We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly basic and uninteresting”

Brasserie Vaudemont
Ranked #85 of 551 Restaurants in Nancy
Price range: US$10 - US$34
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located between Place Stanislas and the Gourmande street, the Vaudémont resaurant welcomes you in a new and cozy place. Simple and sophisticated, the cokk of this restaurant offers French brasserie and Lorraine specialties. A vault can accommodate up to 30 people is at your disposal for your seminars, family reunion or training.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overly basic and uninteresting”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Sadly, despite its pleasant location (comes off Stanislas square), the food is quite dull. Not only is there absolutely minimal choices for vegetarians (this is typical of French cuisine), but the rest of the food has a rather horrid American feel about it while attempting to maintain a French elegance.

The food that came out wasn't particularly flavourful at all, the portions were good but unnecessary (the food wasn't really nice tasting enough for you to want to eat it all) and it is very dark inside. The service was okay - not especially attentive, but they still made the effort to handle our group's requests.

When you're in such a nice place and there are so many other, better, more authentic options, then I wouldn't suggest this one. There are plenty of restaurants around the square and down the little streets - all of which looked more appealing than this one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theLadidah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    118
    52
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The one benefit of getting your teeth done”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Truth be told, a little disappointing.

Looked promising, service good, but the food I had at least was a touch bland. Pintade with a creamy sauce should be a taste sensation, but i'm afraid it wasn't. The highlight was the desert; my wife liked mine so much she ate it (which I only let her do because she'd just had some serious dental work & I felt sorry for her). It was mirabelle clafoutis. I had hers, which was a very presentable (because not too coffeeish) tiramasu. The fact that it had a (duff) radio station playing was also a negative (had it been the wonderfil Fip FM we wouldn't have complained, but it wasn't).

There are far better places to eat in Nancy, so unless you're there for 6 weeks I'd give this one a miss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thompsontowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Large portion and no English”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The waitress was busy but very nice and patient with us, however there was no English menu and communication was difficult. We picked the prefixed menu but it didn't turn out so great. Foie gras was very good, stay away from the fish, salad and fries were excellent, other ppl's burgers looked great, dessert recommend the sample plate, creme brûlée was not good, it was cold and came straight out of the fridge, limited beer selection better off to stay with water

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liang128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hearty Lorraine food”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A small restaurant in a relatively quiet street in the old city. Specialising in local produce and wine. Cooking very correct without any fuss, with large portions. Nice outdoor seating on the street during the summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A comfortable eat”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just off Stanislas Square this is a friendly and comfortable eating place. Cooking area on view so no chance of backroom mirowavery here. Range of dishes satisfactory with some nice regional fare. Prices reasonable.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ilfracomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Vaudemont also viewed

Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 

Been to Brasserie Vaudemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing