We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing compared to Avignon, Carcassonne, etc...”

Palais des Rois de Majorque (Palace of the Kings of Majorca)
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Perpignan
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nothing compared to Avignon, Carcassonne, etc...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Worth visiting if it's on your way, otherwise if you have the ability to see the myriad other castle-cities in Southern France, this one is not worth it. Our kids were quite bored, nothing special to explore, quite barren overall, and it will take you 45 minutes start to finish. Interestingly, they had a modern art exhibit that was probably more interesting than the castle itself. Self-guided tours only (we visited in early May/ off-season).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    336
    133
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great view from top of tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Good and informative guide in English. 360view of sea and mountains from top of tower. A number of rooms were closed for renovation

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hillfieldjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just an empty building”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have visited many castles in my European travels. This one is the least memorable. Touring this castle is akin to looking at just a thing. The castle is pretty intact. There is a lot of potential for a more interesting visit. There is no furniture or furnishings to look at. Just an empty building. Pretty much a wasted asset for the city. On the up side the admission cost is minimal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genval, Belgium
Level Contributor
314 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Utterly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Even though this is a landmark in Catalan history, there's actually very little left to see in this otherwise immense palace. Most rooms have been refitted, some even plastered to be transformed into galleries. This was to me the worst example of modernization ever seen, especially since this palace has no equal in Europe. To visit on am improbable rainy day...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cimmerianbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Palace in the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We only went here on the last day of a fortnight's holiday, and were really glad we finally made it. It was an overcast day and it started raining while we were there, which may account for the small number of other visitors that day. We particularly enjoyed the fragments of painted plaster and the creaky wooden stairs, and looking out over the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais des Rois de Majorque (Palace of the Kings of Majorca) also viewed

Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Perpignan, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Palais des Rois de Majorque (Palace of the Kings of Majorca)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing