We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Groovy hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A wonderful, quirky establishment – a real antidote to the blandness of the hotel chain, but perhaps not everybody’s tasse de thé. In style it has a belle epoch feel, although the décor is not so much tired as completely exhausted, but our room was spacious with a crystal chandelier, a marble fireplace and a balcony overlooking the square in front. The location couldn’t have been better for accessing on foot most of what Limoges has to offer, including the river, the cathedral, the tourism information office, the shops and the restaurants – and parking right outside is free from 6pm-9am. The hotel‘s dining room is a museum to the era of the gramophone record – with a variety of phonographic machines to marvel over. Breakfast however at 9 euros a head (and no reduction for children) was not value for money, though the room rates were reasonable. At night it was noisy outside but shutting the big balcony windows brought peace – although at a price, there’s no air conditioning so if you visit in high summer the room can get very warm. The bed-linen and towels were all freshly laundered and the welcome was cheerful and laid-back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impavid574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    41
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
34
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We needed a cheapish hotel, fairly central, and fit for a family with 2 young kids. Really clean, comfy beds, nice en suite. Great location in town. Wish we had had 2 nights to see more of Limoges. Free parking just outside from 7 pm to 9 am which was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSIbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We wanted to steer clear of any of the ubiquitous chain hotels and instead spent a night at the Hotel De La Paix. Conveniently located in a beautiful square with a small park, the hotel had genuine charm and the welcome was friendly. We were able to park the car overnight right in front of the hotel without charge. In the daytime parking is restricted, but the hotel offers parking in a garage. The centre of town with numerous food and entertainment options as well as most tourist sites are within easy walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Yes I will definately return to this "quirky" hotel, you couldn't find more helpful and friendly owners, they didn't have to be asked to give me a map of the area and mark the interesting attractions. Then they checked we weren't vegetarian before telling us of an amazing restaurant show casing Limousin beef. The best beef I have had in any restaurant for a very long time.

I loved the decor, our room and bathroom were fine, I didn't notice the drunks but I am a good sleeper but I did find the bed a bit firm.

Breakfast was a typical french buffet and the bread exceptionally tastyand lovely fresh peaches.

We used the parking garage which was convenient but my husband commented it was a bit scary going up to the second level on a large and heavy BMW motorbike, I let him bring it down on his own which is not a good idea as as operating the key exit while on the bike is tricky, I'll go with him next time.

If they reccommend the restaurant "La Vache au Plafond" ask them to book you a table, we only just got in and it really is a not to miss ecperience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the square if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As others have said this is a quirky and unusual place! We stayed there for two nights.The decor is truly original - all old gramopgones and phonographs and associated era stuff! It's in a small square, with a tiny garden at the centre, about 5 minutes from the Cathedral and a similar distance the other way from the Eglise St Michel.It's quite a busy place with a lot of traffic but quiet at night (we didn't hear any drunks as another contributor did, and our room did overlook the square). Our room was on the second floor -no lift - and was fine but the bed was very uncomfortable. The petit dejeuner was traditionally French and absolutely fine! All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking is either on meters (free at night until 9am) or in a private garage at 8 euros per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After reading TA reviews and a suggestion from a DK guide, I reserved this hotel for my small family. The Hotel de la Paix was more than "quirky," it's just plain weird. It's hard to explain; I've never seen anything like it. Besides being filled with gramophones, it's like an old guest house with plastic this-n-that everywhere.

The best thing about the hotel is the owners, who I found completely charming and helpful. The evening front desk gentleman, who I found out later was the owner's eldest son, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. I believe I met the owner's wife and another son, equally gracious.

The room was large with two floor to ceiling windows and a small balcony. I experienced the same nuisance as other TA guests with the drunks in the park across the street -- noisy and raucous. Earplugs helped. Beds okay. The bathroom had an electric toilet (never seen one of these before and it was noisy).

The hotel is well-situated in Limoges, a wonderful town. Limoges has good food, nice people and beautiful sites. It was a pleasure each day we trekked around the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinFuel_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Okay, it is not a glamorous five star hotel, but they are SO nice here and when you are tired, that means a lot! I told the cabbie I needed someplace close to a really good restaurant, clean, and close to the train station as I will leave in the morning. Perfect. Nothing special but I have a clean bath tub, a window, I am only paying 60 E for the one night. Right up the street is a fun restaurant. Fine in a pinch, but this would not be a destination hotel for me if I were only traveling for a week.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bfrancisdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
0.1 mi away
Citotel Orleans Lion d'Or
Citotel Orleans Lion d'Or
#20 of 44 in Limoges
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#5 of 44 in Limoges
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
4.1 mi away
P'tit Dej Hotel Limoges Nord
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Richelieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 25 Place Jourdan, 87000 Limoges, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Paix 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a comfortable break at the Hotel de la Paix, Limoges which places guests at the heart of Limoges, and within easy reach of many of the local attractions. The Hotel de la Paix, Limoges is just a few steps away from the railway station so getting to this central Limoges hotel is easier than ever. You are conveniently close to the Gothic Limoges Cathedral, the Jardin botanique de l'Evêché and numerous attractions, and are sure to appreciate why this affordable Limoges hotel is a real winner with every type of traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Limoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing