbonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: 6 rue du 1er Mai, 11100, Narbonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Narbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Narbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of town and within walking distance of historic monuments of Narbonne, enjoy the comfort of a 3-star hotel where everything is provided for your relaxing holiday or business trips.Veritable institution of Narbonese hotels , La Residence is housed in a nineteenth century mansion that ombines charm and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Narbonne
La Residence Hotel Narbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing