We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An aquarium in the middle of Nancy?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum-Aquarium de Nancy

Museum-Aquarium de Nancy
Ranked #8 of 57 things to do in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“An aquarium in the middle of Nancy?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I love aquaria - I know I can find them near oceans or seas. But here's an aquarium in the North Eastern part of France - no sea to be seen - and bang in the middle of the city. Ehh? So we went there and were amazed. The tanks on offer may be on the small side but they were ever so clean and, more important, the corals are colourful and look very healthy - a truly good sign. Kudos for this museum! The entrance fee is way below the price you have to pay in the 'famous' aquaria and your children will absolutely love the marine life on offer. You will too. Well worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    124
    38
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
221 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small but exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I loved this aquarium, and so did my four children. An excellent little find but a little off the beaten track. From the outside you would be forgiven for thinking you were at the wrong building as it looks more like a council office than a tourist attraction. Once inside, although small as mentioned by other reviews, the displays were very well kept and contained some unusual specimens. Upstairs was a wonderful natural history display well worth a visit in its own right. A perfect place to while away a few hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something different and pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a different kind of museum than most you see in Nancy, or all of France for that matter. The tanks of tropical fish were interesting but small. The other stuffed animals on display would be neat if you like that kind of thing. My favorite part was the incredible flower gardens outside right next to the museum. Every color you can imagine! Good thing to see once, but I wouldn't frequent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank C87J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
507 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Very family-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Listen up, international travelers! We all know that it's free entry on the first Sunday of each month to some national museums around France, but I bet you didn't know the Aquarium of Nancy falls into this category too. =) So for travelers with young children who wish to keep the little ones amused, and to change it up a bit from all the other types of museums, I strongly recommend a visit to the Aquarium of Nancy.

On the ground level are displays of the most fascinating, beautiful fishes and corals, which are sure to delight the young ones. Bring a good camera; you will not be disappointed by the photo opportunities.

On the upper floor it's a huge collection of animals. My personal favourite was the collection of coleoptera (beetles) while my partner could not get over the size of the ostrich display.

It's hours of amusement for the family, and we are definitely going back for a return visit as the two hours we had spent there were not enough!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FordPrefectII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hour's entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is worth a visit. It has a wide range of fish and plant life. Helpfully they have small maps beside each tank showing where the fish come from.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Examiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum-Aquarium de Nancy also viewed

Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 

Been to Museum-Aquarium de Nancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing