We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Perpignan
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean and spacious family room for 5. Location was great. Breakfast was typical continental, all very fresh and plentiful and fair value. Staff were helpful and friendly. Perfect for an overnight enroute stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rthit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed for one night in May and was an OK experience. Hotel is central so good location and clean. Thats about it as the room was tiny with a small window looking at a wall but I was told it was forbidden to open even this small window. The owners constantly hover around you making you feel uncomfortable even resting in the small lobby.

Not a great experience but i guess you get what you pay for,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobsang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We travel as a family with 3 kids (aged 7, 5 and 3 as of this review). We needed somewhere with a room for five in the center of Perpignan. This was by far the cheapest option at the time, 88€ for a room (#42) with a double bed, a single and a bunk bed.

We had read about the poor breakfast but since it is convenient not to move from the hotel for breakfast with children we went ahead at 7,50€/adult and 4€/child. It was very basic: bread, croissants (which were quite nice), cereal and fruit basically. Fortunately they only charged for the breakfast of our two older kids which was kind of them.

As said throughout most of the reviews Hotel Alexander is a good value for price no frills well located hotel with an average (non hot) breakfast. But good enough for us travelling as a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Room number 42 caters for 5 with a double bed, a single and a bunk bed.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we-travel-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

In a great location, within easy reach of the major sites and the shopping centre. Our room looked over the street, but nevertheless was very quiet. The bathroom was tiny, but you get what you pay for. This was a good "value for money" option and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

For a reasonably priced hotel right in the centre of the city it is OK. The rooms are not very large, the shower room iwas small with no shelves and the clothes hanging space is minuscule. However the staff are friendly and for a one night stay it's acceptable but beware as our room had a distinct tobacco odour from a previous visitor no doubt. Room was otherwise clean and the breakfast was pleasant with a selection of cheese and meats.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street are from the first floor upwards, double glazed and quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Arrived late, and were expecting better. Shown as 3* but was really basic. Two people can't fit in the bathroom, and only a tiny shower. Room was clean but basic. payment taken after we came in from a meal. A/C worked, and was welcome, but again, basic unit, either on (blasting away) or off. We did not sleep well. Red Hotel sign flashed away all night outside the room, we felt we were in a brothel!! They refused to fill our flask with water!! Sorry, not a good one, never again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, try to get an inside room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboyprowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

No frills hotel, clean and comfortable but basic and located about three minutes from the medieval gate to the old city and 20 minutes walk from the station.
Note that on most days you need to give notice if you want to leave before 7am as the door is locked. Breakfast is more generous than in many French hotels, but also needs to be booked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perpignan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Loge
Hotel De La Loge
#11 of 46 in Perpignan
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel balladins Perpignan
Hotel balladins Perpignan
#31 of 46 in Perpignan
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mondial
Hotel Mondial
#23 of 46 in Perpignan
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Perpignan Mediterranee
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Windsor
0.4 mi away
Nyx Hotel
Nyx Hotel
#1 of 46 in Perpignan
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: 15 boulevard Georges Clemenceau, 66000, Perpignan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Perpignan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Perpignan
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alexander 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing