We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming French hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Paris
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming French hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a short holiday near Limoges. I'd read some critical comments before arriving but was delighted to find the hotel to be elegant with lots of charm. The comments about the manager were spot on, he was so helpful and genuinely went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. Okay so it didn't have tea making facilities but if that is important then stay at a generic hotel in a chain. The breakfast room was delightful, breakfast simple but better than many hotels costing more, endless coffee, very fresh bread etc.
Our room overlooked the park and had a free large public car park opposite. We would choose to stay again if visiting the area and have stayed in the number 1 choice hotel on TA in the city.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room at the front of the hotel, the basic room would be okay for a short overnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8tie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    131
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
43
136
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Only stayed one night but would recommend staying more. Manager could not have been more helpful. Spoke good English which for us was great as our French was not good. Room was great in an old character building walking distance to all the sights.
Beds were good and bathroom huge.

Room Tip: we booked a bigger twin room and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A reasonable and decent old hotel, clean and quite comfortable, friendly staff, not far from the center. We spent two days in Limoges, enough for us to leave with a good overall impression: pleasant walk on the old streets, many brands of china, a cluster of cheap porcelains and special collections, excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: There is no lift and can be quite difficult to pull your suitcase on the stairs .. otherwise very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. Lovely old hotel, fabulous staircase! Guy on reception couldn't do enough for us, really helpful. Would definitely stay again.
Limoges itself is a lovely place . Lots of bars/restraunts & the shops are fab!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September in an Elegance Double room. Large room and bathroom. The guy who checked us in recommended excellent restaurants. The location is close to the train station but far enough away that it was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was very good with endless coffee. I would definitely stay here again. We spent 30 days in France at various hotels. This was one of the better values.

Room Tip: The Elegance Double is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeLegDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for an overnight in August. I have to say, we found it to be a rather typical TA recommendation - ie long on "character", short on quality and, I have to say, value. Our room had a high ceiling, yes. But it was small, dark, airless, overlooked an ugly back yard, the wallpaper was peeling, the furniture was all of very poor quality, (the sofas were just horrible and looked like they'd been picked up cheap in a junk shop), the linen and towels were just OK, the fittings all old. We booked about two months in advance for this. The bathroom was good however. Breakfast (for 7 Euros) was coffee and pastries, no fruit or cereals. They are friendly and helpful here but to be honest, for 175 euros for two doubles with that breakfast, we'd have done better in a less "characterful" but better appointed chain hotel. Is it in a good location? It's on the edge of the central town, opposite a car park where prostitutes ply their trade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Its grandeur may be slightly faded, but Hotel de Paris retains enough character and charm with a personal touch to be a good choice for somewhere between the tremendous Benedictines station and the old city. Very good value, facing the park and station and perfectly comfortable. Room a little tired but good view. Would recommend for an overnight or weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
0.2 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#26 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#7 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
#11 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Property: Hotel de Paris
Address: 5 cours Vergniaud, 87000 Limoges, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Paris 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing