We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned charm with very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Limoges
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm with very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The Office of Tourism found this hotel within our budget at late notice. Room was old fashioned in decor but very clean and the shower was good and plenty of hot water. Only problem was the bolster on the bed, instead of pillows, which was very uncomfortable but I guess we could have asked for pillows if we had realised in time. Thin walls were not a problem (as per previous reviews) as we seemed to be only one of two couples staying! Continental breakfast was good and overall, value for money, right in the heart of Limoges.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bushbaby050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
32
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
france
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed here several years ago when it was fine, but rather scruffy. This time we were pleasantly surprised to find that the whole place had been overhauled - it's now bright and clean and inviting. Our room (one of the cheapest) was neat and quiet and though all the rooms lead off a long corridor we had no problems at all with noise from other guests. There was a mix-up with our booking when we arrived, but this was solved quickly, pleasantly and without fuss - the owner/manager is approachable and helpful and seems to be working hard to make the hotel a success. All in all a very nice stay - one good reason for staying over in Limoges is always a visit to brasserie michard which brews several beers on site and serves them with excellent Flamenkuchen...great atmosphere; a fun night out!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vigonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

This hotel is old but quaint. Room was large and old fashioned - but clean and functional. walls are thin but we didn't hear anyone in the hotel. We could hear people in the park opposite at night but it didn't cause a problem.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - my wife was sick in bed and they offered and supplied breakfast to the room.
Decor is interesting - history of the phonograph.
Close to centre, banks, and about 5 mins to a supermarket.
We enjoyed it and would come back again as it is very good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed in this hotel for two nights recently, after all flights from Limoges had been cancelled. Hotel staff were very kind, one of them offering to look up available accommodation in Nantes for me, where I had intended to travel to the day after my arrival. Hotel itself is centrally located. This, along with the helpfulness of the staff here, are what influenced me to stay the second night. Continental breakfast was available at an extra cost, but very good value.
I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again in the future if I were to go back to Limoges.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Considering the cost and the friendly staff we had a good time staying here. The unusual atmosphere means this is a welcome break from the more modern hotels. Maybe not everyone's cup of tea though:-)

As other reviews have said this is a quirky, friendly hotel, however be aware of its shortcomings. Some of the room interior could be described as a bit 'basic' and dated, whilst the walls and ceilings seem to be as thin as paper...any noise from the room above will be heard.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afcb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

The previous reviews are all correct. Lovely hotel with character and the bolster pillows are surprisingly comfortable. All the staff we dealt with spoke English. Don't bother with the breakfast, most French cafes allow you to have a coffee while bringing your own pastries in to eat. Plenty of hot water in the room. Our room 18 was large with a bath and overlooked the road which was not too bad as Limoges is not an all night city. There are notes in French in the rooms asking guests to be quiet between 22.30 and 7.30 but some guests were very loud from 6.30 on the morning we were there.
We felt very safe in all areas of Limoges at all times of the day and night and did not see any drunks or anti social behaviour. We found it to be a very pretty city worth a couple of days visit. There is a good marked walk with signs in English of sites of historic interest .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

Our "Let's Go" lists the Hotel de la Paix and it fitted our requirements of being within walking distance to the railway and the centre of town, and within our budget so we rang and booked a room the night before from Montpellier.

Our limited French was sufficient to get us a booking. (we are a pair of Aussies in our late 50's)

As most have said in these reviews, the hotel is delightful, clean and good value. We found the breakfast fine and being served up in a dining room full of antiques made it even better.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, looking out over a car park and leafy park and the owner is very friendly.

The town itself however is not very nice with drunken fights outside the bars which front onto the town square a few blocks away. We would normally do a lot of exploring on foot in any town we visit but this one made us feel a little unsafe, however we took a long walk along the riverbank and that was very pleasant with many locals doing the same.

The Bibliotech Bar between our hotel and the town centre was a nice place for a few drinks and a meal with a lot of locals there and away from the drunks.

We came to Limoges as a base to visit Oradour-Sur-Glane, the town that was obliterated by the Nazis. To get there, we took a bus from Limoges which drops you off in the middle of "New Orador" and spent the day exploring the ruins of the old town and the excellent museum attached. There are only one or two buses a day so we had to get up early and have breakfast at Orador whilst we waited for the gates to open.

  • Liked — The delightful decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzGronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 43 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
#12 of 43 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
0.4 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#7 of 43 in Limoges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Tendance
Art Hotel Tendance
#13 of 43 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 25 Place Jourdan, 87000 Limoges, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Paix 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a comfortable break at the Hotel de la Paix, Limoges which places guests at the heart of Limoges, and within easy reach of many of the local attractions. The Hotel de la Paix, Limoges is just a few steps away from the railway station so getting to this central Limoges hotel is easier than ever. You are conveniently close to the Gothic Limoges Cathedral, the Jardin botanique de l'Evêché and numerous attractions, and are sure to appreciate why this affordable Limoges hotel is a real winner with every type of traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Limoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing