We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambres de l'Artemise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chambres de l'Artemise
Ranked #2 of 43 Uzes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for four nights and added an extra night as we were enjoying it so much.
Every detail was thought of in advance . The rooms are divine and comfortable and the art was interesting and added to the charm of the place.
Breakfast was a treat and served overlooking the exceptional garden.
Benoit is the host and is extremely knowledgable about the local area.
The pool area and spa are some of the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
216
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I have two words for you "book it"!! L'Artemise was everything we dreamed about for our vacation in Provence. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the gardens are immaculate and the surroundings are just gorgeous. We wish we had booked a longer stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gt2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

L'Artemise was the first stop of our honeymoon. As soon as we set foot on the grounds we knew we were in for a relaxing and luxurious stay. Not only was the Hope Suite the most beautiful room we had ever stayed in but it was so incredibly comfortable as well. The spa area felt like a magical cave and the private garden was just the cherry on top of the most delicious sundae we had ever tasted. Speaking of food, their restaurant was top notch. Such interesting and delicious cuisine, I highly recommend the 5 course tasting menu. Lastly, the staff are quite possibly the nicest and most accommodating people you will ever meet. We stayed for 3 days, but I could have stayed forever.

Room Tip: The Hope Suite is beautiful and has a little nook inside the spire that is perfect for a post flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband stumbled upon les Chambres in an internet review just days before we were to arrive in France...and what a happy accident!! We arrived quite late, but were warmly welcomed by Benoit and shown to our incredible room--after our long drive, the large soaking tub was quite the welcome sight! The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with very high quality ammeneties. In addition to everything you could need in the bathroom (organic body products, robes, etc), there was a well equipped kitchenette within the walk in closet (of which we took full advantage, after stocking up on local delights at the town market day), as well as a delightful pool kit replete with tote, towels and flip flops. The very private outdoor space is the perfect place for an afternoon nap on the outdoor bed, or a glass of wine in the evening. The breakfast on the beautiful loggia was wonderful, and prepared by the most charming staff. We spent our first day exploring the charming town of Uzes, and made good use of the pool (and honor bar rose'!) in the afternoons. The staff is beyond accommodating. Benoit, the owner, personally checked in on us, and made many, many outstanding recommendations for restaurants, places to explore, etc--even calling ahead to make reservations for us. This personal touch was an absolute game-changer...he quickly discerned our tastes and made spot-on suggestions, so not a moment of our stay was wasted trying to figure out where to go or eat. Also not to be missed is the incredible spa, with steam and dry saunas, hot tub and pool. The restaurant is incredible--be sure to make reservations (it has its own review page). The town of Uzes is within easy reach of the Provence "must-sees" like Avignon, Arles, etc...but after a day or two, we found ourselves not wanting to venture out, but rather to take in all that is Uzes. It really is the most romantic, relaxing and enchanting place we've ever stayed. We enjoyed our stay at les Chambes so much, in fact, that our 3 night stay turned into 6...and that wasn't even enough--we just left two weeks ago, and are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: All beautiful and unique--the booking site allows you to view each room and the featured art.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99KM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was very beautiful - great for a peaceful quiet getaway. We went as a couple and enjoyed it immensely. The roads are very narrow - so be prepared to back up if a car is coming the other way. It is not a place for children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at les Chambres de l'Artemise again last week-end. It has become one of our favourite places to stay. The hosts Pierre and Benoît are warm, welcoming and have a wonderful sense of humour. They always make us feel at home - and what a home! We stayed in the room Twilight this time. Each room has its own unique character and is named after the works of contemporary photography and art that are shown in it. The decoration is elegant and understated, with very high-quality materials and design. Twilight actually has its own little private garden with a lounge bed in it you can access directly from the room down some steps. Each room has its private outdoor space, but Twilight's is right outside the room. The pool, which we were able to use as the weather was beautiful, is a real haven of peace. The flowers and greenery around it create a private cocoon, and the sounds of birds, rustling wind and the lovely contemporary fountain make you never want to leave. They have created a gorgeous kitchen garden just under the windows of the old abbey, with herbs, flowers, fruit and vegetables that find their way onto the table at the restaurant l'Artemise (which is a real gastronomic treat and a must to try!). The breakfast is fresh, copious and varied. Everyday there is a different flavour of "fromage blanc mousse", fresh pastries and cakes, and unusual, heavenly homemade jams. Hats off to the charming Spanish waitress at breakfast and the inimitable, incredibly knowledgeable Victor at the restaurant. Special mention too for the newest installation, by Laurent Grasso, a poetic wheel of light set into the back of what used to be the leper's grotto at the back of the abbey. A detail that epitomizes the quiet sophistication and magic of the whole place. (There is also a lovely spa and fitness center, and you can walk to the center of Uzès down a quiet lane in about 10 minutes)

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, large and beautifully equipped. Our room was particularly private, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shermok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is an excellent place of very high quality, quiet and professional service, a beautiful renovation of a 16th century building in a peaceful enclave a few minutes from the centre of Uzes. We spent two relaxing days enjoying the atmosphere and the very fine food. Congratulations to Benoit and Pierre for creating this little gem.
N

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marilyn Room which is perfect for couples with views from three sides of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uzes hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#3 of 12 in Uzes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Uzes Pont du Gard
0.8 mi away
Hostellerie Provencale
3.1 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambres de l'Artemise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres de l'Artemise

Property: Chambres de l'Artemise
Address: Chemin de la Lauze, 30700, Uzes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Uzes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the peaceful setting of a one-hectare garden with views on the Eure's valley and the Ventoux Mountain and only a few minutes walking distance from the Place aux Herbes, this XVI century Mas which belonged to Uzes' bishops offers five luxury rooms and suites and contemporary designed carved out of the emblematic stone of the Gard.The house was built at the end of the sixteenth century. To the Northwest, a nice corner tower rests on four circular pillars. The Mas also includes a pigeon loft where the door is surmounted by a rectangular gable and first floor gallery decorated with doric columns.Our gourmet restaurant is located on the premises (in summer opened every day except Tuesday for lunch and dinner and Saturday for lunch). Gaëtan Le Guyadec offers a surprise menu at 50 euros (4 courses) or 65 euros (5 courses).Breakfast (10 euros per person) is served from 9am to 11am on the first floor gallery weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chambres de l'Artemise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing