We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suffolk2013”
Review of Grandmont Gites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grandmont Gites
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We are a family of 3, 2 adults and one 11 year old - What a brilliant holiday - the best we've ever had! Tony and Caroline are brilliant hosts and we couldn't have asked for more. The gites are lovely and well equipped and situated in the most beautiful surroundings. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and well thought out with everything you could possibly need for a first night. We all really enjoyed all the activities on site - horseriding, swimming in the immaculate pool, and quad biking and offsite the canoeing and the tree climbing assault course (all organised by Tony and Caroline). Plenty to keep you busy but also the perfect setting for just chilling out. Tony's meals were delicious and superb value. We will definitely be going back. This is a very special place run by very special people who have got it just right.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

As a family of 4, 2 Boys and 2 adults, boys were in element having taken the motocross bikes they endlessly explored the surrounding forests. Horses for me. Caroline, Tony and Katie make excellent hosts. Gite was immaculate, welcome pack of obligitory bottle of Rose and french stick very much appreciated. Pool was a lovely temperature "does not take breath away when you step in". Gite also has every kind of pot, pan, utensil that you could possibly need, not the usual token gesture of 1 pot and a couple of utensils.
A really good place to stay to explore the wonderful area, Oradour Sur Glane, Arnac Pompadour for all you horse lovers out there, Uzerche excellent for canoeing, Lac Saint Pardoux everything is within 45 mins of your every need.
I think it is fair to say Grandmont Gites are a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

As a family a 5 , 2 adults and 3 kids 10/8 & 4 we stayed at Grandmont for a week. It was excellent, lovely heated pool and loads of space in the Gite. Very clean and well maintained. They even had a welcome pack of the essentials when we arrived . The surrounding countryside is beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay there and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireland2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Grandmont Gites is heaven on Earth. Our family spent 5 weeks travelling through Europe. We saw the great cities, the Alps and lovely coastal villages but our 3 nights at Grandmont was an absolute highlight for both the adults and kids. The surrounding forests were stunning and we had a fantastic time exploring the tracks on the quad bike, mountain bikes, horses and by foot. The accommodation was lovely, the welcome pack a nice touch and the pool and lawn area were greatly appreciated by all. As for Tony and Caroline .... what can I say? Thanks - you could not be better hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

WOW!!!! we have just returned from our stay at the 'Horseshoe' Gite at Grandmont and cannot praise the hosts or their accommodation enough. We stayed at the Gite on 2 occasions, once on the way down to the South and then again on the way back, 2 weeks later. The whole complex is spotless, the Gite equipped with everything you could require for cooking including the essentials such as bread, milk, tea bags and most importantly wine - which after 7hrs in a car with 4 children under 11 was much needed :-) We were fortunate enough to book dinner which was served the first night by the pool and the second in the Gite - Tony all I can say is Masterchef is awaiting someone like you you would really impress to say the least! Goats cheese, Salmon, home made Chicken pie, the list was endless and all a feast for the eyes and belly! Caroline and Katy made our girls stay at the Gite the ultimate event of the holiday with horse rides and horsey presents when they left (your be pleased to know they took them to school and showed them off today with tales of the horses and your wonderful home!) I suppose the best compliment that I can give this wonderful place and its gracious hosts is that we intend to book and take over all 3 Gites next summer so that our whole family can experience such a wonderful place, people and facilities - and hopefully Tony's cooking if he will have all 14 of us for dinner :-) Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you all again soon, in the mean time keep up the fantastic work as you are truly special at what you do and what you have to offer is priceless x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at Grandmont Gites for a week in the Horseshoe gite, which was rustic and charming--with plenty of space for our family of 7. There was truly something for everyone at Grandmont. The owners, Tony and Caroline, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We swam in the beautiful pool, bbq'd, rode their sweet horses, watched movies from their library, rode their quad through the fields, played ping-pong, went on long walks through the gorgeous countryside, dined on delicious local cheeses and wines--simply had the best week ever! We will never forget our time spent in this special part of France. Thank you again to our hosts for making our family vacation so special. We would recommend this one of a kind vacation spot to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent a week at Grandmont Gites in May and had a totally idyllic time. Tony, Caroline and Katie were really friendly and went out of their way to make everything stress-free and relaxing. The accommodation was spacious, clean and well-decorated... nice and quiet too. We spent the week walking in the beautiful local hills, lazing by the pool and eating lots of cheese. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limoges hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
#4 of 45 in Limoges
666 reviews
2.8 mi away
P'tit Dej Hotel Limoges Nord
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#5 of 45 in Limoges
516 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#36 of 45 in Limoges
84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Limoges Nord
Campanile Limoges Nord
#10 of 45 in Limoges
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandmont Gites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandmont Gites

Address: St Sylvestre, 87240 Limoges, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Limoges
Price Range: £101 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandmont is a high quality gite comlex, ideally situated amongst the Monts D'Ambazac and is one of the few areas of France that offers everything from extreme outdoor sports to just relaxing by the lake. Renowned for its stunning views and breathtaking scenery it is rich in history and culture, and for those who enjoy their food and drink, there is a superb range of local dishes and wines to enjoy. Grandmont itself, is set amongst the forest of Ambazac. There are miles of unspoilt forest to walk and explore. You can use your mountain bikes to explore the tracks from your doorstep, horse ride through the woods, spend the day fishing at one of the many lakes around the property. For the more adventurous, off road motorbikes tours can be arranged nearby or you can hire our road legal quad for the day....... Or just bring a book and relax by the pool. Whatever you want from your holiday, you will find it at Grandmont. We have 3 gites available all year-round and also offer rentals between September and April. Gite Les Arbres sleeps up to 5 guests. Gite Les Fleurs also sleeps up to 5 guests while gite Les Vignes sleeps up to 7 guests. The gites are charming, stylish and cosy. The outdoor salt-water heated pool is situated in t remain garden and available to all guests of Grandmont Gites. In addition we have outdoor table tennis and other garden games available. We also have a games area in our barn with pool table, indoor table tennis, darts, punch bag and an extensive dvd, board games and book library free to our guests as well as mountain bikes. We can provide meals by arrangement, served in the grounds or in the gites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing